We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood platter is excellent and inexpensive”
Review of Cantina Laredo

Cantina Laredo
Ranked #335 of 2,088 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Seafood platter is excellent and inexpensive”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Cantina Laredo is my favourite place for seafood in Abu Dhabi - that may seem a bit odd, but after having several seafood dishes at various 5-star hotels, it really is the truth. The fish is always perfectly cooked - moist with a nice grilled char to it and the calamari are really very good - not chewy at all and not too greasy either. And it's less than half the price of the inferior 'top-quality' restaurant seafood dishes!

Their vegetarian enchiladas with chipotle sauce are also really good - I love that sauce! The guacamole is great but depends on the quality of the avocados, of course, which varies.

The only downside is the location - it may be convenient in a mall, but it lacks in ambience. The staff are all really friendly and helpful and we never have to wait long for food and drinks. It's definitely one of my regular spots in Abu Dhabi!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    53
    18
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Mexican, if only it wasn't in a mall...”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

First things first the food in here is great; the fresh guacomole starter is probably the best guacomole I've ever had. The service and restaurant too is also very good. The only thing that lets this place down is it's location. As it's not attached to a hotel you can't drink alcohol and being able to have a couple of nice cold beers would have complimented the great food perfectly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ian_ascroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Grub”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I go to this place at least once a year as I like to sample different cuisines and restaurants throughout the year.
As expected, service was prompt, they started us off with a generous portion of tortillas and dips. The place wasnt full as we got in pretty late around 10.30pm.
The food came superfast even though we ordered 4 steaks.
Steaks came as per what we ordered, although even though we ordered 3 diff types of dishes, they almost looked the same, with identical sides. Didnt have any additional sauce options except steak sauce. I generally like the steak with some side sauce if available.
Water was expensive I felt for a restaurant of this kind, i.e. not in a hotel.

What they could have done better is at least offer something complimentary? I ordered almost AED 400 plus worth of food and perhaps a dessert sample or so would've gone a loooong way in placing this restaurant on my fav list and always remembered. I mean simple small gestures.
Goodluck ;-)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timmyjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, solid Mexican food”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Not a lot of Mexican food options in town but they do a good job. It won't probably be the best you've ever had but if you are craving some of your favorite dishes, I'm sure it will hit the spot. A good number of tasty dessert options as well with nice portion sizes.

Service is good/friendly as well which is a plus. They have a nice birthday cheer for folks there for that too.

Helpful?
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Started off well.... Then”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

When this place first opened its served really good food. That does not mean that its not doing that now. It is, but not as good as before. Dishes will taste the same if you add a lot of cheese, onions or green bell pepper in it. That is exactly what is happening. Guacamole and some desserts are still great, portions are filling, price is fine, but as a suggestion, when ordering anything with meat or chicken tell them that you do not want it dry and specify how much cheese, onions and peppers you like. You will end up getting what you asked for. Hence your experience wont be that bad. Although not all the dishes represent true Mexican food, still tasty :)

Helpful?
Thank Hanan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cantina Laredo also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Cantina Laredo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing