We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My sincere advice is to look elsewhere.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Safir Al Sayedah Zeinab Hotel
Ranked #39 of 61 Hotels in Damascus
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Arrived from the UK early August 2010, for purposes of pilgrimage.
I cant put into words how the stay at the hotel hurt and disappointed me.
No transfer from airport to hotel, a 30 minute taxi ride.
On arrival 1 night stay taken as deposit using credit card.
On leaving they said their card reader machine was not working. This is on the morning of my flight home. They suggested I take a taxi to the nearest cash machine as the machine at the hotel was out of service too. They also used their "special rate" for dollar rate conversion which was not correct, asked for excessive syrian pounds.. Notwithstanding I would be out of pocket withdrawing cash. The taxi ride was 30 minutes to the machine where I got dollars and then on return to the hotel I was shocked that the hotel did not pay for the taxi journey into town!!
I was late for my flight but caught it fortunately.
The last morning of the visit was the only one where I could have breakfast and on my return home found I had awful diarrhoea.
The staff at the hotel were indifferent and unhelpful of course nothing like ordinary syrian people who were welcoming and kind.
I would never recommend this place at a quarter of the price especially to a weary pilgrim from far away. Whilst the room was not at all bad the overall hotel experience was not good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abdullahh34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
There are newer reviews for Safir Al Sayedah Zeinab Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2010

it is wonderful place where the reception staff welcoming and the rooms were clean and very comfortable and i enjoyed a lot of the breakfast as well as afresh delights café was fun and nice shisha as well as the pizza
really was beautiful experience

Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
Thank mahmod295416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
najibsaad, Manager at Safir Al Sayedah Zeinab Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review, we hope to further exceed your expectations in your next visit.

Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2007

If you are the type of person who can't do without luxury rooms, can't handle simple living (as most other accomodation is basic to medium standard 1/2 stars), then this is the place for you. It is the closest hotels to the Shrine of Lady Zainab (as) and it is the most comfortable & expensive place to stay in Zainabiya.

I have been to the area several times and only stayed in this one when it was part of the group package on the way to Hajj. The rooms and service are excellent as is the food. I have been comfortable/happier staying at the other 1 & 2 star hotels for about $15-20 or £7-10 per night compared to this at $109/£53 (2007 price).

This hotel does not keep with the ethos of Zainabiya if you are a ziareen, you may want to think about the person you are going to visit and what they had to go through. But if you are taking children who didnt want to come, or elderly, then this is a good place for them as they will not get distracted by their accommodation and hopefully focus on the reason for visit Lady Zainab (as).

The breakfast buffet is fantastic - and if you're stomach is tender as my friends' were, this is a very very safe and expensive (10 times other local places) place to eat (about $15-20 per meal).

My american friends tend to stay here....ahem.... most of my british friends stay at the £10/15 per night places.

  • Stayed: January 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank happyatif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2007

Staying at this hotel was great. It is just a three minute walk from the mosque/shrine of Sayyida Zeinab. It was great to be able to go for prayers at the mosque frequently because of the proximity.

The service at the hotel is excellent, not to mention the great food in the restaurant. When visitors arrive at the hotel, they bring out trays of juice to greet them.

The rooms are also very nice, with all the amenities you would expect of a 4-5 star hotel.

Would love to stay there again!

Jabir

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jyusufali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
tanzania
14
Reviewed 5 March 2006

its abeautifu hotel, no problems at all.. service is available full time. it is a very convenient hotel for those especially visiting her highness syeda zainab bintal hussein!!
well done

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHMAD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelmuthRauter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Safir Al Sayedah Zeinab Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safir Al Sayedah Zeinab Hotel

Address: PO Box 684 - Al-Sayedah Zeinab, Damascus -, Syria
Region: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 61 Hotels in Damascus
Hotel Class:5 star — Safir Al Sayedah Zeinab Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing