We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, amazing staff, great stay”
Review of Beit Rumman Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beit Rumman Hotel
Ranked #26 of 62 Hotels in Damascus
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, amazing staff, great stay”
Reviewed 21 June 2009

This a converted pasha's home which has been beautifully restored and has a courtyard with a fountain in the centre. There are three floors, a roof terrace with a retractable roof in case of rain, and I think 6 or 8 rooms in total (can't recall exactly how many), 2 on the ground floor and the others upstairs. Breakfast is served in the main courtyard on the ground floor and is a mixture of continental and Syrian, with an omelette thrown in for good measure. The hotel is excellently situated on the street called Bab Touma in the old city, just yards from a taxi rank if you need it, and lots of shops and restaurants. The old city isn't huge anyway, and everything is within walking distance of this hotel. The staff here were incredibly friendly, always asking if we needed anything, and serving drinks late into the night in the courtyard whenever we returned late from a trip out. They organised a driver for us to spend a day in Palmyra and also a half day travelling to the mountain villages of Maloula and Seydnaya, which was good value and very convenient, with an excellent driver who spoke superb English and had great local knowledge. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. It doesn't have the five star amenities of some of the more expensive beits/restored houses in the city, but it more than makes up for that with the excellent staff and the beauty of the house.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saigontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    23
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
53
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2009

The hotel is set in one of the old Damascene houses in the Christian part of town. It has a little courtyard and fountain. What struck me most in this hotel, was how really warm and friendly all the staff was. No effort seemed ever to be too much. Higly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EChristiaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitzbuhel, Austria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Very charming small hotel de charme, 6 rooms only, you feel like being a guest
in a private damascene house, Service very pleasant, location close to the
bazaar and the antique shop street . Rooms are very small but nice, very clean
great patio with fountain . Roof top terrace unfortunately not serviced.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WORLDTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

A beautiful quaint hotel in the heart of the old city of damscus. Very tastefully done, efficient and smiling staff. We just got to spend one night here on our way back, after seeing the other cities of syria. But definately enjoyed the short stay. The rooms and bathrooms were a bit small--- but then given the fact that with the given space thats the best they could make. For the time being the only meal available is breakfast. But should any guest want any other meal, the staff were ready to order from outside. Good experience and would recommend to others

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATEAMKarachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Everything was very efficient about this hotel, which makes for a good first visit to the city. The taxi pick up is way overpriced though. Rooms are very small, and DO NOTstay in room3 - the street noise is really too much. Breakfast is very good and location is great. Staff very helpful and arranged alternative accomodation for our return trip to the city, did more than they needed to to help - fluent English speakers.
Lovely old restored house with many pretty features - just ask for a room away from the street.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinPooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

It is a beautiful house, truly a gem. A lot of things surprised/annoyed me however. Airport pickup didnt show up as promised, which was a bad start. We stayed in room 6, where whenever anybody else in the house turns on the water, the water pump really disturbs your sleep. Also, whule breakfast is really great, asking for another coffee and juice will add 11$ to your room bill, which was quite a surprise. Staff also did not see the non existing airport pickup as their mistake, which was annoying. Otherwise, service is really good and as mentioned above, the house is beautiful, even though the rooms are really really small.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
udhailiyah
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

We spent 5 nights at this beautiful hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it. It's newly decorated and very clean with 5 star service. If you want to stay at place that reflects the heart of Damascus, this is the one. Expect to be treated as a personal guest, you won't be disappointed. The hotel is well located in the Christian quarter of the old city, and is within walking distance of all the historical places of interest. We travelled with 2 young children, and found that although the hotel structure and design is not really child friendly, the fabulous staff went the extra mile to ensure the safety and comfort of our children. Some of the rooms are a little small and can be noisy, I'd ask for the suite when I'm there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yusuf41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Beit Rumman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beit Rumman Hotel

Property: Beit Rumman Hotel
Address: 72 Qishleh St, John the Baptist intersection | next to the Syriac Orthodox Church - main road of Bab Toma, Damascus 31115, Syria
Region: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 62 Hotels in Damascus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beit Rumman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beit Rumman is one of the best boutique hotels in Syria. Its staff and owners welcome and invite every guest who has the desire to visit Syria from all over the world. Beit Rumman is your second home, and where you feel like you belong. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beit Rumman Damascus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing