We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Semplicemente Perfetto”

Al Khawali Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 107 Restaurants in Damascus
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Semplicemente Perfetto”
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Such amazing place in amazing city, its my favorite place ever. it was my first time to Siria, and i visited Alkhawali 2 times... Great food and atmosphere, friendly multi languages stuff... super service and wonderful bread.. and the best lemon and mint ever... cant tell any more.. you should go.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AlbertoPirano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“quite nice”
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Reading reviews is a bad idea as you set off with lofty expectations.. We expected the last word in Al Khawali from reading reviews. Indeed the bread is divine but the food is really only average. None of 3 of us enjoyed it much. Naranja is far better (and they serve alcohol..). But then we hadn't even heard of Naranja before; we just passed by but I am sure that only partly contributes..!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fabfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good food in a nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 April 2011

A lovely old damscene house. Bread prepared fresh and served hot. Amazing food. First night was fantastic. Second night was a bit less magical as they had laid a big table (about 30 people) which took away a bit of the magic... I understand they might want to accept groups but probably better to leave them in tables of 6 or 8...
attended by tourists and locals alike

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jfaivre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Very good food in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We enjoyed a lovely mezze style lunch at this restaurant in the beautiful setting of an old Damascene house. It is tucked away behind down a small flight of steps on a corner just off the Street called Straight - I'm not sure we would have realised it was a restaurant if our guide hadn't pointed it out - so the size and lovely open space of the restaurant comes as a surprise. We thought the food was very good and although service was OK rather than good they coped well with the size of our party and multiple different orders. We enjoyed watching flat bread being made in a bread oven similar to a tandoor. Complimentary fruit and pastries were served after our meal. No problem here being vegetarian - plenty of lovely non meat mezze dishes to choose from.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixie_dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Very Smart”
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Two of us had Water/Lemon Drink/one Starter/ Two Chicken Kebabs & Bread for £13.
Plus they give Fruit & cakes free for Desert.
Well cooked, good Service Good surroundings.
Great value

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EastofEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Khawali Restaurant also viewed

Damascus, Syria
Damascus, Syria
 
Damascus, Syria
Damascus, Syria
 

Been to Al Khawali Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing