We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place I've ever stayed in!”
Review of Beit Al Wali Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beit Al Wali Hotel
Ranked #33 of 61 Hotels in Damascus
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place I've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 11 January 2011

As an Independent Travel Operator specialising in the Middle East and North Africa, we know Damascus well. Of all of the places anywhere in the world I've stayed in, I've never experienced service like at the Beit Al Wali. It's SO far beyond anything I've ever had before and having stayed at uber luxurious resorts (we'd just come from the Kempinski Ishtar Dead Sea), this beats everything.

You'd order 3 things and 5 things would come, the 2 extra would be on the house, just because they wanted you to try it. The menu each night just says Lamb or Chicken but is a completely different dish each night. The Food & Beverage guys have all come from the Sheraton and it shows.

I was there on a recce to see which boutique hotels we'd offer and of the 26 I visited, there were 3 standouts, this one, the Al Pasha and I guess the Talisman. One thing I will say though, the attention to detail here is insane. For example, to cover the two courtyards of the house, they had 4 wireless routers for the free wifi internet. So many other boutiques offered it, but for large houses they had one wireless router with a weak signal to most of the hotel and a strong one only if you were sitting in the courtyard near the router. It's a minor thing but this approach is repeated again and again.

If you have children, you'll love this place too, my 18 month old was constantly engaged by the army of staff there and he had so much fun and nothing he did was a hassle. He was watched every moment when he was out of our sight, the valet guys would always be there keeping an eye as he played in the alley outside with local children including those of the owner Edouard.

We've decided, we're definitely going back with a bunch of friends and booking the whole place out at some point in the near future. I'd like to stay in Al Pasha (which also looked quite good) at some point because I need to know what it's like for my clients but I fear on taking such a gamble at it not being as good as this place.

It's the only place in the world, I've ever given a 10 out of 10 to!

Oh, the location is great as it's only 2 minutes walk from Bab Touma in the Christian Quarter and a 15 min walk through the old city to Ummayad Mosque and maybe 5 minutes walk from Narenj (the best restaurant in Damascus)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BedouinTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
13
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
225 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Beyond any doubt the details make the difference! From the check in to check out, everything is perfect in this beautiful hotel. Situated in the Old City, next to the main attractions, enchantment begins when one cross the front door. The atmosphere lead to the 1001 nights, in a 18th century house, with courtyards, indoor fountains and fine furniture. The roons are huge, beautifully decorated, with all modern facilities and "mimos" like chocolat and complimentary water. However, is the staff that really makes the stay here, almost an obligation. The service is outstanding, irrepreensive, attentive and very friendly. Don't miss the fantastic breakfast with falafel, hummus, moutabal and labnya, all included in the price. I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcioRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed for five nights in the Beit al Wali and it was a really great experience. It is a beautiful hotel in the old city of Damascus. Fantastic location too, it is a nice walk to the Omayad mosque and all important sights. Very good restaurants are all in walking distance. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful and will do everything to make you feel welcome. The breakfast was by far far the best we had during our trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisende_Prinzessin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

This little hotel is just perfect, it's close to the best restaurants, best sites and to top it all of it's in the middle of the old city.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saeed42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2011

The 'Beit Al Wali' is beautiful . i felt like i was sleeping in a palace.

The staff are very friendly and very helpful . I think actually there were too many staff, we were constantly asked if we were ok and if needed anything, particularly at breakfast.

Unfortunately the bedroom was extremely noisy, based next to the court yard, you could hear other guests chatting till early morning also breakfast being prepared in the restaurant . I was woken up at least 3 times each night .

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italian3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2010

Lovely hotel in the Christian quarter, in an Ottomonish building with vaulted and arched enclosed courtyards. Guests are greeted with tea, roses, and sweets, and then shown to their rooms, which are small but lush and where Lebanese wine and chocolate truffles greet them. Staff was lovely and service was earnest. Two caveats--try to get a room location that's right for you, the second floor rooms require climibing fairly steep stairways, and could be tough on travelers with physical limitations. Also, see if you can get an interior room. Ours was over the alley which meant we were privy to alleyway late night neighborhood discussions, mating cats, pre-dawn mass at the church across the way, and schoolchildren en route to classes. All part of the ambience, for sure, but not especially sleep inducing. Quirkiest trait: recordings of birds chirping (accompanied by one live canary) to help you rise and shine in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer10TravellingMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

This is a beautiful hotel in the old Christian section of Damascus. The public spaces are beautiful and relaxing and the service is impeccable. Their smallest rooms are tight, so be sure to request one of their larger spaces.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlWali, Manager at Beit Al Wali Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2010
Dear Sir, Madam

On behalf of the managment and the staff at Beit Alwali we would like to thank you for staying with us in 2010 and we lookforward to welcome you again in 2011 .

we wish you a merry christmas and new year full of joy and happiness

best regards

arabi shaher
operation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Beit Al Wali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beit Al Wali Hotel

Property: Beit Al Wali Hotel
Address: Bab Touma Main Road - Boulad Alley, Damascus 8485, Syria
Region: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 61 Hotels in Damascus
Hotel Class:5 star — Beit Al Wali Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old City of Damascus embraces hundred of old houses reflecting the different eras which outlined the history of the city. Witnessing numbers of earthquakes, the Old City was destroyed many times and rebuilt over and over, breathing life again into the ruins. Among these houses, a collection of 3 ordinary Damascene houses of the 18th century where renovated in 2009 to present you the culture and tradition in a modern luxurious and spectacular design… Beit A Wali Hotel. The distinguished style of the 18th century is captured in the hotel’s hand crafted wooden ceilings, the oriental architecture is highlighted in various spaces which lead to an awesome scenery from the past. The latest technical innovations of the contemporary age were set into this rich heritage to meet the needs of the modern requirements. The sumptuous history and the luxurious modern facilities are combined together under one roof … Beit Al Wali Hotel. From the moment you step in the hotel, you will experience the old life of Damascus as the wooden and marble ornaments, the courtyards and the fountains are all together a real exposure of the true Damascene house. The 29 rooms have various oriental designs to give each room a unique touch of taste, wrapped in hospitality and luxurious services. Beit al Wali Hotel, a place to indulge your senses where harmony and comfort will certainly enrich your experience and exceed your expectations while staying in the oldest inhabited city…Damascus. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing