We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food in lovely surroundings”

Al Khawali Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 99 Restaurants in Damascus
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very good food in lovely surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

We enjoyed a lovely mezze style lunch at this restaurant in the beautiful setting of an old Damascene house. It is tucked away behind down a small flight of steps on a corner just off the Street called Straight - I'm not sure we would have realised it was a restaurant if our guide hadn't pointed it out - so the size and lovely open space of the restaurant comes as a surprise. We thought the food was very good and although service was OK rather than good they coped well with the size of our party and multiple different orders. We enjoyed watching flat bread being made in a bread oven similar to a tandoor. Complimentary fruit and pastries were served after our meal. No problem here being vegetarian - plenty of lovely non meat mezze dishes to choose from.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixie_dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Very Smart”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

Two of us had Water/Lemon Drink/one Starter/ Two Chicken Kebabs & Bread for £13.
Plus they give Fruit & cakes free for Desert.
Well cooked, good Service Good surroundings.
Great value

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EastofEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfectly good restaurant, but not one worth a lot of hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

The Financial Times review says this restaurant would get three stars if Michelin were to rate restaurants in Damascus. That's incredible. The food is good, but in no way up to Michelin standards. The service is marginal. Nice old building, to be sure. One must wonder whether the FT reviewer has ever eaten in a Michelin starred restaurant! The Luluat el Sharq will be a much better restaurant, once it gets its staff sorted out. The restaurant isn't all that easy to identify. Its sign in Roman letters is high up on a building. Street level signage is all in Arabic.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveltime26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

The food was wonderful but service was so quick we felt they wanted us out as quickly as possible, because all our food basically arrived with the starters.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saeed42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A real mid-Eastern Restaurant the heart of the last authentic mid-eastern city!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

Situated in the Damascus Souk "El Hamadia"

In an old mid-eastern mansion with a beautiful courtyard, with a roof top terrace.

Service is attentive, food is delicious and plentiful, home made local bread is sublime.

Try the fresh fruit drinks!

No alcohol is served but don't let this deter you!

Great fixed menu during Ramadan!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blacmikOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Khawali Restaurant also viewed

Damascus, Syria
Damascus, Syria
 
Damascus, Syria
 

Been to Al Khawali Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing