We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Ghazal Hotel

Ghazal Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ghazal Hotel
Ranked #28 of 62 Hotels in Damascus
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 29 August 2009

As other reviews have mentioned ...... Ghazal is a really nice place to stay. Good location, clean, safe, and the owners are great ... very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DUBinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    14
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
18
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle UK
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights and found the owner brothers very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a great location, close to the lively Souk Saroujah cafe scene and 5 minutes walk from the Old City.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHNCLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

We stayed here in an ensuite twin room for 5 nights for 1700 SYP per night. They are open all night so it's no problem arriving late as we did (though they did ask us to phone to confirm the reservation a day or so before arriving). The room was decent with comfortable beds, functioning bathroom (but poor water pressure in the shower). The hotel is away from the main street so the traffic noise is only in the distance rather than right outside your window.

The owners are really friendly and helpful - they'll tell you how to get places, what a taxi should cost and write down places in Arabic (for taxi drivers) etc. They sell water and drinks at local prices. Breakfast is provided which is decent (Middle Eastern style) though served at somewhat varible times (maybe you can request it early if going somewhere ?).

The location is great and close to the Old City. All in all definately recommended!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

I had a wonderful time at Ghazal hotel. I stayed there 2 nights. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is included and it is delicious. Plus, it is very close to the Old City and City Centre of Damascus.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — coldness of the room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MontrealWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2008

This had to be one of the best places to stay in an unknown country -- a homely atmosphere, wonderful and very helpful staff, rooms that were too perfect, especially for the price. I cannot thank the owners enough.

One word of caution though -- book in advance, as it might be all sold out quite quickly.

  • Liked — atmosphere and staff
  • Disliked — can't say
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiatari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2008

Ghazal Hotel
We stayed here for one night on a recent trip to Damascus. We wanted to stay longer but they were booked out! This was our first time to Damascus and therefore had lots of questions which the staff were more than happy to answer.
This is a really great budget hostel/hotel with really friendly staff and such a good atmosphere I really recommend it. And the area it's in is really central with lots going on nearby.

Helpful?
2 Thank Rooster_Evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ghazal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghazal Hotel

Property: Ghazal Hotel
Address: Sharia Souq Saroujah, Damascus, Syria
Region: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 62 Hotels in Damascus
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Ghazal Hotel Damascus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing