We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Afamia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Afamia Hotel
Ranked #26 of 61 Hotels in Damascus
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We have been to Afamia at the end of August and we really enjoyed our stay.
We had a triple room in the new wing. The room was big and everything was perfect. The bathroom was big, spotless and with a bidet too.
The hotel is very close to the railway station, it takes 5-10 minutes walk to reach the Citadel (Old Damascus) and the most interesting cultural sites.
We never took a taxi.
The restaurant suggested by the reception (Al Kamal) was excellent.
A very nice hotel with a high quality of service!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chicca17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Afamia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2009

During the second week of May 2009, we hat a practical and nice stay in Afamia hotel in Damascus. We had a room on the renovated second floor (room numbers 2xx). The room vas very clean, well kept and not small with heathing and aircon. In the room there was nothing superfluous, but you will find everything what you need. For example there was a pull-out clothes-line over the bathtub for drying washings, something I only saw in Hilton hotels before. There were sufficient wardrobes for a longer stay. The nights were rather cool and so we had spotless white duvets - a very lovely sleeping, indeed.

The Afamia hotel is located in the center of Damascus on a side road behind the main post office what makes it very quiet although being in the very busy center with much traffic. If you are not afraid to walk half an hour, you can reach almost all places of interest and restaurants by walking.

The staff is very friendly, helpful and diligent, but if you need something you better contact the reception - there they speak almost all languages.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BUSERM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Good location - can walk to old city in less than 10 minutes. "Executive" room was pretty basic and small for two people although showers worked- unlike a hotel a friend stayed at in the old city. Rate included breakfast which was fine. Only issue was paying the bill. We had pre agreed a USD rate but the hotel then insisted it was euros which we didn't have. The hotel did an expensive FX transaction from USD into Syrian pounds and into Euros - good for them but not for us, which left us with a bit of a sour taste about the hotel. That said we'd stay there again - taking Euros with us.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

This is a good value hotel in a convenient location. Rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is very good. The hotel does not have a great deal of character but is still a good choice in Damascus where boutique and character hotels are very expensive. Staff were very helpful and assisted us in arranging day trips to Bosra and Seydnaya.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosebud16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Recently stayed in Afamia in an executive room for about 4 nights. The location is quite good but the rooms are now a bit shabby. Cleaniness is an issue as the entire hotel is now quite depleted and not kept clean. I was particularly distressed by the quality of the daily cleaning service in the rooms. I found it below acceptable. I will not stay there again. Will probably prefer the City Hotel over Afamia anytime.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thebushman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Had booked a 3-bed executive room in advance without problem by e-mail.
Room was Ok and quite with Sat-TV, fridge. Bathroom was clean and well maintained.
Breakfast room was looking for a refurbishment with breakfast to consider as just OK. However this couldbe that this was our 1st hotel in Syria.

Hotel is located in a central , but quite area within walking distance to the sights.
Staff was friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsme57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

The hotel is centrally located, in walking distance from old city. We had a renovated room with a balcony. Hotel is very clean, and staff were very friendly : they helped us making a telephone call in Arabic to sort out some difficulties with a booking elsewhere. Breakfast was better than in other similarly priced hotels elsewhere in Syria. Not the cheapest place for Damascus, but definitely a safe bet!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trotter7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Afamia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afamia Hotel

Address: Furat Street | Omayad Square, Damascus 5565, Syria
Region: Syria > Damascus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 61 Hotels in Damascus
Price Range: £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Afamia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing