We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We only stayed there because we had to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abu Dhabi Airport Hotel
Reviewed 6 December 2009

We had a long transit in Abu Dhabi, so we decided to stay at the airport hotel. From the check in time, first bad impression: the hotel does not have hourly rates, like any other airport hotel, you can only check in by a nightly rate. Of course when you leave, they can re-use your room for another full nightly rate. This way we ended up paying around 240$ for just 8 hours stay. Second comes the location, it's in a different terminal than the new international terminal, so you have to go through security check all over again before getting to your flight. Third and the most unpleasant experience, is the cleanliness, or lack of it actually. The sheets and the towels were clean, or seemed to be, but the rest, stained chairs, dirty shower, or maybe just old -dirty looking, the TV remote is a story on itself, old and broken, has been taped shut with a piece of paper so the batteries don't fall, now this tape was gone, leaving behind a disgusting dirty, sticky surface, impossible to touch.
Also keep in mind that the rooms are very cold during the winter season, even though it is mild winter you can still fell it when the rooms you're staying in don't have any type of heating unit.
The food isn't that great also, very dry and tasteless, try to eat before getting there so you wont have to try it.
The only good thing about this hotel was the service, very friendly, helpful staff, offering to provide room service for us in a hotel that has none, no room service, no minibar, just two bottles of complementary water.
I hope we'll never have to stay there again. This will affect our airline choice for our next trip, so we can avoid Abu Dhabi airport.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LiviaDrusilla11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2009

I stayed in this hotel on 04/10/08 so things have hopefully improved since then. I made the mistake of trying a new airline - Etihad. The airline itself isn't an issue. The ridiculous transit times at Abu Dhabi Airport was the problem. I hope the new runway and terminal have made experiences like mine obsolete.

I was facing an 18 hour transit in the old terminal. After a few hours of being ogled by lecherous locals, and experiencing the hourly live "music" played by the airport entertainers, I decided to seek refuge in the airport hotel (possibly part of a marketing strategy to guarantee hotel business). I was assigned Room 106 and paid around 500 AED. This only bought me 12 hours. The front desk staff checked all my travel documents as passengers with transit times less than 6 hours are not entitled to a room. I pre-paid for the room with my AMEX and my passport was photocopied.

As I made my way to the room, I realised that reception had not issued me with a key. When I returned to front desk, he informed me that I will only get a key when I hand over my passport. Conversely, I will only get my passport back when I hand him the key. I found this absurd. After having stayed in dozens of hotels in my lifetime, I have never had to surrender my passport to any. Apparently, this was hotel policy to stop people trashing rooms and/or leaving the airport.

I responded that I had no intention of leaving the airport (if the airport was any indication to go by, there was no point in seeing the city outside). I also stated that any damage to the rooms could be automatically deducted from my AMEX, which he already scanned, and any criminal investigations or legal action could be taken using the photocopies he has already made of my passport.

I informed him that my passport was rather valuable in that it contained attached visas which needed to be produced in the countries I was passing through, or I would be precluded from entry to these countries. I continued that should I not be able to travel in 12 hours due to the fact that front desk ends up misplacing my passport, they will have to personally explain to my company head why I was missing from my work commitments the following day. I also added that any costs incurred with me missing my work commitments would be billed directly to them.

It was only after I demanded a refund for the room so I could try a hotel outside the airport that the staff member finally backed off and stopped harrassing me for my passport. Nobody has a right to force you to surrender your passport unless it is the country which issued it or a court of law. I finally received my room key without any more argument.

Upon entering the room, I was annoyed to find there was no windows. Not good for claustrophobics. The walls were so thin that I could hear my neighbour walk around his room. I knew he was male as I could hear him on the telephone with amazing clarity. The room itself was quite ordinary. However, everything was in good working order. The shower cubicle wasn't cleaned very well as there was a frontal imprint of a female left on the glas shower door...lipstick and all. Disgusting. If all you're looking for is a place to sleep, then this place will suffice.

Checkout was surprisingly smooth and efficient (there was now a female at the desk). Considering that most of the airport staff are foreign workers from Asia and India, one hopes to conclude that the local inhabitants generally do not behave in the same manner as the hotel staff. However, I for one will not be giving this place a second chance. In future, I will take the tried and tested combination of Emirates via Dubai for intercontinental travel. Or better still, if I have no business in this area, I will bypass it completely with a direct flight.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MajorKusanagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2009

This really is a convenient way to break the journey to/from Australia. We flew Etihad so transited via Abu Dhabi . By staying overnight in this very comfortable hotel we avoided overnight flying. Thus jetlag was easier to overcome. I can't sleep on planes - even in business/1st class so I'd rather spend the [considerably less] extra money by staying in a transit hotel. It means you can get off the plane after a day flight, go straight to the hotel reception area[without going out through customs/immigration], have a meal in the restaurant, sleep in a comfotable bed, shower, have breakfast & then just walk to the boarding gate for another day flight.
The room, bar & restaurant in Abu Dhabi airport are all very good, so a very comfortable way to do 'the long haul'.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank darrellhilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

The Abu Dhabi Airport Hotel is actually located right inside the secure terminal of the airport. It's primarily for transit passengers as once you're inside the secure

We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room. It was comparable to any other major label hotel and everything seemed to be relatively new

While slightly expensive at around $170 for the 18 hours we were there, it is still far cheaper than the other hotel option downtown.

We stayed here because we ran into problems with our room in town, and with an oil convention in the city that day, there were no rooms to be had anywhere for under $1000 per night. A quick call to the hotel showing that we had a flight out the next morning (and some tiring discussions with airport staff about why we wanted to stay at the airport for 18 hours) was all it took.

There is also a restaurant (and lounge) in the hotel which was quite good. The biggest perk though is that since you're right in the terminal, you can literally check out of your room one minute before you need to be at the gate.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Napali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marcialrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Theo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
5  Thank Марина Б
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Abu Dhabi International Airport Hotel
4.4 mi away
Centro Yas Island Abu Dhabi by Rotana
16 mi away
Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi
Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi
#53 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,410 reviews
6.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Abu Dhabi Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abu Dhabi Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abu Dhabi Airport Hotel

Address: airport road p.o.box 5821 | Abu Dhabi Airport, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £53 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abu Dhabi Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing