We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yasmeen room is charming”
Review of Old Vine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Vine Hotel
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Damascus
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yasmeen room is charming”
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Yasmeen room is very romantic, with a four poster bed and a romantic atmosphere. However on our stay the bathroom, which is tiny, was a bit smelly. We stayed in other hotels in the old city so it is not only the pipes... It might just have been a problem on that day.
Otherwise a nice place to stay, very good location ... but for the same price, maybe consider Talisman or upgrade to Agenor for slightly higher fare...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfaivre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    13
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
28
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

A beautiful 17thC courtyard hotel in the Old City, minutes from everywhere. The friendliest and most helpful of staff made this a delightful place to explore from. Comfortable clean rooms all attractively furnished - my favourite was the rooftop terrace room! Nothing was ever too much trouble. No restaurant, but a good breakfast (buffet style) and plenty of places to eat nearby. Felt very safe.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisonMcE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I spent the night with my wife on our honeymoon. The hotel has a set of unique rooms, each with a different theme and its own theme, but all extravagantly furnished with traditional Mosaic Damascene antiques. The staff was extremely warm and the complementary breakfast offered a variety of delicious Syrian dishes. The hotel is strategically located in the heart of Old Damascus, and is at walking distance form all the great sites in the old city. I recommend it with no hesitation!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

My friends were staying in another hotel but after seeing the Old Vine website, I decided to stay there. Great place, it is THE place to stay in Damascus for the hotel itself and the location. As everyone mentioned, very difficult to find and even if taxi drivers tell you they know the place, most of them do not! Cars cannot take you even close to it but if you call the hotel, they will wait for you by the street entrance. Very friendly staff, amazing decor, great breakfast, I stopped by with my friends one afternoon to drop off things and change and we were all offered tea in the courtyard even if my friends did not stay there. I stayed in the room on the terrace and loved it. One thing you should be aware: you will be awaken at 6:00am by the call to prayer! I thought the speakers were in my room! But overall, great experience and will stay there again when I'm back in Damascus.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank photoflo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

i have styed in this hotel with my frien for 4 days and loved every thing in this hotel , the characters, Staff, Breakfast............
smoking is not allowd in the hotel even in the court yard . i would love to had water pipe in there but this is the rules. anyway it is not a problem cause restaurants in the old city have the same style and atmospher and nearby the hotel the staff booked me very nice restaurants .
the rate is a bit expensive but surly i will come back .

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SasAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Amazing hotel, in the best location (literally 2 min walk from the Ummayad Mosque)
The hotel is off a side alley where the Iranian souq is - not easy to find, but if you tell your driver to head to the Iranian Souq behind the Ummayyad, easy to find.
The staff are lovely, breakfast is great - especially sitting on the courtyard of the palace itself.
We stayed in the "Jasmeen" room - which was beautiful, with four poster bed. The bathrooms can get a little funky, so leave the door open (plumbing on the Old City goes back thousands of years)
I would definitely return to Damascus - a very special place, and stay at the Old Vine.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunramon42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We found this hotel on trip advisor, having organised our trip at the last minute and all the other hotelson our guides being fully booked.
It is indeed impossible to find if you are just coming from the airport for the first time and it is best to get the hotel to pick you up even though the price they charge for it is extortionate.
We stayed in both Naranj and Lilak and really enjoyed both rooms. We didn't experience the noise/smell/light issues mentioned in the other reviews. As it is very close to the Ruqqaya mosque, you do get the mosque's noises and being an old damascene house, most rooms face on the courtyard so you would hear people in the courtyard but we didn't find this disturbing at all.
The hotel is really beautiful and charming and indeed a little haven of peace and calm coming from the noise and chaos of Damascus. The staff is really nice and helpful.
However, for a price like this, we would have expected something better ie for example, a better breakfast, complimentary water in the bedrooms, shampoo/soaps etc of nice quality and maybe a bit more inside the hotel itself such as a small bar to have a drink in the evening.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MML0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Old Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Vine Hotel

Property: Old Vine Hotel
Address: 92 Ammara Jouaniyeh | Ammara Old Damascus, Damascus 7165, Syria
Region: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Damascus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Vine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Vine hotel has transferred from a house into a luxury boutique hotel over the course of two years. The hotel offers 9 bedrooms (6 Doubles, 1 twin and 2 single) all double rooms are considered junior suites. All materials used in refurbishing the hotel were done by using the traditional methods and materials. Each room has its own characters; different traditional colours have been used to decorate the walls. Bathrooms are fitted with hand made and painted tiles and drawings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Vine Damascus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing