We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silent small fort tucked away off the main tourist routes” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barzan Tower

Barzan Tower
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Silent small fort tucked away off the main tourist routes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I expect not many people have really visited this place since it lies amid a large complex of houses and schools and is not near the centre of town. Barzan towers are three large buildings which you can climb on top, around and inside. The architecture is interesting and the investigating is fun. However, this is a short stop kinda thing - theres nothing else here so I would plan a number of other things as well as this for your day. We did it en route to Doha. Its silence has a kind of charm - definitely one thing for the contemplative traveller.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Trowelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    11
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Impossible to find”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We unsuccessfully tried to find Barzan tower on three separate occasions. Better to go with an experienced driver than to try on your own. We are sorry we missed it !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Guide_to_Great_Meals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Rare Authentic Historical Monument In Qatar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

It's worth a short trip to see the Barzan towers. Although there isnt really much to see, you can enter both the buildings and have a good look around. Might be worth avoiding the top floors though as birds have made it their home!

It's free to enter, you just need to sign in at the gate. Unfortunately there is nothing to help you understand the buildings so a bit of research beforehand is a good idea. (Try here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barzan_Tower ).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ADFezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointingly incoherent place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

I went here one evening, and although I think there's still some construction going on a lot will have to change to make this worth a visit.
Firstly, the location has been entirely rebuilt. This is common in Qatar, but while it is often done with some thought (souq waqif) here it seems no thought was put into what they wanted to do. The building interiors make no sense - stairways that head nowhere - and right next to an 'old style' building you find a utility shelter made from modern concrete bricks. This makes the whole exercise, which I assume was to recreate a traditional building, pointless.
There was no signage or information - I'm not even sure what the building is meant to be - just one plaque would have been helpful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank tejwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barzan Tower also viewed

 

Been to Barzan Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing