We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Riviera Hotel
Ranked #88 of 138 Hotels in Doha
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My stay at the hotel was short but I liked it , the hotel was very clean and very quiet and the employees were proficinal in dealing with guest's, parking was small swimming pool was small gym club was small but overall its nice and good value for money for staying a couple of quite days in doha

Room Tip: The higher the floors the bitter and quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alsufyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Although they state on their website that they are a 5-star hotel, I reckon this is a 3-4 star establishment at best.

I did enjoy my stay here though. Very close to the Corniche area, old city centre, Souq Waqif & Museum of Islamic Art. The hotel does not serve alcohol, but the Movenpick does and is a 5 minute walk from the Royal Riviera. The hotel did launch their new roof-top "Sheesha" lounge during my stay and this is definitely going to be one of the places to hang out in old town Doha. The hotel is also very close to the airport. Because this is in old town, there are no fast-food outlets but there are many little kiosks with traditional schwarma's etc. The Souq Waqif is about 10 minutes away and offers a number of international restaurants - definitely a must.

Likes:
* Free, fast wi-fi all-over the hotel
* Good sized rooms & bathrooms
* Good selection of TV channels
* Kettle with coffee & teas (everything replenished daily - not even full 5-star hotels always do this in my experience)
* Helpful & friendly staff
* Easy to get a taxi from outside the hotel
* Visa assistance if you need an entry visa to Qatar
* Walking distance from the Movenpick! :-)

Dislikes:
* Breakfast was mediocre - nothing fancy, just the standard buffet fare
* Service in breakfast area not up to scratch. It seems that the training has not filtered down to the staff yet.
* Shower does leak a little into the bathroom, so make sure to put 2 mats to step on after the shower
* Very dusty around the hotel, be sure to pack a shoe brush if you plan to walk around

All in all, for the price you pay you can not beat this hotel. I would definitely recommend it and stay here on my next trip.

Room Tip: I got a city view room which was quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PietervdW1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Ok - it is not up to the standard of one of the 5* hotels from the well-known chains, but it is also a lot cheaper. And the value for money is really good!
Location (as already described between the Museum of Islamic Art and the Souq Waqif great - if you stay in West Bay there's nothing to do in the evening!) and very helpful and friendly staff. The room was big enough, TV channels were ok (you don't go to Doha to watch TV anyway I suppose) and in my room there were slippers and a bathrobe. And that the mini-fridge is empty is not a disadvantage because it is better to buy your own stuff (cheap in the neighbourhood) anyway.
However, there are a few things were you realize that somebody hasn't thought things through. I saw for example a hairdryer in the wardrobe and when I wanted to use it (having wet hair after the shower) I realized that it had one of these big European plugs and that i needed an adapter for it. But it took housekeeping only 5 minutes to deliver an adapter.
It also happened to me the first time, that after showering the whole bathroom was flooded. But that's not really the fault of anbody in the hotel, it just shows the quality of the workers who build these hotels in the Gulf ... I think that the tilt angle of the floor of the walk-in-shower is not right. However, you can avoid flooding your bathroom by turning the water of if you don't need it while in the shower and by placing one of these big towles at the gap where the glass partition ends. So not a big deal.
Beds are comfy and you can crack open the window which is rare in the Gulf and the hotel is in a quiet area.
I selected the hotel for the location and for the pool and the pool is small and really only has 5 deck chairs, but I had never a problem getting one. However, since the pool is not heated it might be too cold in January and February and since there is no shadow at the pool, it might be too hot from May to October. But in March it was just perfect.
I also enjoyed the breakfast. I never eat this hot stuff anyway (except when it is freshly made) and I would advise not to touch the beef sausage they have in the Gulf ( at least I don't really like them), but I was happy to see that the breakfast buffet contained Hommos, Moutabal (egg-plant) and another thing which I think was made from eggplant and bell peppers. Very good! And they had fresh fruits and fruit salad made from fresh fruit. I was in Kuwait lately in a hotel which cost more or less the same as the Royal Riviera and they didn't have any of these items on the breakfast buffet. And if you miss something e.g. water, espresso, etc. just tell the staff and they will provide it to you. I had asked for water on the first morning and the next morning the waitress brought it to me proactively. And one day there was no fruit salat and I asked for it and they also brought me a small bowl. Maybe if you asked them for an omlett they will also make one for you.
I think the staff is really great there and very helpful!
A warning to the non-smokers: on the internet page the hotel advertises as being "completely non-smonking" - this is not true. In one section of the lobby you can smoke and also in front of the breakfast room - which I being a smoker appreciated very much (you can take your coffee with you).
For the evening I would recommend the Souq Waqif there are many restaurants there and for enjoying the skyline of West Bay go to the park of the Museum of Islamic Art and walk till the end and there is a small café where you can sit almost directly at the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amarena2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel WANTS to be more luxurious than it really is. Compare it to a Best Western in the US, 3 stars MAXIMUM. The room furniture and linen is very poor quality. The bathrooms don't flush toilet paper, the showers leak tons of water onto the floors, the towels are so cheap that they never dry fully, and the toilet paper is too thin. The service is TERRIBLE. First off, the English of the hotel staff is very poor, they hardly understood anything we ever said. The cleaning service takes FOREVER to get a hold of, and there is limited access to taxis. As a travel agent who lives in hotels 250 days out of the year, I would NEVER stay here again. This does not represent the Qatar luxury that is really out there. However, if you aren't picky and need a place to stay, fine, stay here, just don't be upset when you realize it wasn't worth the $250-$300/night fee.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HabbyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The room was quite large and got cleaned daily. I also really liked the breakfast buffet. There was a large selection of items available (hot and cold). The rooftop pool is also quite nice with a nice view. In addition, it is really close to the Museum of Islamic Art (stop by the Doha Bus), the start/end of the Corniche, and Souq Wafiq. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay here and will definitely stay here again since it has a great location and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Traveling_Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I've recently stayed here for 2 weeks on business with 2 colleagues (who also have the same opinion) that if we hadn't been staying here through work, we would have had to relocate.
The rooms are substantial in size, clean and tidy and they get cleaned every day. I actually got upgraded to a suite on arrival as they didn't have any regular rooms which I was more than happy to oblige. The wifi is free and very fast and works all over the hotel including at the pool which is why this hotel gets a star! Sadly that's where the good stuff ends......
Many of my room plug sockets did not work. The room service, you can guarantee will take ages and more than likely wrong. The phones do not work properly when you try to select any of the corresponding departments so always having to deal with equally unhelpful people at reception.
The 2 times I had dinner in the restaurant I was the only person dining so the atmosphere wasn't so welcoming. With news for ambience, no alcahol being served and non speaking English waiters it made for quite a painful experience all in all. Needless to say we ate out nearly every night. The local souk serves much more variety of food for a fraction of the price and is a lot more of an enjoyable experience. There's is not much else around the hotel other than the Museum of Islamic Art which is great so you will have to get a taxi everywhere which are not expensive if you want to go out drinking/eating or sight seeing. Getting home however will be a challenge however as not a single taxi knows where this hotel is! Thank god we had practise at describing the location!
The breakfast is pretty basic but at least you can help yourself to a buffet. The lunch buffet is somewhat disappointing on the roof 'terrace'.
The pool is very small and disappointing after seeing glamorous pictures if it online and it's absolutely freezing with little care or attention paid to the sun loungers or the surrounding areas. The gym is basic and small and with one of the 2 treadmills not working, made for little choice and the 'spa' is merely a locked door saying 'massage room', which I can't imagine many people ventured.
This is not a hotel for holiday makers, you will be totally disappointed. If you are coming here on business you will not be disappointed with the wifi network however if you need answers, services and things generally working well, quick and efficiently, do not stay here.
I do not stay in particularly posh or expensive hotels but it's just all a bit below average and can't understand the high rating of stars for this hotel! There are plenty of others that are much better to choose from.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MavenAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Really very nice hotel,great staff.amazing view from rooms.near souk wagef,corniche,
The roof top restaurant with te Arabic shisha is really amazing.
The Arabic food was more than tasty.
We'll trained staff.
It's more than good.

Room Tip: 606 had an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alharthinadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalRivieraHotel, Front Office Manager at The Royal Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Mrs. Nadine,

Greetings from The Royal Riviera Hotel!

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the stay with us and thank you for taking the time to let us know about it.

We are very proud of our staff and it is always pleasing to receive such complimentary comments as yours.

We are indeed very centrally located on the Corniche close to the Islamic Museum, National Museum, Souq Waqif, and 10 minutes from International Airport.

We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back to The Royal Riviera Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
Kacapor Munira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0 mi away
Best Western Plus Doha
Best Western Plus Doha
#89 of 138 in Doha
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Doha
Swiss-Belhotel Doha
#83 of 138 in Doha
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saraya Corniche Hotel
Saraya Corniche Hotel
#54 of 138 in Doha
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Horizon Manor Hotel
Horizon Manor Hotel
#57 of 138 in Doha
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Retaj Royale Doha
Retaj Royale Doha
#48 of 138 in Doha
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Regal Hotel
Grand Regal Hotel
#121 of 138 in Doha
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Riviera Hotel

Address: Al-Saflya Street, Old Salateh Corniche Road, Doha 29444, Qatar
Phone Number:
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 138 Hotels in Doha
Price Range: £39 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Riviera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place of luxury and exclusivity, The Royal Riviera Hotel is unique in service, location and style. Ten minutes away from Doha International Airport, this 5 star hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of the skyline and the Arabian Gulf, The Royal Riviera Hotel is located in one of the most exclusive areas in Doha along the Corniche, overlooking the Museum of Islamic Arts & steps away from the ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing