We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cheap hostel in a good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Rabie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Al Rabie
Ranked #17 of 28 Damascus B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great cheap hostel in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

The Al Rabie is definitely meant for backpackers wanting to spend as little money as possible. They were so full when we got there that we couldn't even get a dorm room, but instead paid about $10 a person to sleep on the roof. This actually worked out fantastically, since they're so used to this happening that they have a great camp set up for roof-sleepers, including overhangs, lights, beds, extra blankets, and showers and toilets actually on the roof. The hostel is huge and has tons of international travelers, so finding people to travel with is easy. There's also a huge inner courtyard with a juice bar (no alcohol) and hookah where you can sit, sip a coffee, eat your complimentary breakfast, and talk travel with other guests. The staff is great and really knowledgeable about almost anything that you can come up with to do in Damascus, like, for example, when they helped us find a taxi to take us from Damascus to Beirut.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    8
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
12
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

Plus points about this: courtyard is terrific, with lovely decoration, good for socialising. location very convenient and quiet. Cafe service with reasonably priced tea and fresh juice available all hours. Minus points - had to ask for towels, rooms were not serviced on three night stay (at least they emptied the bin in the toilet after the second night - although they then left the key in our door, which was on the courtyard). No top sheet - I don't know if they launder the blankets between guests. Cost S£2000 per night out of season, which was probably a bit hefty, but we arrived late and just wanted a room.
Relatively good English spoken and travel advice good, although they don't smile much.
Overall impression is that they have a product which is known and that they think they don't have to try too hard to get the business. No wifi.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgetherunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

At first is hard to find but even with the language difficulties the locals are very helpful. The hotel is very well located near most attractions and specially the famous market Souq al-Hamidiyya. The hotel looks like an old venetian palace with a lovely courtyard. The rooms are old, and the bathroom is a bit uncomfortable with no separation with the shower and no place to put your towel or clothes. However, it was clean. Beds were a bit noisy but we slept ok. However, the water in the shower is very hard to regulate. The hot water burned my shoulders and after much work trying to regulate it no more hot water came out, just cold.
The room has a small fridge. There's no Internet service. It includes a simple breakfast. If you have a lot of luggage just take into account that some rooms are up a flight of stairs in the second floor. Make sure to check the street on the back for delicious quick bites.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KNDC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qatar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

I used to stay in this hotel for the last 7 years , I go there almost every year , very nice Location, friendly people, and the most important recently all rooms has bathrooms inside it , so almost no need to cue for the shower ,

The place gives you the feeling of peace , specially when the streets just out side are so Noisy and busy and just once you walk in into the hotel , your in a complete different atmosphere ,

Really Nice Place , I strongly recommended it for budget travelers ,

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

Knowing exactly when I would be traveling in Damascus I prebooked a room in this hotel 3 months in advance. I had email confirmation. In addition the day before my arrival I called to reconfirm my reservation and everything seemed fine. Upon my arrival the next day (approximately 17:00) I was informed that none of their current guests had checked out and therefore I would not be able to have a room. I was told to check again the next day and they brought me to a sister hotel which did not appear nearly as nice (The room was windowless and dirty.) I ended up somewhere completely different.
Mr Lonely Planet says amazing things about this hotel and indeed the courtyard seemed lovely and the staff speaks fluent English. The location is in the backpacker land about 15 minutes walking to the old city and main attractions.
Overall I am sure the hotel is great but just don't expect a reservation.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 07Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Al Rabie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Rabie

Property: Al Rabie
Address: Sharia Bahsa | Souq Saroujah, Damascus, Syria
Region: Syria > Damascus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Damascus
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Al Rabie Hotel Damascus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing