We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic. Service was excellent.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beit Zafran Hotel de Charme
Ranked #14 of 59 Hotels in Damascus
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Stayed a total of 3 nights. Was originally a house-converted into a boutique hotel. Central courtyard has to be seen to be believed. Greeted at the door with juice and fresh towels. Rooms were spacious and clean. Personalised letters welcoming us to the hotel. Free wifi. The staff looked after some purchases we made till we returned 5 days later at no cost. The hotel is in the middle of the old city walls of Damascus. Should be rated 5 star!! Upgraded for free on our last night after completing our tour.
Malcolm

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theminns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2011

If I was asked of a hotel I wished to re-visit for a stay this is the place. The hotel is absolutely charming. Amazing staff, amazing service, fantastic food - they even prepared a special birthday dinner during the visit and it was excellent. There were many special touches just too numerous to mention. My three night stay was simply remarkable. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjb176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

I have stayed at this remarkable hotel for five nights during the New Year.
The hotel is locating in beautiful historical building that must have been renovated only recently - you will certainly be impressed from the first moment after arrival!
The rooms are spacious and furnished with beautiful pieces of mostly wooden furniture. They resemble a style that was perhaps common for higher classes living in Damascus century ago. During our stay we have tried two rooms - 7 and 1. The 7 was bit smaller but had an amazing marble bath. You simply just wanted to let it flood with hot water and steam and enjoy the gentle earthy smell. The only minus were stairs leading up on the terrace located right next to the room. So if your sleep is light opt for a different room like the number 1 right on the ground floor. It must especially amazing in the summer where you can really enjoy small private atrium shared only with your neighbor.
As for the suff they were very pleasant and helpful. Sometimes we had small misunderstandings due to language or bit too high expectations from my side :-).
The only minus of the hotel is that it doesn't have it's own restaurant and also the breakfast is rather spartan. You would expect bit more from a hotel of this class. On the another hand they are plenty of great restaurans just few minutes of walk from the hotel.
I will certainly pay an another visit to this place. It's simply charming.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichalZ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Beit Zafran is a very nice renovated "maison de charme", we had a great time and will come back!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cass974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

This is a delightful and charming property very well renovated with excellent taste and style. One is in an oasis of tranquility nut almost less than half a mile from the busiest square in Old Damascus. The staff are most friendly and polite yet maintaining a discreet distance. It is indeed a hidden gem of a hotel and well worth spending more time within.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbuBatuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

They are really excellent.They are really excellent.They are really excellent.They are really excellent.They are really excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nezif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

my self and my sister stayed in this hotel for 10 days ,all the hotel staff including the hotel manager helped in making our stay in old damascus a great sucsess .

the staff is so helpfull and dont hesitate to advice us about places and resturants to visit ,the hotel also arranged 2 tours around syria for us ,it was agreat experiance .

the house is well decorated and the rooms also ,the court yard is soo beautifull with a fountaine in the middle .

the breakfast is tasty ,we will miss the mamonya (samolina with chesse ) .

when you come to syria dont stay in any other hotel then you will miss to see what am talking about .

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bato295424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Beit Zafran Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beit Zafran Hotel de Charme

Address: 33 Boolad St, Bab Touma, Damascus 31109, Syria
Region: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 59 Hotels in Damascus
Hotel Class:5 star — Beit Zafran Hotel de Charme 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beit Zafran is a wonderfully restored 19th-century home transformed into a luxury Hotel de Charme. A quiet hideaway tucked in the historic neighborhoods of the Old City, our hotel is within walking distance of most major tourist attractions in Damascus. Our personalized service and first-class Damascene accommodations are unparalleled. Stepping into the home, the antiquity, charm and sophistication are unmistakable. Beit Zafran is sure to provide its guests with a unique and memorable experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing