We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The not so Grand and not so Regal Grand Regal”
Review of Grand Regal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Regal Hotel
Ranked #116 of 140 Hotels in Doha
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We were put up in the hotel when we had a missed connection with the airline. Despite the name, the hotel was unfortunately quite run down. There are signs that it was once a nice hotel, but it is not currently up to 5 star standards. Service was dismissive, paint was peeling off the walls, I had to fix the shower head myself to have a shower and there was no wireless internet in the room.

Food was a buffet and (admittedly were there a little late in the evening) the food was terrible - meat was rubbery, overcooked, and all rather unpleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRealGoodStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

Booked two rooms at this hotel the last minute while having a very late dinner at a restaurant in Doha, seemed like the better choice when I made the reservation, had the best rate for a five star, had the option of two interconnecting rooms, and rate included breakfast and free wifi.
We arrived quite late at the hotel, service was pleasant but slow, but I guess that could happen when you are checking in at 1 am. The rooms were pleasantly spacious, had flat screen TV's with cable, very comfortable beds, no signs of overuse or uncleanness on the sheets or pillows. Bathrooms were well sized and equipped, with marble allover, large Grohe shower head with great water pressure and no issue with hot water, and had bathroom amnesties. Overall the room and bathroom were well worthy of a five star rating.
Breakfast bar was well equipped as well and it included an omelette counter and complementary newspapers.
Will be my first choice to check out if I decide to visit Doha again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MansourQabandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. We arrived early in the morning following an overnight flight from Cape Town and although it was much earlier than the advertised check in time, they arranged a room for us very quickly and at no extra charge. The room was spacious and airy, fully air conditioned and well appointed on the 9th floor.
We ate in the al a carte restaurant for two nights and the food was delicious and well presented. My only suggestion to the management team, would be to have a booklet in the room, explaining where all the facilities of the hotel are located, the opening times of the restaurants and dress code, but apart from this we had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KazCissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The Grand Regal(Ex Merweb central). I have stayed at this hotel 3-4 times in the past year firstly when it was under previous owners and recently under new owners. The first time I stayed at this hotel the first impressions were not good as you drive towards hotel it is a in an old area of Doha and it's quiite run down but once in the hotel your impression changes . The reception staff were very friendly and helpful with any queries . The rooms are spacious and clean with very good house keeping . There is bar on the first floor with average live music but with good service . The food was always presentable with a good selection on the buffet style meal although ala cart menu was very basic . But since change of owners they tried different things and in my opinion why fix something if it's not broken . 50% of the staff have been changed and this has had detrimental effect on moral the new staff are trying but not same standard as before .You used get your evening meal/buffet in first floor restaurant but they decided to move to ground floor in the lobby it's like eating your meal in the main street the food that was supposed to hot was warm at best cold buffet/salad bar was room temperature not a nice meal . This is supposed to be 5star hotel prevoius was Avery good 4 star hotel now it's a poor 5star hotel the only upside for the hotel is compared to other 5star hotels this cost half the price so will remain popular . But I won't be stopping here again as can get better value/service for my money.

Room Tip: The room differ in size and price but most rooms are of decent standard/size wifi is available in mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Ive given this hotel a three star rating purely because the rooms were a good size and the beds were comfortable and they had bottles of Strongbow at the bar. Its also a handy location for the Corniche and Villagio Mall.

However, the management and staff have several things to learn.

1) If you ask for an extra bed in your room, it should be there upon arrival, especially when you arrive with little people at nearly 9pm at night. It should also not be broken and have to be replaced!

2) If you are in designated family room and you ask for drinks to be bought to the room, whilst leaving the door wide open, sitting in view of the open door, the waiting staff really SHOULDN'T ring the door bell and wake said little people up.

3) Further more, when delivering a complimentary drink as an apology for waking the kids up - its really not a good idea to ring the door bell again once the parents have just got the kids off to sleep and the door is STILL OPEN!!!!

4) Nor is it acceptable to "Accidentally" stamp our check in cards with the inclusive breakfast and not discuss it with us so we think "Marvellous, free breakfast" only for us to have our cards checked AFTER we had eaten the breakfast and then get charged for it! All the staff saw us walk in so why no one stopped us to ask us our room number as is the norm in most places is beyond me.

5) When discussing the issue with the duty manager his "its not our fault you ate the breakfast you must pay. Its really not the hotels fault so why should we pay" attitude was disgusting. His insistance that we pay 50% and the member of check in staff pay the remaining was horrible. It wasn't something we had budgeted for and it wasn't worth the money

6) It also does not leave a pleasent taste in the mouth when at 9pm at night (again after the little people have gone to sleep) to have the same check in member of staff phone the room begging us to pay his 50% of the bill as he couldn't afford it.

There are several other issues I have with the hotel. The spirits tasted watered down, no idea where our car was kept over night, and to access anything in the car we had to call the valet service to fetch the car for us (who incidently are incapable of opening any doors to help out!), the speakers from the mosque just outside the family room window (I know call to prayer is expected, but surely there was a better location for the family room right then right across from the local mosque). Views of Doha, if you craned your neck and looked out the far right hand corner of the window. However, there were stunning views of Doha's shanity towns right outside our window. They knew that four of us (two adults two children) were staying in the room, but towels and water only provided for two. Also the fridge didn't work in our room, we were going to mention it, but it seems like anything a guest has to say to a member of staff is greeted with a less than hospitable attitude so we didn't bother.

All in all, if you can stretch to staying somewhere else, then do. However if this is truly your only option, then don't eat the breakfast and stick to the bottles of beer/ cider and wine (and scrutinise your bill for everything!!)

Oh and I think that the 5 stars it has on the outside of its building are they just for decoration, they certainly don't reflect the standard of the hotel!

Room Tip: The interconnecting family rooms are good sizes, but the call to prayer did wake the kids up very ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I stayed for a couple of days.. the amenities.. the furniture.. bar.. decor & food was fine.

however, the service was bad! takes so long plus attitude! mini bar at the room was not available you have to put $300 dollar deposit for the mini bar only! the bathroom was fine but as soon as you take a shower water will be all over the floor.

hot water takes time and not really hot. the location of the hotel is ok. but the entrance is like a small hill! also the back suburb of the hotel is a slum! watch out walking at night ladies.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nathália N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.3 mi away
Plaza Inn Doha
Plaza Inn Doha
#61 of 140 in Doha
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Riviera Hotel
0.8 mi away
Safir Hotel Doha
Safir Hotel Doha
#56 of 140 in Doha
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Doha
Swiss-Belhotel Doha
#95 of 140 in Doha
309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Horizon Manor Hotel
Horizon Manor Hotel
#57 of 140 in Doha
276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oryx Rotana Doha
Oryx Rotana Doha
#15 of 140 in Doha
2,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Regal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Regal Hotel

Address: Ras Abu Abboud Street | PO Box 22057, Doha, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 140 Hotels in Doha
Price Range: £31 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Regal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Doha for business or leisure, you're guaranteed of a wonderful experience of comfort, luxury and impeccable service with every stay at Grand Regal Hotel. The five-star property is perfectly located in the Qatar's premiere financial district, on Ras Bu Abboud Street, close to Corniche road and Qatar Islamic Museum. It is just 15 minutes drive from the Hamad International Airport, within easy reach of major historic sites and leisure attractions. The hotel offers a wide range of services and facilities in order to make your stay a relaxing and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Regal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing