We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel in a great location”
Review of Talisman Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Damascus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Talisman Hotel
Ranked #20 of 61 Hotels in Damascus
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We’d had the Talisman Al Ameen recommended as a beautiful cultural hotel restored in an authentic fashion, and we stayed there on our last night in Syria. We’d stayed at the Four Seasons on our first four nights in Syria, and loved it. Although the staff at the Talisman wasn't as warmly professional as the Four Seasons, I think the Talisman also could have been a good place to stay. It’s a lovely hotel, peaceful and quiet. Our room, #5, tucked away in a corner of the courtyard, was gigantic and very comfortable, with a large bath, and separate WC room. Foliage outside the bedroom windows provided privacy, even with the curtains open. Dining in the hotel's area was good, with two excellent restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel.

The overly fastidious might not enjoy the plumbing, as toilet paper isn’t flushed, but goes into the waste basket. If you travel a lot, this will not be the first (or last) time you encounter this situation, although usually not in the better quality hotels.

While we were there, the staff was very friendly, but the service level was a little off. That night, we asked them to arrange a car to the airport at 6:15 AM the next day, and asked about breakfast, which came with our room. The front desk person said he was sorry, but breakfast didn’t begin until 7:00. While we checked out the next morning, we were brought coffee and tea...but it doesn’t seem unreasonable to think they also could have provided a small cold breakfast, like cereal. I hope they will consider this for their future guests with early departures. Another problem: our car was twenty minutes late arriving. There had been no note made of which car service had been called, so the next morning there was no way to check if the car had actually been sent. Fortunately, it did arrive at last. And since we had factored in extra time, in case of a situation like this, we had no problem meeting our flight. I would stay at the Talisman again, despite the few glitches, as I feel we had no chance to take full advantage of the lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Talisman Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2010

Beware the Talisman.
On July 9, 2010, I reserved a room at the Talisman in Damascus using the online service Skoosh. I received an email confirmation from Skoosh and printed it out. The Voucher detailed a reservation for myself and my wife for Oct 9,10,11 and 12, 2010. I also confirmed this with a followup email to Skoosh.
When we arrived at the Talisman, they said they had no record of a reservation for us. I showed them the printed Voucher and asked them to please check again. They again looked at their handwritten ledger and said no. They did not seem concerned and then busied themselves with ignoring us.
I asked if they would please see if another hotel had a room. They made two calls and then said everyone was full. They gave every indication that they would just like us to leave.
I phoned Skoosh and could only reach their voicemail. I left a detailed message.

We tried on our own to find another hotel in the Old City. After an hour of wandering unfamiliar streets we gave up on this idea.

We then proceeded to get a taxi to the Europa Hotel, where we had stayed the previous night after a bus tour of Syria. The Europa staff could not find us a room in their hotel but they phoned around and placed us in another nearby hotel. Very helpful. Five hours later, Skoosh called me and said they would investigate. They apologized for the inconvenience and said they would find out what went wrong and send me an email.

We could only stay in the new hotel for three nights and so had to find another hotel for the last night. Another hour spent on this.

In Syria, we met many friendly and helpful people. Unfortunately, the senior staff at the Talisman were not among them.

Thanks to VISA, we were refunded our money. But the time wasted from our holiday was lost.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank utahluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We stayed here 2 nights while sightseeing Damascus. Excellent location, walking distance from most sights.
Our room was huge and had a wonderful relaxed arabian atmosphere, large tv, a big clean bathroom.
The hotel has a charming courtyard with a small pool and it's very pleasant winding down after a hectic city visit. There are only 4 deck chairs, which could be a bit annoying.
Breakfast was average, there is no restaurant on the premises.
It was the most expensive hotel we had in Syria but easily the best. Worth the money.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank z-way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

If you want to take away magical memories of Damascus, this is the place to stay. The courtyard is so peaceful and as darkness falls and the lanterns come on, it just feels amazing. It's the only hotel in the old city to have a pool, too, and a beautiful one at that. The room was just drop dead gorgeous with amazing high ceilings, chandliers, and antique furniture. I will always dream of returning here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdnaWelthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Talisman hotel is is not easy to find, follow the hotel's advice and give them a call from one of the major streets and they will come and pick you up in a golf car. The place is simply amazing, right in the heart of Old Damascus in a secluded Old Palace converted in a boutique hotel. The hotel is very stylish with a lovely swimming pool and two courtyards. At night the place has a magical feel. The rooms are big and nicely decorated with a stunning bathroom. Take the Oriental breakfast beside the swimming pool, it is a great way to start up your day in Damascus.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutkastBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We loved it Had room 4 in the pool compound(" & 3 just as good). Immaculate decor. Serious hoteliers.We paid $225+tax and it was worth every penny

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithandnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We arrived late at night, tired. We entered and saw a courtyard you could only dream about: Arabian nights has nothing on this: every attention to detail. Another couple was in the courtyard, entranced. We all agreed that we had never seen anything so perfect. The room was spacious with a wonderful bathroom.
The breakfast was the best we ever had in Syria-everything you could possibly want.
We would love to return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Talisman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talisman Hotel

Address: 116 Tal Elhijara Str., Damascus, Syria
Region: Syria > Damascus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 61 Hotels in Damascus
Price Range: £100 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talisman is more than an hotel: it is your second home. We will provide you all the services and luxury of a five stars residence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talisman Hotel Damascus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing