We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely horrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Afamia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Afamia Hotel
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Damascus
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

Not sure if my standards are too high, but I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. The reception area looks like a cheap restaurant, the hallways are dim, the carpets, both inside and outside of the rooms is filthy, the furniture is extremely worn out, the sheets smelled clean but looked tired, and the pillows are so worn out they felt like mushrooms. I actually placed the bathroom towel on the bed because of sanitation issues. Stayed one night but only because I had to and it was too late in the evening to find an alternate.

The only good point is the location. It is definitely not worth even a fraction of the 40 Euros they charged me, never again I say!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaselLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    42
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
39
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

For what you pay this is one of the better hotels in a good location, 20 minutes walk from the main souq in Damascus. The room I had was box like with a 5.5 foot doorway in to the bathroom (watch your head). I am told there are better rooms - ask for the superior rooms.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marientoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

The hotel doesn't look nice from the outside, and you can mostly see parking cars from your room, but the rooms are very nicely renovated, staff is helpful and the hotel is located in the centre of Damascus. Altogether this is a good choice if you're looking for a mid-range hotel in Damascus.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bldavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

I agree with the previous reviewer, this is the perfect middle of the road hotel for a long trip with the right balance of comfort and value. The price is very good (we paid E55/night). The rooms are recently refurbished, clean and comfortable with good beds, fridge, air-con, satelite tv, recently refurbished and surprisingly quiet for the good location. And, the staff are polite and professional.

The breakfast was a bit disappointing as the hot food was never kept hot and nor was the tea/coffee - but this isn't really a major problem. Also, as they are small and windowless the bathroom smelt a bit mouldy but as it was situated in a very short corridor between the entrance to the room and a second entrance to the bedroom, this didn't present a problem.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Afamia for 5 nights in Spet 2010 an really enjoyed ourselves. It is not a five star hotel but is clean and comfortable and the breakfast is very good. The location is excellent, about a 10 - 15 minute walk to the old town; it seemed shorter walking to the market that walking back from the market :)
The staff are very friendly and communication in English is not problem.
My only complaint about the hotel was the absence of internet access. I carry an i Pod touch and am dependent upon WiFi for net access. My wife & I traveled through Syria, Jordan and Israel for a month and only 2 places did not offer free WiFi. Unfortunately, the Afamia was one of them.
Having said that if I went back to Damascus, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skierCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

On both of our stays at the Afamia, we were upgraded to a newly renovated triple room, which was much roomier than the doubles. The rooms were basic, but were a good deal, given Damascus standards. We found the staff to be helpful, and the breakfasts were good. The location was about 15 minutes from the Old Town. We would highly recommend eating at Al Kawali restaurant on Straight Street in the Old Town. Normally, we like to try different restaurants when we travel, but this one was so good and such good value that we had dinner there several nights, trying different dishes each time, and all were delicious.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dandd35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

As we were planning to have an early arrival at Damascus airport (4 am), we made a reservation for the night of arrival to get some sleep after a tiring flight. It turned out that the hotel was fully booked at arrival despite our reservation and they suddenly "couldn't find' our reservation in the bookingsystem. They told us to try to get some sleep in the lobby so they could try to get us another room in a few hours after somebody else had checked out. After a few hours we still hadn't heard anything and went to ask if there was a room available. The hotelmanager replied rudely: no booking, no room, and laughed at us. So we had to leave after hours of waiting and had to find another hotel. Our experience with Afamia was really bad.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susi000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Afamia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afamia Hotel

Property: Afamia Hotel
Address: Furat Street | Omayad Square, Damascus 5565, Syria
Region: Syria > Damascus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Damascus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Afamia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing