We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel West Bay Doha
Ranked #24 of 134 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Good Service”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

i stayed there in December it was the best hotel service I ever stayed specially Reception and Bell service staff with their welcoming smile in addition to SPA service which is really amazing that makes my stay wonderful .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelo255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTS_Management, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel West Bay Doha, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Mr. Angelo,

Thank you for all your positive comments and feedback. We always take great pleasure in hearing from our guests.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back should your travels brings you again to Qatar.


Kind regards,

Ghada Sadek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    465
    165
    50
    34
See reviews for
270
197
154
636
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I tried many hotels in Doha, the service is very good, the welcoming staff are very friendly, I recommend this hotel to all.
Breakfast is good, Valet service is very fast.
I will come to this hotel every time.

Room Tip: chose room ending with 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saoud k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTS_Management, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel West Bay Doha, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Mr. Saoud,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive feedback and for staying with us. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay.

It’s always a pleasure having you with us and looking forward to your future visits.


Kind regards,

Ghada Sadek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This stay was part of a STPC from Qatar airways as my onward flight was more than 14 hours away. I travel with Qatar Airways frequently and they usually put me up in the excellent Oryx Rotana hotel which is a hop and a skip away from the Premium terminal of Doha airport. I had previously stayed at this Movenpick property back in April 2012 and had nothing to complain about. This time however, it was totally different.

Firstly the transport from the airport was in a 'van' rather than a luxurious Audi or Mercedes as provided by Oryx Rotana. Disappointing to say the least.

Checked into room number 609 and the internet did not want to work. Laptop/iPhone could not connect. Had to get Guest services to reset the router which did not help either. They decided that the router was too far away (I could see full strength wifi signals) and upgraded us to room 815. The internet did work perfectly once there.

I decided to order some food using the in-room dining menu and I must admit the food was delicious and it came quickly. My wife and I were each given vouchers worth Qatari riyals 175 for dining purposes. We ordered food worth around 270 riyals deciding to use the rest later in the day. The room service staff took all the vouchers and never returned with any receipt/balance etc.

When we later decided to order more food we were told by the incompetent person on the phone line that as we had given up the vouchers we were not entitled to any more value. Threatening to complain to the manager/reception he decided to follow up the vouchers and called back letting me know I could order food unto the remaining value (phew). He took our order for 1 nasi goreng and I also asked for two complementary water bottles that come with the room. The order that was delivered however was for some 'noodle dish' and not 2 but 1 bottle of water that was charged. I called the Guest services and they said that this bottle of water was not free as I had ordered it. I explained that firstly the bottle of water given was not the one stated in the in-room dining menu and I had been charged for 2 bottles while only being given 1. The person refused to acknowledge that he took down the wrong order, I reacted quite angrily and decided to refuse the order and the charge. i decided I would rather eat on the plane/lounge than bother with these thieves.

Stark contrast from my 4-5 stays with Oryx Rotana in Doha each year. Next time I fly Qatar airways I will make a point to let the agent know to NOT book me at Movenpick.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view towards the four seasons/hilton side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zain Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We ended up spending 24 hours in this hotel due to a lost flight connection. And despite all odds, what a good surprise it was!!!
We arrived at the hotel totally tired, around 3 AM with our 1 year old baby daughter, after having taken a long flight and dreading to have to go thru all the check in process and maybe not getting a suitable room, a baby cot, etc. Instead we discovered that the reception staff were amazing, got us a baby cot in a blink of an eye, great room and we were in our beds in less than 5 min before entering the lobby. Thought our stay the personnel continue to impress us: from advising us the trips to take around Doha to driving us around in the hotel car we booked they were only smiles and positive attitude.
Worth mentioning that the food at the restaurant was great as well and the staff was really lovely and attentionate towards our daughter (special, thanks to Kaas who waited on our table for all the meals we took there).

Overall an unplanned but beautiful stay - should we g back to Doha will, stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val_travel_addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTS_Management, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel West Bay Doha, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Mr. Val Travel Addict,

We highly appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback about the hotel, staff and restaurant. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Mövenpick Tower & Suites Doha.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back should your travels brings you again to Qatar.


Kind regards,

Ghada Sadek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The service from the staff was first class, I liked the chocolate happy hour in the evening, that was a first for me. The pool on the 26th floor was amazing to use late at night against the backdrop of the sea and the other tall buildings. My room was on the 23rd floor, overlooking the sea, all the usual things were there but the wifi had to be paid for which is not good in this day and age. Noisy air con in my room was disappointing.

Room Tip: Higher up the better if you have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenJames1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTS_Management, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel West Bay Doha, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Mr. Stephen,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your stay with Mövenpick Tower & Suites Doha. We always take great pleasure in hearing from our guests. Also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities. On another note, we are pleased to inform you that Internet is now free of charge throughout the hotel for all guests.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back should your travels brings you again to Qatar.


Kind regards,

Ghada Sadek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I had a 15 hour layover in Doha, Qatar for my trip to Tbilisi, Georgia so the airline provided me with a hotel. The hotel looked good from the outside as well as the inside. I was provided a suite (not sure if it was the executive suite or the junior suite). The room was amazing. It had a massive living room area with a kitchen area as well. It had 2 flat screen TV's, one for the room and and one for the living room. Words won't do it justice so I have uploaded pictures for your perusal.

The hotel also offers 4 types of pillows for your needs, there are anti-allergy pillows, some with memory foam (I forgot the other 2) which is excellent specially if you are allergic to some type of pillows (my mother is, thankfully I'm not)

Breakfast in the morning was superb. There were a variety of choices (actually a LOT of choices) ranging from salads, fruits, bread, pastries, desserts, typical breakfast options as well as a few unique ones. And they ALL tasted great. Obviously, I can't taste everything no matter how much I wanted to (the selection was just too massive to realistically try and taste everything).

The bathroom is clean and has all the kits and amenities you need.

The room also provides you with an ironing board and iron which is great.

Now on to the annoyances which keeps this review from moving on towards the realm of excellence:

1) You pay for WIFI. YES, you pay for the freakin WIFI at $22 a DAY. In an age where virtually every single establishment in every major city in the world provides free WIFI, these guys charge you for WIFI. That seems to be a tad bit expensive for just a daily use of WIFI. It would have been great if the speed was ridiculously fast, but the download speed maxes out at around 250 kbps.

2) The customer service was at best mediocre. I was not guided to my room by any staff so I had to find my way around the 9th floor by myself. This was fine by the way considering that I had only a backpack but still, most hotels have staff that guide guests to their room and I was surprised why this one did not.

There was also a slight issue with me getting my breakfast. I was entitled to 2 meals during my stay in the hotel, 1 dinner upon arrival and 1 buffet breakfast in the morning which means that I was supposed to be given 2 meal coupons. I was for some reason handed out only one. So when room service came into the room to serve me dinner, he asked me for the coupon and I was left with none.

This posed an issue getting breakfast the next morning because the staff at the restaurant wouldn't let me in because I had no coupon. I explained to them the situation but to no avail. So I had to go down to the reception, explained again the situation and she had to give a call to the guys at the restaurant to let me in which they finally did.

3) This third one is trivial but since I have already started listing negatives I might as well add this last one. The bathroom weighing scale did not have any batteries.

Overall though, my stay at the hotel was great but the service needs to be improved for this establishment to reach the next level. It's nearly there, the amenities are excellent, the rooms are excellent, it just needs one little push to get over the hump, and that push is in customer service.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, my room was on the 9th floor so the view was mediocre at best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharkybyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Excellent for a few days' business in Doha, the Movenpick is very comfortable, with excellent facilities on the 26th floor for swimming, relaxation in the sauna and one floor below in the fitness centre. Buffet breakfast is very good, as is choice of dining in two restaurants, although the hotel is alcohol-free. Well located -- a short taxi ride to business meetings -- and easily accessible from the airport. Ticks the boxes for a business hotel and more.

Room Tip: Choose high for good views of Doha's developing skyline and easier access to spa on 26th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NPassant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTS_Management, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel West Bay Doha, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Mr. NPassant,

A warm appreciation for taking your valuable time to share your positive feedback about the amenities and facilities. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

It was always a pleasure having you with us and looking forward to your next visit with Mövenpick Tower & Suites Doha

Thank you.


Kind regards,

Ghada Sadek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
2.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Doha
Movenpick Hotel Doha
#26 of 134 in Doha
772 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#25 of 134 in Doha
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Doha The City
0.5 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel West Bay Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel West Bay Doha

Property: Movenpick Hotel West Bay Doha
Address: West Bay Area | P. O. Box 22752, Doha, Qatar (Formerly Moevenpick Tower & Suites Doha)
Phone Number:
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Doha
#14 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#17 Spa Hotel in Doha
#20 Business Hotel in Doha
#24 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel West Bay Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Movenpick Hotel West Bay is situated in the heart of the city, with soaring skyscrapers and glorious views of the green and blue waters of the Arabian Gulf. The property, an impressive landmark in Doha offers 347 contemporary yet cosy rooms including 40 suites, welcoming both short and long term staying guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel West Bay Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Tower & Suites Doha Hotel Doha
Moevenpick Tower And Suites Doha
Moevenpick Hotel Doha
Doha Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing