We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for meetings”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cham Palace Damascus
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Damascus
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good hotel for meetings”
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Would recommend this hotel for conferences and meetings. Staff is extremely helpful and kind. Cham is well located not very far from old Damascus.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathkingcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    31
    19
    10
    8
See reviews for
8
16
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Well, you have to consider that you are in Syria and Syria is a poor country. So, this is a 5 star hotel in Syria but not in Europe, for example. I enjoyed my stay (2 nights) and I don't payed for them so I can't complain. That apart, the hotel interior is beautiful, it has 6 restaurants where I can tell you the food was very good. The problem is that the restaurants are expensive (27 Euro for a dinner, with no wine). The (payed) internet is very slow (rather strange for a "5 star" hotel). The location is good: 10 minutes walking and I was in Old Damascus. Clean, sober, "vintage" look and feel. I agree with one recent reviewer that the staff is rather un-attentious (exception in the restaurant). The bed was confortable but the pillows were rather hard. Cannot comment on the price for value (didn´t pay for it and strangely enough this hotel does not show on booking.com...).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedrodeBraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

One of the best things is the location which means you can go walking to most areas of Damascus. There's lots of small details which could add up to be annoying - there's a certain indifference among the staff, for example, when checking in, or complaining that something doesn't work. Things have changed in the past year or two and now the internet is no longer free, and mini bar items are expensive. However, the free tea and coffee making facilities in rooms are a good thing. The buffet breakfast is fairly decent compared to many others. Mainly though it's the location that sells it plus the kitsch charm of faded days. Since the no smoking law came in there is now nowhere to relax in the hotel with a cigarette which means having a beer in the lobby is no longer the pleasure it once was. This is the kind of hotel where you still see famous Arab film or TV personalities breezing through - it has a certain place in the hearts of many still.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdnaWelthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Very elegant Hotel with obvious long tradition in the heart of Damascus. The old town in the vicinity is quick reachable.

The room I had was rather small, furniture a bit old. Sleeping was ok.
The atmospere in the hotel is rather elegant, it smells a bit about the old days.

The breakfast buffet is well equipped with nearly everything. Enough for the day. Unfortunately during my morning in the restaurant the service was too quick and cleaned the table completely during my second visit of the buffet.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank KochRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Rooms are spacious, quiet and clean. Service was very good. Restaurants try to please.
Location excellent for all major sites in Damascus.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
syria
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

i have stayed twice in sham palace, 2 nights each, both for buiseness.
excellent location in the very heart of damascus, very nice oriental lobby.. and everything else is terribely baaaaaaaaaaad.
the front desk people are the most rude ,inproffesional, i have ever seen . i arrived at 3 pm,asked for my room,told to wait ..in a very impolite way, i waited till 4,20 to get it , after 3 or 4 clashes between me and the staff.
the bellman asked for a tip directly after he brought my small bag, even i told him before that i don,t have cash and (begged him) to allow me to carry the bag by myself...!!!!!
the room is large but outdated and poor,bathroom need complete renovation. not even a 3 star room
food is extremely overpriced
room rate is also over over priced(>200 euros)
not recommended

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marwan1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

THIS HOTEL IS A HAS BEEN HOTEL

nothing was good, we came from Roma, and was very surprised by this very bad hotel and employees. no manager , no management , no professional staff,

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bellaroma2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cham Palace Damascus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cham Palace Damascus

Property: Cham Palace Damascus
Address: Maysaloun St. | P.O. Box 7570, Damascus, Syria
Region: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Damascus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cham Palace Damascus 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Cham Palace Damascus Hotel Damascus
Cham Palace Hotel Damascus
Damascus Cham Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing