We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sharq Village & Spa
Ranked #18 of 133 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

l stayed in tthis hotel for a day and it was a very pleasant place.

The hotel is a resort design with the rooms indifferent resort-type buildings surrounded by beautiful walking areas and small gardens with access to a private beach.

Overalla nice place to stay in.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    142
    57
    19
    31
See reviews for
144
180
54
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This was our second visit at this EXCELLENT PROPERTY in Doha. We got a lovely room with a Sea View. The grounds and pool area were spotless and the Pool Side service was Excellent. I want to say a VERY SPECIAL THANKS to Mr Yannick Bouyidou who provided an EXCELLENT SERVICE. Very well done to him and ALL the Staff who looked after us so well ! WELL DONE !

Room Tip: Villa block 5 has great views of Sea and Down Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carsten F, General Manager at Sharq Village & Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Simon T,

Thank you very much for your feedback! I am happy to know that your stay with us was pleasant and comfortable. I will make sure Yannick receives your appreciation and I am very much looking forward to see you at Sharq Village & Spa soon again! If there is anything I can do to enhance your experience with us, please do not hesitate to contact me here at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Carsten Fritz, General Manager - Sharq Village & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The title may be a bit misleading, since for those who enjoy the sight of a plane just a few meters above them this is a fantastic place. But that is not everybody's hobby. Nevertheless, this hotel is pure luxury, Good food, nice bar, very well maintained, nice staff and good conference facilities. Then again, the planes. Some reviewers complain about the noise, but once in my room the planes did not bother me at all. So it is not all that bad.

Room Tip: Try not to take a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DutchTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carsten F, General Manager at Sharq Village & Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear DutchTree,

Thank you very much for your comments. I am delighted to hear that your stay with us was up to your expectations!
Please do receive my sincere apologies for the mentioned airplane noise, the airport is in fact very close to our hotel. But as you mentioned, our rooms are sound proof and should not let anyone’s good night sleep get interrupted. And for the near future, the noise should be even less, as the new Doha International Airport has finally opened its doors, and gradually more and more traffic will be transferred there, which is a lot further than the old airport next to us.
I am very much hoping to see you soon again here at Sharq Village & Spa! If there is anything I can assist you in, please do not hesitate to contact me here at our hotel.

Kind regards,

Carsten Fritz, General Manager - Sharq Village & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The Sharq Hotel is a beautifully maintained and operated hotel. The spacious grounds give one a feeling of being in a private estate. The staff are overwhelmingly courteous and efficient.

However, as it is situated a short distance from the airport and under the main take off runway it is incredibly noisy in the small hours of the morning. This should cease when the new airport opens, but is a definite and negative factor in a decision to revisit.

The hotel is also noisy on weekends with families. The villa design with the central atrium means much echoing and slamming of doors into the small hours of the night.

Finally, as it is permissible to smoke indoors in Qatar the common areas reek of cigarette smoke and the seating areas can give severe sneezing fits to any non smoker sinking back into the luxurious sofa's.

Food is very good. Wine selection of the White wine selection offered by the glass not so good.

Room Tip: All seem to be under the flight path. Try for rooms opening onto beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
240 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

From the start it should be said that I only spent one night here and thus I made no use of the pool and spa. So my review only concerns a brief one night stay - due to a layover in Doha between flights, and the hotel was chosen due to its proximity to the airport.
The latter was a mistake had I known that planes were actually taking off directly over the hotel, and the room we had assigned had far from perfect soundproofing. Waking up to a sequence of planes taking off between 2.30 and 3.30 a.m. (as is unfortunately the custom in many countries in this region) I couldn't sleep a wink due to the noise until a sleeping pill and earplugs in combination did the trick. I have stayed at plenty of airport hotels around the world who all manage the soundproofing well and this needs to be fixed here.
The room was otherwise well appointed and clean at first glance. Classical opulent Arabic design- style with a R-C touch.
The king bed ,although wide was surprisingly short - i estimate exactly 2.00 meters which is on the short side for a king bed. there was a nice welcome dish in the room with dates and sweets and the welcome and service in the hotel couldn't have been more helpful. Everyone was smiling and helpful all the time.
Unfortunately also in our non-smoking room the pillows and duvet smelled distinctly of cigarette smoke.
The last major issue was a surprise when having a shower in the morning: There was no cold water in the taps, even after letting it run for 10 full minutes.. Only hot and very hot. Not so nice to discover.
The grounds were well kept otherwise and we had a decent dinner in the persian restaurant (see separate review). Great views of the bay and city center skyline.
And of course really close to the airport - for better and for worse.
When asked at check out how everything had been, I must confess I didnt have the energy to point all this out , having a plane to catch so I just said 'fine' in spite of all this. So I hope perhaps the management will read this and use it for improvements.
I should perhaps have asked the helpful staff for another room, but only discovering the smoke smell when already in bed, the sound issue in the middle of the night, and the water issue in the morning, I chose not to. But I wouldnt stay here again.

Room Tip: check the sound proofing before accepting a room - unless you are not a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikolai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights over new year. I could not fault the hotel, service, amenities or standards. Only falls short of top marks on a few small issues.

Airport / flight arrivals and departures are a bit too close for my liking. Although not enough annoyance to stop me returning.

City centre Location is 20 minute cab ride. Can't really walk anywhere. Although cabs are cheap enough. About £5.

One of the pool areas is being renovated. Was a shame. Looked nice.

Beach was very nice. As was pool area. Clean and modern. Grounds were well kept, rooms were set in Arab villa type surroundings. All decorated well to high standard. Dark wood. Four post beds, posh tiled bathrooms, nice balcony and views etc.

Restaurants were all excellent. Staff were all more than helpful, polite and friendly. Managers take time to speak to you and take feedback.

Bread chef from al rana (?) above seafood restaurant was very good. Friendly. Showed me how traditional arab / Iranian bread was made. Nice guy. Liked to talk.

Shisha terrace also nice atmosphere and relaxing. As is the cigar lounge and also the cake / dessert lounge next door. All worth a visit.

On departure I gave feedback to staff on reception desk (Mirian?) which was listened to and well received. She was more than helpful and keen for hotel image high standard to be maintained. Arranged for complementary a la carte dinner for wife and I that evening.

As for the rest of Doha, lots of nice hotels, restaurants and sights to see. It is unfortunate that the laws on alcohol by the pool are so strict. And the lack of social drinking places / music venues in the evening. You must also always have ID with you if you expect a lunchtime drink in other hotels. These are expensive. Between £8 and £15 per drink.

All in all - very good. Value for money. Paid £150 per night for room. No complaints.

Ian R and Devina - London



Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ian_reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level Contributor
441 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Potenttatially Sharq village could be a mirage. A very atmospheric resort on the beach with a structure of white arabian old village. With an outstanding SPA, Six Senses, really a small castle of pleasure resembling a museum. Furthermore it present a choice of good restaurants, 2 swimming pool and a quiet and pleasant private beach, rooms very well appointed inside some beautiful villas always with a strong arabian flavor. All environment is luxurious in the standard of Ritz Carlton, so we can think to have found the paradise.
Really there are some problems. The structure is not shining because it has a bit old.
One of the two swimming pools was out of order for maintenance. Strange to say it happens on the main peak season at least for western travelers.
But the main concerns is linked to the temperature of water of the second swimming pool, the only one open. Really cold, considering we are in winter time.
In a different Ritz Carlton in the Emirates the water was correctly warm.
The last, at the moment, not manageable issue is given by the noise of hundreds of airplane landing on the very close old airport. But it seems that the new airport not so central as the current one, should be opened this year.
At the end we found some other small details not perfectly managed and some lackness of care considering the price. But what I personally appreciated was the true interest of the management to check our level of satisfaction and also to try to understand what is missing in this magnificent structure to be - this is the real issue - competitive considering the price with other luxury hotel in Doha and abroad.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lionitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
5.3 mi away
Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
4.8 mi away
The St. Regis Doha
The St. Regis Doha
#12 of 133 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
3.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
6.3 mi away
Marsa Malaz Kempinski, The Pearl - Doha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharq Village & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharq Village & Spa

Property: Sharq Village & Spa
Address: PO Box 26662, Doha 26662, Qatar (Formerly Sharq Village & Spa, a Ritz-Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Doha
#9 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#14 Spa Hotel in Doha
#18 Luxury Hotel in Doha
#18 Business Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sharq Village & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a coastline famous for dazzling sunsets and a beach enchanting visitors for centuries, the 174-room village is a beautiful blend of traditional architecture with the very latest in modern comforts and amenities. Sharq Village and Spa features secluded inlets. Shaded walkways and intimate courtyards provide enchanting places for romantic stroll or simple an escape to commune with nature. Our resort offers a true sense of Doha’s cozy charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sharq Village & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharq Village Hotel Doha
Sharq Village And Spa
Ritz Carlton Doha
Sharq Hotel Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing