We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beit Rose Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beit Rose Hotel
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Damascus
Perth West Aust
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2009

Gorgeous boutique hotel, centrally located to the Old City and at a reasonable price for Damascus. My partner and I spent 3 nights here in November and returned for 2 in December. The staff are friendly and very helpful, the rooms are romantically furnished, the bathroom was modern, and the shower was hot (which was hard to find in Syria). Breakfast included croissants, breads, jams, hoummus, olives and cheeses. We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlisleJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
23
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2009

Charming 7 room hotel in an old Damascene house, run by owners who love their work. Gorgeously restored with amazing attention to detail, including ornately painted ceiling beams in each room. Friendly staff who are happy to accommodate. Beautiful tiled bathrooms, comfortable beds, and access to BBC and CNN in the rooms for news junkies. Fountain in the courtyard. Roof-top views of the Old City. Free wireless internet. Tasty breakfast included in the room rate. I checked around with numerous other small hotels, and this spot had the best prices. Location is great – quiet, within good walking distance of sites and shops, and easy for taxis to find. Great place all around!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahincolumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunis
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

a beautiful renovated house! each room has its own style, each item has a history, and great breakfast! staff and owner Soumar are lovely and house ideally located in the old city, would love to go back! don't forget to discover the roof terrasse, amazing panorama!

Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank nahoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

Location is fantastic the attention to detail and comfort in each room is also the same.The owners and all the people who work here are really kind have a great sense of humour and know the old city really well. Compared with the prices for similar style boutique hotels this was is cheaper and more personal.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turkishdlite27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

Hi, I am Linda from Bremen Germany.
I decided to go to explore Damascus, Syria in November 2009. As it came to hotel search, I always found in internet mostly the boutique hotels, which were very expensive, like 150-350 $ per night. But I was looking for cozy, hotel with personal touch, Arabic style, not too expensive, with Really clean rooms and in Old city. As I have a friend there, she found me this wonderful Beit Rose hotel, which I booked. When I came, I was really impressed, because the hotel is beautiful, my room Nr. 6 was the piece of the art, with huge Arabic style bed, furniture and there are details, which you can admire. It was very clean, with beautiful bathroom ( also piece of art, because of old Damascus wall plates ), which was also very clean, with modern sanitary devices. I really felt like a princess sleeping in this huge Arabic style bed, looking at pictures with Damascus Roses and other interesting stuff. Near my room was the stairs to go up to terrace on the roof, where are nice tables, to sit down, drink some wine and see over Damaskus roofs. It's a wonderful view. The hotel has a nice Innenhof ( sorry, don't really know how it's called in English, probably the inside yard, with the tables for breakfast, surrounded by the citrus tree with big fruits and a fountain. It's very very nice. The breakfest is good, coffe is tasty, the only thing, I missed, something warm, like fried eggs or boiled or Spiegeleier ( it's in German), but anyway breakfast is good, it contains balls of goat ?cheese, olives different kind, vegetables, jams, crousons. The hotel staff is very very friendly and everything is easy to reach in Old Damascus. I am really impressed, taking to account our German each/small thing to notice.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaBremen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

The Inn has been beautifully restored. Great charm and good vibe.

The owners are terrific people as are the staff. Well worth the money. Close to great restaurants, shops and night clubs. Would I go back? - Absoutely!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minnieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

We found this hotel by chance but it was a really good surprise, the rooms are gorgeus, the staff friendly, only the prices i have to say are a bit high.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AleksAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Beit Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beit Rose Hotel

Property: Beit Rose Hotel
Address: Bab Touma Main Rd | Sefel al Taleh, Damascus 1-15, Syria
Region: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Damascus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beit Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beit Rose is a traditional Damascusine house of the eighteenth century that has been restored recently over a two year period with a delicate attention to preserve its authentic style; however very fine details were changed in an attempt to add a unique charm. The house is located in the heart of old Damascus, just few steps away from the Mostakem street (straight street) that dates back to the Romanian era. Therefore it's the ideal gateway for exploring the history, browsing surrounding area of interest and enjoying the sensational experience of the Syrian cuisine in the abundant nearby restaurants; many quiet bars are offering a chilling environment nearby. Each room is provided with air condition, heater, a small fridge, TV, international phone line and also wireless internet. Our breakfast is a combination between a continental and traditional Famascusine one and it's served for all our guests free of charge. We provide meals from our kitchen (is located out of the hotel). We do have a breezy specialized cocktail menu (served all day long). The Beit Rose's friendly staff go out of their way to make your stay an enjoyable experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing