We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Carlos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiss International Omayad

Swiss International Omayad
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swiss International Omayad
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Damascus
Santos, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Carlos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed in Omayad Hotel for over a month for business reasons. Rooms are comfortable with high ceilings and good air-conditioning, service people are friendly. Miss Samira in charge of the reception desk is very helpful and efficient; ask about her. Many restaurant and outlets in the Hotel serving nice food. Internet connection is free and fast. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carlos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    24
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
4
13
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Yuxie park
It was agreat hotel with great managment but need to improve the employees standard relations with guests
   

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimodamascus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

As an old hotel, most of the rooms are large and well furnished. The service is good but the prices are a bit expensive. They have one of the best discos in town, in terms of clientele and music. It is choice number one for open-minded and liberal families and business men.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank geto_dam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

I stayed at the Omayad Hotel for three nights in July. The hotel arranged for a driver to pick me up at the airport. They also gave good and accurate advice on security in the city of Damascus and also arranged for a car and driver to visit Palmyra for a day trip. All of the staff (front desk, reservations, food service, housekeeping, bell staff and security very very helpful) The hotel is near a great shopping area and one block from the Four Seasons hotel/shopping complex. One block from the hotel is a street that has the best little hat shop that you can purchase hats made by the man that actually made them!
The internet worked great on my IPhone.
The club on the roof top (Z-Bar) is very hip, offering an awesome view of the city skyline at night. It get crowded at night, so I would suggest reserving a table for your evening clubbing. The women dress very chic.
This was my first visit to Damascus, but I will return again and stay at the Omayad Hotel.
Cheers!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JohnManama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

This hotel is expensive and old with very outdated rooms. The location is fantastic, but that's about it. The hotel itself is not good at all. Even the internet was not working.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mniee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Email communication prior to arriving was very fast and informative. Despite the media reporting disruption in Syria at the end of March 2011 when we were due to travel, we were reassured that all was quiet and inviting in Damascus- which proved to be the case. The lady at reception, Samira, was our fountain of knowledge, ready to help us with all practicalities, from arranging a personal driver for a trip to Krak de Chevaliers to train tickets to Aleppo. Incidentally, take a taxi and buy the train tickets yourself if you want to ensure good value for money. The rooms we were given at the standard rate, were huge- very high ceilings, spacious bathroom, flat screen TV, welcoming chocolates, soft drinks and flowers. We were 10 minutes' walk from most of the central landmarks of Damascus, including the Old City , Straight Street, National Museum, handicrafts market and the main Souks. We chose to eat out for meals, including breakfast, to marvel at the fresh, local organic food which is ubiquitous, as well as take advantage of the amazing value of local fayre.
This hotel allowed us to see just how wonderfully warm, friendly and welcoming the Syrians are for tourists, and we would easily go back again to Damascus and the Omayad Hotel to recapture some of the magic of this ancient holy city.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Dove121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

I have stayed at this Hotel for business three times and I would like to come back since I do feel at home here!
The best thing is the excellent rooms: big, comfortable, clean, furnished with a lot of taste. The common spaces are very pleasant too.
The food is also very good, with really friendly staff, and the panoramic restaurant is fabolous. The location is great (a short walk from the old city), and the staff is generally quite helpful and very friendly.
I do find, however, that it would be worth improving the service at the reception for such a nice high level of accommodation. Some of the reception staff also do not speak english, which is a bit of a pity for an international hotel.
Overall, a great place, though!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mic015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Swiss International Omayad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss International Omayad

Property: Swiss International Omayad
Address: 1 Brazil Avenue | PO Box 7811, Damascus, Syria
Region: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Damascus
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss International Omayad 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 Star Deluxe Hotel owes its name to the great Dynasty of Omayad Caliphs, whom established their Capital in the historic city of Damascus. Swiss International Omayad has long been the choice of Senior State guests; as well as prominent Arab and International figures from the political, social and artistic world; making it an important and distinguished hub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Omayad Hotel Damascus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing