We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Hotel.....Surrounding Area....Hmmm”
Review of Royal Qatar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Qatar Hotel
Ranked #74 of 138 Hotels in Doha
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Nicely appointed, clean rooms. A good 3-4* hotel.
Impressed with the free underground parking...
Located in a slightly run down area of Doha but walking distance to the fort, Souk Waqif, Islamic Museum, Corniche Etc.....
The location is ideal for the sights but not an ideal area with a run down, slummish feel.
The price is very reasonable and if the area around the hotel were better I'm sure the price would be higher...
Nothing wrong with the Hotel at all, Staff Great, Food Good, Rooms Clean and high standard....the only drawback is the area the hotel is situated in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RusskiRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

My favorite airline, Qatar Airline, put me this hotel for 23 hours transit. I did not know anything about Qatar, so no idea how the hotels in Qatar.

At the beginning, this hotel gave a room without any view, even the window cannot open!
I thought that was the treat for 1 night stay, but tried to have better room
and I got it with ‘sea view’. I wished staying the other hotels which you could see the other side of the sea( the bay).

Anyway I decided to walk out and explore a city of Qatar. Then found the market place ‘Souq Waqif ‘, I actually did not know where it was and I checked it after I came back to home…. It was really nice experience, especially the shops to sell Falcon (bird).

The taste of Arabian buffet at the hotel was Great ! (for me), but I wonder European or American whoever like the taste.

After 2 months I stayed again in Qatar and that time it was a hotel ‘the other side of the sea’ where I wanted to stay (I will write the review soon) that was very gorgeous hotel, but I prefer this Royal Qatar hotel, because it’s close to a town where you can see the Real life of the residence.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annadiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Clean rooms, well looked after if looking a bit aged, very helpful staff and a great location. A few minutes walk to Souk Waqif restaurants and tourist craft and a few minutes more to the museum. 10 minutes to the airport

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diggadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We had an 8 hour layover and because of this Qatar Airlines gave us a free stay at the Royal Qatar Hotel. Friendly staff that were very excited to see us and interested where we are coming from. The free buffet was Chinese food and very good. The room was spacious clean and tidy with free WI FI. The hotel is situated right down town and we had a great view from our room. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed there only for 13 hours transfer but thé service is very good they picked us up at thé airport with a private car thé rooms were very Nice at 7 th floor with a Nice view over thé old Town . We asked for a cab at thé réception to go see thé city mall but they took us for free with thé same private car, that was so Nice . Thé location is very good just NeXT to thé souk. Thé food is a delicieous libaneese buffet. All thé employées are smiley and at our service

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yanutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I had ended up here after a 2 week business/ leisure trip to the region. On arrival at Doha Int, I very clearly told the charming lady, the ONLY criteria I had was to be placed in a Hotel with a Swimming Pool as I did not have the energy at this stage to traipse around Doha, and visualized having a nap and the odd swim to cool of in the 45 deg heat.
AND, I had paid for this, and it was NOT a freebie from Qatar Air!!
Lo and behold, this hotels pool is not operational and what then followed was nothing short of abject frustration and no-one wanted or had the ability to resolve the situation and ion fact the Hotel Manager almost thought it was amusing! I resigned myself to stay in the end and then subsequent actually enjoyed the stay. The rooms are large and comfortable and the Aircon was amazing. The Internet was instantly activated and quick. I did take a stroll and, yes, it is not in the best area, but there are between 7 and 10 small locally orientated restaurants within 3 blocks. It always makes me frown, when one reads comments from other reviewers that say there was NOTHING in the immediate area. Yes, you have to actually walk 2 - 300 meters sometimes and even across a road to find a place to eat, and believe me, the best restaurants aren’t always the ones with fancy décor and furniture.
The staff then made me feel welcome after the initial tirade and even sympathized with me and the one youngster also sorted out an IPAD glitch for me. I found the food to be tasty, and plenty as it is a buffet, and the restaurant service was excellent.
The souk 200 meters down the road is orientated towards the Mobile phone industry, as in 50 small shops in a small area. There were some perfume and smalls shops though and I did land up buying another huge packet of gifts for home.
So, IF the pool was not such a big issue as it was for me at least, I think most people should enjoy there stay here.

Room Tip: High floor as there is traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazzcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

An average hotel, close to the airport and Souq Waqif.

One weird thing I experienced here; there were no slippers in the room when I arrived so I called the reception and asked for a pair. The answer I got was, "The slippers are only for executive rooms sir" !!! That is what I call a petty mind... Alienating the customers for such a small thing does not make sense, does it?

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaranTrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.5 mi away
Millennium Plaza Doha
Millennium Plaza Doha
#45 of 138 in Doha
45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amari Doha Qatar
Amari Doha Qatar
#25 of 138 in Doha
542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Qatar Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Grand Hotel Doha
2.2 mi away
Warwick Doha
Warwick Doha
#19 of 138 in Doha
412 reviews
2.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Doha
Millennium Hotel Doha
#39 of 138 in Doha
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Qatar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Qatar Hotel

Address: Al Asmakh St | PO Box 9488, Doha, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 138 Hotels in Doha
Price Range: £47 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Qatar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Qatar Hotel stands distinguished a landmark in the center of the business district in Doha-Qatar and provides luxurious accommodation and services for business and relax alike, all blended in a magnificent style of contemporary and heritage. Total capacity of 84 elegantly furnished spacious bedrooms, overlooking the famous business Al Asmakh Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Qatar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing