We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Al-Madinah / City Hotel
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Damascus
Reviewed 27 April 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for three days in mid April. We were greeted with tea in the lovely lobby, and started each day with an excellent Middle Eastern breakfast. The rooms were immaculate, and the hotel is well located for walking to the old city, with its lovely mosque and fascinating narrow streets and marketplace and excellent restaurants. It's also an easy walk to modern downtown Damascus. The staff here are wonderful -- very helpful with our travel plans and solicitous of our welfare. My daughter is a fluent Arabic speaker, but we could have gotten by with just my English. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel to any traveler to Syria.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2011

Al Madinah is excellent on all counts and we will stay here again on our next visit to Damascus. The rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable; the included breakfast was good; and the staff provided top-notch service. They arranged transport from the airport and were happy to answer any questions we had.

It's a short walk to the Old City and a block from the Tekkiye Mosque and the National Museum. Overall a great value and a place we highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanLipcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

how good is this place!
A real gem in the heart of Damascus
Really helpful people and clean
Walk to the Souk & old quarter-lazy 10 minutes
Walk to the Museum 3 minutes
Walk to the PO and Station 3 minute easy
Across (actually under) the bridge and you're at the main bank strip (5 minutes)
and wait there's more
Tar'eh and the guys couldn't do enough to help, putting us in touch with reputable tour operators, where to go frankly discussing the pros & cons of different sites around Syria
Good showers / bathrooms clean as a whistle
Give this hotel very serious consideration when you plan your trip to Damascus
and you have to love the decor - it's simply unique and well worth the stay to see

Room Tip: just ask for what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dono1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Decorated in an over the top Middle Eastern style, the foyer, restaurant and rooms make an immediate visual impact. The staff are very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The breakfast is adequate/average. The bathrooms need updating (could have been cleaned better). The hotel opens out into an ugly alley area but is conveniently only a 10 min walk to the old town. I felt it was over priced compared to other hotels I stayed in on my trip. Would I stay there again? Probably not.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

My son and I stayed here for three nights. We were absolutely bowled over by the friendly and helpful attitude of all the staff and especially Tha'er at Reception, who went out of his way not only to be friendly but also to help us: with a map and some instructions about getting around the sights, by booking hotels in Hama and Aleppo for us and booking our bus to Hama and a taxi to the airport.. The decor throughout is spectacular and very fresh, the rooms were spotlessly clean and everything was in good working order. Breakfast was very good. The location in a side street meant little noise and it was within easy walking distance of the main sites (mosque, souk, citadel etc.). All in all, a fantastic stay - thank you to Tha'er and all the staff!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pandr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We stayed here for seven nights in March 2011. Tarek and his staff made us feel like we were their only guests even though the hotel was full to bursting with guests from all over the globe. The rooms are quiet, comfortable and clean with lots of hot water in excellent bathrooms. The breakfast is plentiful and delicious with Turkish coffee (instead of Nescafe) available on request. The staff helped us sort out a problem with train tickets to Aleppo as well as with transportation for day trips to Bosra and Seidnaya. They also offered to serve us breakfast at 5:30 AM to accommodate our early departure the last day. The hotel is several blocks west of the old city making it quieter and more central for transport and visiting various sites on foot. We loved this place.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inxanadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We stayed at the Al Madinah hotel for 4 nights and it was wonderful. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and even remembered our names every morning and every evening when we went throguh reception. The room was a good size, comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was huge and the staff were great. They helped us to organise our day trip to Bosra and suggested restaurants for us to visit, gave us maps and bought up some afternoon tea to our room one afternoon after we had been out all day. The hotel is not in the Old Town, but only a 5 minute walk down a main road. My only comment would be that if you're a light sleeper to bring some ear plugs, as the traffic noise is quite loud.... however I would imagine this would be the case anywhere outside of the old town - the traffic is crazy! We absolutely loved our visit however and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Damascus! We were even give a gift when we left!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BollyBroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Al-Madinah / City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al-Madinah / City Hotel

Address: Sharia Omar Ben Abi Rabia | Vectoria Bridge-Behind Cinemacity, Damascus, Syria
Region: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Damascus
Price Range: £41 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Al-Madinah / City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location is very close to the national museum,handicraft center.Within walking distance to all the tourists attraction in the part of the old city (Hamdieh souk, the Umayyad Mosque & most of the modern shopping areas). The 43 rooms are all equipped with air-conditioning, satellite TV, Mini-bar, fire alarm System & free internet WI-FI connection. All the rooms have en-suite bathrooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing