We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming it is”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beit Zafran Hotel de Charme
Ranked #11 of 62 Hotels in Damascus
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Charming it is”
Reviewed 21 November 2010

This must be near to the most expensive hotel in Damascus, outside the Four Seasons, but it is worth it and gives you a much more authentic experience than the big chain hotels which lie outside the old city.
It's fairly small, maybe a dozen or so rooms and, like a Moroccan riad, is tucked away up a tiny side street and built around a pretty courtyard, which is covered in winter by a temporary roof.
Rooms are not massive, but comfortably sized, maybe a bit short of storage and wardrobe space. Ours had the benefit of its own terrace, a pleasant place to relax in the warmth of the afternoon and early evening.It is evident that much care and attention has gone into the furnishing and fixtures so in that sense, you are getting what you pay for.
Breakfast is taken on a pretty roof terrace and is a good demonstration of this hotel's attempts to add flair and quality to their offering. I guess it might get a bit boring after day 5, but it far exceeded the bog standard buffet breakfasts now the norm in most chain hotels.
Perhaps the hotel's only drawback is that, since it does not have a bar or a restaurant, it lacks the atmosphere you get in hotels that do have this. On the other hand, the gain is a sense of tranquility. A final word for the staff who are excellent, very helpful, professional and welcoming. It calls itself a 'hotel du charme' and that is indeed a very apt moniker.
I note this hotel has enjoyed universal 5* ratings on here. I can see why and I'm not going to break their run, given how hard the management and staff are clearly trying to give you a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falcon3760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
27
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

This is a fantastic boutique hotel in the old city with all the charm you would expect, combined with professional and helpful staff and the ammenities of a high quality establishment The breakfast "syrian style" will be a challenge for anyone to complete. Whilst it is not cheap it is certainly worth it for the all round experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
369 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We were delighted with this hotel. We stayed here for the first 3 nights of our 17 night holiday in Syria and it was actually the best place of the whole trip. Our room was beautifully decorated and was huge. The bedding and towels were of a very high quality. The bathroom was quite small but had a nice large, well equipped shower cubicle and L'Occitane toiletries. The hotel itself is beautifully restored and very well maintained. It is tucked away just off of Bab Touma and is in a good postion for visitng all the sights of Damascus. Breakfast was taken on the rooftop terrace and was well presented and included freshly squeezed orange juice, a selection of breads and lots of home made syrian specialties. The service was very helpful and friendly. The reception staff and hotel manager were extremely efficient and helped us on several occasions with restaurant reservations and directions. The only minor negatives were a lack of hangers, no chair for the desk in our room, the WiFi didn't always work and we had some noise in the morning from people going up to the roof terrace as our room was next to the stairs. Overall we found this to be a professionally managed hotel where they really know what the guest wants. It was not cheap at 185 euros (we got the corporate rate) but we really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

This is one of may many trips to Syria, and the second one staying in the old city of Damascus. Last time we stayed in the so called Jewish quarter, and was the best hotel in January 2010. This one has all the original ceilings and the most of the original walls. Rooms were very simple and relaxing. I would stay there again, and have recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nowelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I have chosen to stay in this hotel and not in other business hotels because I was told that we will have all the comfort and all we need as business people (internet), as well because the location of the house was in the middle of the city, for a perfect walk and dining experience after a long day at work. It was not a mistake.

Even it was a business trip, It was a perfect gateway and enjoyable stay. I felt good walking in through the door smelling the scent displayed in the hotel and the sound of the lounge arabic music which take all the stress away from you.

I was amazed seeing the way such an old house (as explained by the staff) being re-done and refurbished with such good taste. Everything is perfect: the mix of the old and present is extreme well done.
The hotel as well as the rooms are kept clean but the amazing housekeeping service provided.
The Breakfast offered in the hotel is very well presented "buffet to your table" kind of thing, with everything that the eye which to see.

Last but not least, the warm welcome, the farewell, the smile and the anticipation of our needs are something that the staff excel on doing ...

Truly will come to this hotel for a longer period of time to experience more of what the city has to offer and enjoy the amazing personalized service offered.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maziza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We had two very special nights in this dream of a hotel in the old city section of Damascus this September. Once you wend your way down a small side street past churches and other old homes, your enter ths dream land of fountains, gorgeous tile and plants. Not only are the renovations of the old Ottoman house perfect, the courtyard tea experience in the afternoon and rooftop breakfasts provided a delicious quiet haven from the exciting bustle outside. All the front desk staff was so helpful and we fell in love with the food and beverage manager, Sewar Al Bitar, who served us coffee and tea, made us special Syrian sweets to try, and walked us though all the wonderful breakfast treats served that come from all over Syria, explaining the sources and traditions (we asked him too, he was very discreet, but once he knew we really were interested we had a fascinating conversation) The hot semolina and cinammon is a never to be forgotten start to the day. Not to mention the freshly made croissants and apricot jam. We will send everyone we know here, it is a not to be missed experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCKtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genova
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

To Mr. Adnan, Siwar, Ali and all the other splendid staff, a special thanks from David and I. We had the most glorious time in Dyria and the relaxing part is onyl thanks to you and your beautiful home, actually OUR home in Damascus ! Hope to see you soon. Grazie !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarasturla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zafran, Manager at Beit Zafran Hotel de Charme, responded to this review, 12 September 2010
It gives us great pleasure to hear such thoughtful comments from all our guests. On behalf of our staff, thank you for your encouraging and inspiring words. We are happy to hear that we helped make your stay in Syria a comfortable and memorable experience. It has truly been an honour to meet you all and we certainly hope to welcome you back soon on your next visit to Damascus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Beit Zafran Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beit Zafran Hotel de Charme

Property: Beit Zafran Hotel de Charme
Address: 33 Boolad St, Bab Touma, Damascus 31109, Syria
Region: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 62 Hotels in Damascus
Hotel Class:5 star — Beit Zafran Hotel de Charme 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beit Zafran is a wonderfully restored 19th-century home transformed into a luxury Hotel de Charme. A quiet hideaway tucked in the historic neighborhoods of the Old City, our hotel is within walking distance of most major tourist attractions in Damascus. Our personalized service and first-class Damascene accommodations are unparalleled. Stepping into the home, the antiquity, charm and sophistication are unmistakable. Beit Zafran is sure to provide its guests with a unique and memorable experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing