We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good escape”
Review of La Cigale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Cigale Hotel
Ranked #38 of 137 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2013

La Cigale is a pleasant, comfortable hotel that allows you to escape and kick back a little. I loved the room; it was spacious with all the features you would expect to find. Dining there is a pleasure although the restaurant staff are not all polished and I will probably avoid the Shisha Garden next time. The lunch menu at La Cigalon was divine. The breakfast was scrumptious. My personal best was the Spa experience. Wow. Very friendly staff and the massage was great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

I travel extensively in the GCC region and regularly used the La Cigale. I would put this hotel in the top two or three hotels I use in the region. High service standards are consistent and the hotel is well set up to provide all the facilities required by the business travel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bsmith66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Often in life, we find enjoyment when we learn about something new, rare, or something not widely known. It makes us feel a bit more special to know or experience something unique that most are unaware exists.

For me, I had no idea what to expect when I went to Doha in the tiny country of Qatar. With only 1.7 million residents, Qatar has the highest national income of over $90,000 per capita. Its streets are lined with some of the most unique architecture in the world with exotic buildings lining the urban skyline. A very special place of proud people, rich with culture and tradition. It is a special place.

La Cigale hotel is where powerful business tycoons and well-heeled travelers seek refuge in the heart of Doha. It is striking 20 story high-design hotel with an exceptional level of personal service. And the guests and industry agree. It was named the 2010 and 2012 Qatar Leading Hotel by the World Travel Awards and a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. La Cigale is one of the city’s most esteemed hotels and offers an engaging blend of contemporary style and cosmopolitan ambiance.

After I settled in I became curious and wanted to ask what is a Cigale. It is actually known as the cigale de mer and is a rare sea creature in the lobster family. It is uncommon and found in very few places on earth. One is lucky to find it. The name seemed to fit perfectly as the five-star La Cigale hotel with its opulence beyond opulence and where you’ll find rarity, the best of everything, and a number of surprises.

The first surprise that you’ll find is the two Edra Tatlin sofas infused with Swarovski crystals chairs that greet you in the lobby. They are completely studded with Swarovski crystals and designed to perfectly fit the theme of the hotel as they wind in cone like circles resembling a sea shell. The sea theme is found throughout La Cigale with references to waves as found on the corridor walls or the various shades of blue throughout.

The simple exterior provides a stark contrast to the stylish interior teemed with a touch of opulence and indulgence including tableaux by Carlos Cruiz-Diez, Murano chandeliers, custom-made seats by Poltrona Frau and crystal Baccarat tables designed by Philippe Starck.

The next surprise that you’ll find is in each of the elevators. They are adorned with gold paint which gives it an over the top shimmer. And I don’t mean gold colored paint either…

The rooms are to die for…with plush white duvet covers, pillow of all types. The marbled bathroom with a deep bath and artesian shower are completed with the Acqua di Parma amenities. After a relaxing soak, the order of the day was to lounge in the terrycloth robe until the desire to snooze a bit took over.

After our rest, the next course of action was to have a bite for dinner. It wasn’t an easy choice as the hotel has 11 restaurants to choose from. For our first night we chose the romantic Le Central. It is a trendy and contemporary, and features Mediterranean specialties. But there’s one thing that is really cool about the restaurant aside from the rich antipasto boat station, interesting views of the bustling Al Sadd Street stories below, or the friendly staff. It is the seafood bar experience. Your waiter escorts you to the seafood bar where he tells you about the types of fish and seafood that you are seeing as they are displayed on ice. They’ll tell you where they are from, how they can be prepared, and then you make your selection…..another nice surprise almost a good as the dish itself which prepared to perfection.

The next night we opted for the Di Capri, A true taste of Italy, this fine dining restaurant celebrates the cuisine of Capri, an Italian island off the south of the Gulf of Naples. Their Italian Chef, Pasquale Procida, has designed Di Capri menu to please the most finicky food connoisseur’s palate. Featuring unique appetizers, salads, entrees and pasta selections, each dish is prepared with fresh, wholesome local and imported ingredients.

Le Cigalon Restaurant for a true culinary experience of International Cuisine with a wide array of Lebanese Specialties overlooking an open kitchen area. It also features an outstanding buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Yen Sushi Bar serves freshly wrapped Sushi & Sashimi in a contemporary environment; on a rotating belt. Orangery Coffee Shop is a getaway spot where one can savor a selection of fine coffees, aromatic teas, waffles & crepes, light snacks - like Saj, Pizzas, with a wide variety of pastries and tempting frozen delights. Cigar Lounge is a intimate setting offering an exclusive cigar menu. The Madison Piano Bar serves features Canapés, finger food, Salads, Sushi & Sashimi with a Cigar menu. The perfect place to relax while one enjoys a drink and soft piano tunes. On the 15th floor is the Sky View Bar, and outdoor terrace bar featuring breathtaking views of the city. La Cigale Traiteur Shop is One of Doha’s most outstanding shopping havens. It is the hotel’s Signature Gourmet Shop with different In-House productions: Bakeries, Pies, Cakes, Custom Cookies & elaborate Wedding Cakes, Ice Creams, Oriental Sweets, Lebanese Food Specialties, along with 180 cheese types from all around the world, La Cigale Chocolates and a large selection of Cigars. 

As if we weren’t relaxed enough, we decided to indulge in the La Cigale spa. They offer a spa and wellness centre for full relaxation and keeping in shape. We enjoyed an amazing Thai massage that got deep into the sore muscles that simply rubbed the stress right out of our bodies.

Before we regrettably departed, we had a chance to take a tour of the property and uncover other surprises. We were amazed with the Al Riyan Royal Suite. It was literally a suite fit for a king and more of a palace within a palace than a suite. It was huge and spread over 650 square meters with commanding views of Doha. Throughout there were exquisite works of art, accessories by St. Louis, Baccarat, and Lalique, genuine leather furniture by Smania, and state-of-the-art Bang & Olufsen entertainment equipment. In a word: Stunning.

It was the perfect end to stay. From the opulence at every corner, accommodations beyond reproach, flawless services, entertainment, dining options and more, La Cigale has got it all. La Cigale is a rare and special five star hotel with delightful surprises at every turn.  

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I stayed for one night at this hotel and it was very good, the room is spacious and has all high tech equipment; although everything is written for you to guide you how to turn the lights on/off, it is a bit complicated.
The breakfast is very huge and has everything you might think of. Staff were very helpful and switched on.

Very good selection of restaurant and bars but very expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolphin969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

While the price / quality ratio is quite good, the hotel is unfortunately somewhat run-down with regards to the rooms (carpet faded out, in-room equipment partially broken, tv remote control requires PhD degreee to understand). I was even in a suite ...
Excellent breakfast buffet (same applies for lunch).
Fitness nice and complete, very nice pool.
Hamann (steam bath) broken, sauna to far away to be useful.

Room Tip: you will loose time in elevator, thus try to get at least a room close to the elevator to minimize t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geneva2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

nice luxurious business hotel. good for meetings. great spacious rooms, excellent choice of restaurants , good buffet breakfast and great sky bar. front desk is a bit hidden in a corner. pool is too small. very nice staff. hotel is a bit out of way. will def come back

Room Tip: dont choose room next to night club. u will hear music til closing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roaminggourmetthx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

Coming from Miami this place is spectacular!!! Even though we didn't stay here the staff treated us with the upmost respect love it here!!! Attentive staff in lobby and staff in bar was amazing will return for my bday next year!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betsey_MIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.4 mi away
The Westin Doha Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel Doha
Millennium Hotel Doha
#35 of 137 in Doha
422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Centro Capital Doha
Centro Capital Doha
#20 of 137 in Doha
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Concorde Hotel Doha
Concorde Hotel Doha
#27 of 137 in Doha
688 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Regency Doha
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cigale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cigale Hotel

Address: Suhaim Bin Hamad Street | Al Sadd Area, Doha, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 137 Hotels in Doha
Price Range: £136 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Cigale Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, La Cigale Hotel is a 5-star accommodation nestled in the heart of the dynamic center of Doha city, approximately 20 minutes away from Hamad International Airport. It is observed as a landmark for business and leisure travelers due to its attractive location from main business and touristic districts such as the Museum of Islamic Art, Doha Bay, Old Souks, shopping malls & Aspire Sports city. The property has 225 luxurious rooms and suites; 11 dining and entertainment outlets with outdoor seating options; two state-of-the-art ballrooms; a 490 Sq.m gymnasium; a 20 meter long daylight indoor swimming pool and a deluxe spa. The simple exterior provides a stark contrast to the stylish interior teemed with a touch of opulence and indulgence including tableaux by Carlos Cruiz-Diez, Edra Tatlin sofas infused with Swarovski crystals, Murano chandeliers, custom-made seats by Poltrona Frau and Fendi and crystal Baccarat tables designed by Philippe Starck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Cigale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing