We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi
Ranked #10 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
2 reviews
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I found this gem of a hotel quite by accident.

It was the early hours of the morning and I'd arrived in Abu Dhabi on the late flight for a 3 month business trip. Having been unable to locate my designated hotel I stopped at the Cristal to ask directions and call my hotel. On finding that my designated hotel had no record of my reservation the duty manager at the Cristal offered me a room for the night and for the duration of my stay if required. Needless to say I took him up on his kind offer and experienced what I must say was an excellent 3 months at the Cristal as part of their "family".

The Cristal really does excel at attention to detail and manages the difficult balance between efficient operations and customer comfort and satisfaction. The staff lead by MD Peter Blackburn and his management team are the best in Abu Dhabi in my opinion and this is supported by the fact that many of them have come to the Cristal from other high quality hotels in the city. The staff are friendly, happy, eager to please, committed, interested in the guests and keen to progress in their careers and this makes a big difference.

The hotel is in the heart of Abu Dhabi within easy reach of the beach, shopping malls, cultural and commercial amenities. As with most developing cities there is construction work going on in the surrounding area near the Cristal and I appreciate that this may cause some travellers concerns. For me it wasn't an issue, just like the call to prayer at 5am it's part of life in Abu Dhabi and just like with the time difference, most seasoned travellerslearn toadapt.

The Cristal has an excellent gym and spa that I used frequently. The restaurant provides an excellent wide-ranging buffet with regular themed nights and there is a ground floor coffee shop where you may well find the senior team, (Peter, Kamal and Hamdan) having finished work for the day, chatting with guests, planning the next innovations for Cristal Hotel and putting the world to rights.

During my 3 month stay the level of service never dropped. The staff all remembered my name and even accurately pre-empted my requests. I was treated as a valued guest and received a back-of-house tour which tells you a lot about what’s really going on behind the scenes in hotels. That said, back-of-house at the Cristal is truly the secret of their success and many of the 5 star hotels could learn a lot from this 4 star little gem.

Thanks guys, I will most definitely be requesting to stay at the Cristal for all my future visits.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,003
    455
    50
    7
    4
See reviews for
224
275
251
641
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Quite a good hotel:
- Room service food is good
- Internet included
- Good location
- Pool and fitness center are good

but some bad points from my experience:
- At arrival my room was not ready even though the travel agency had booked early arrival.
I was upgraded to a suite with an extra charge of 100 AED. But I think this was done on purpose just to book their suite since my collegue arrived some days later and samething was told to him.
- One laundry bag was taken from my room even though I did not want them to and I had not filled the paper.
- The restaurant is just buffet and it is ok but not a big choice and they are many better restaurants in town.
- It's a shame some TV channels (sports) are only shown in the bar downstairs and not available in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g119129be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristalhotel, Front Office Manager at Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 15 May 2010
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your comments about your stay at the Cristal Hotel; In general we understand that you enjoyed your stay.
Concerning the points you mentioned, we would like to clarify that 10 hot dishes are served on the buffet in addition to the live cooking corner as well as the 2 types of roasted items, no buffet in town is offering that number of dishes on one buffet.
About the laundry apologies for the inconvenience, therefore as my investigations shows that it was granted for you, if not, please claim it back on your next stay.

The Sports channels displayed in the cafe are our cafés selling tool to attract people to our cafe, hope you will understand our strategy.

The suite was up sold to you after a mutual agreement with the agent upon check in, we usually get the guest signature as approval on the special deal of 100AED, which is very reasonable amount in this country (a suite for only 100 EAD additional/ optional -if guest agrees)

Sir, we again thank you for your comments, hope we answered your concerns and we will remain at your service for any additional requirements or suggestions.

Regards

Joseph El Hajj
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Service is so nice, room is really good also and it's always clean. It's a nice place at least for a business trip. I didn't have enough time to see all the facilities on the hotel, so I couldn't add a review as a hotel for a family trip.
General view of it is that is really nice.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfvmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristalhotel, Front Office Manager at Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 15 May 2010
Thank you for the comments;

Families can also enjoy their stay with us, our indoor pool is a get away place for children, and it is attended at all times by a lifeguard; On Fridays we entertain our children on lunch at the restaurant. Beside this our hotel is walking distance from the shopping mall and a small children corner is also available.
Room service serves special children menus.

Hope I answered your concern and looking forward to welcome you back.

Regards

Joseph EL Hajj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2010

This is a nice hotel..conveniently located. The ambience matches the best... However the food options are not very attractive.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinesAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristalhotel, Front Office Manager at Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 12 May 2010
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback about the Cristal Hotel, We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were comfortable in our hotel.

Concerning the meals choices, we would like to inform you that our Gems restaurant serves daily international buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner, along with Asian corner, Italian live cooking, Arabic dishes as well as the choice for hot dish with a desert or just a salad with desert or the full buffet; even a la carte is available.

The Blendz cafe open 24/7, were we serve sandwiches, snacks, fresh juices, hot beverages...in addition to our 24 hour room service.

Sir, we thank you again for your comments and on your next visit, I will personally make sure that an orientation tour will be done around the hotel outlets and facilities upon your convenience in order to better introduce you to our facilities.

Looking forward to welcome you back

Joseph EL Hajj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2010

I have visited many hotels in Dubai, Abu Dhabi & other Emirates:
I rate this hotel as one of my favourite Hotels. I visited Cristal Hotel with my family and alone. I have been offered for free, a suite room.

The hotel in general has:
- Very Comfortable stay
- Very Pleasent staff
- Very relaxed & romance beds
- Very nice health club, with advanced machines.
- Very good food, (excellent buffet)
- Free Internet
- Everything is reachable as the hotel located in the middle of the city.
- The best I like is the staffs, and the quality of the rooms, along with the location.

The hotel in general does NOT have:
- No Kids play area
- No large swimming pool for adult
- No Swimming pool for kids
- in general the hotel misses the kids facility (or family facilities in general).
- No Beach

I do recommend this hotel for business.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamoon20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristalhotel, Front Office Manager at Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 12 May 2010
Dear Sir,

We are glad to know that you and your familly enjoyed your stay in the hotel...Eventhough we are a businmess hotel, our location do not allow for an external pool, but we are walking distance from th public beach at the Corniche area.

On the other hand, on Fridays brunches a kids playarea with baby sitter service is always provided.

Thank yu again for staying with us, on the next stay, we can show you the walking distance close by mmall where kids playgrounds and facilities are available.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

regards

Joseph El hajj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2010

This was the most reasonably priced Hotel that I could find in Abu Dhabi on the internet. After flying from country to country for over six weeks this was definitely the best value and highest quality of hotel that I have experienced. The room was spacious, staff courteous and efficient. Combined with a fabulous breakfast, exercise gym and pool. This is where I will stay again when I return.
Regardless of your reason for the stay. Make sure that you go on a half day dune safari. It was the highlight of the tourist activities that I did.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyAustraliaKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristalhotel, Front Office Manager at Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 12 May 2010
Dear Sir,

We are glad to know that you rated us one of the best hotels that you visited during the last 6 weeks of travelling.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

regards

Joseph El hajj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

We were placed at this hotel by Etihad airways, after being stranded by the volcanic ash situation. It could not have been better. On arrival at the hotel, confused and concerned, we were greeted by friendly, efficient and considerated hotel management and front desk staff. They immediately made us feel welcome and ensured that our needs were catered for by sending us to the 17th floor buffet resturant whilst the rooms were prepared. We have had many buffet meals in 4 and 5 star hotels and were very pleasant pleased to find a good choice of ethnic and international fair, including a 'live kitchen' cooking to a theme (and a great dessert table). The hotel's chef was present at most meals making suggestions and listening to clients comments and thoughts on the food. A 4 star hotel with 5 star service is their aim (a comment from the food and beverage manager, Alfred Lobo) - we believe that they are not far off achieving it.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable - designed for the business traveller with access to high speed broadband and an up to date telephone system ( I use a similar one in my office) - very impressed with the overall package and the combination of quality hospitality, good food, attentive staff, management who listen and care about your views of the hotel and what appears to be good conference facilities make this a promising venue for business meetings and conferences. Having been to many conferences in my time I would put this close to the top.
However having been 'stranded' it was a very pleasant experience, a good location in downtown Abu Dhabi made it easy for shopping and accessing key points of interest.
I would look forward to returning to the Cristal in different circumstances on business or liesure.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramnorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristalhotel, Front Office Manager at Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 25 April 2010
It was indeed a great pleasure to host you in the Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi and It was a valuable opportunity for us to introduce you to our hotel and glad to know that you had a comfortable stay at the Cristal Hotel.

We look forward to being of service to you in the close future with more pleasant situations.

Meanwhile, we assure you of our best services and prompt attention at all times, we highly appreciate your comments

Yours Sincerely,

JOSEPH EL HAJJ
FRONT OFFICE MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
1.2 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,579 reviews
3.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,115 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Abu Dhabi
Holiday Inn Abu Dhabi
#3 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#9 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,690 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
949 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
#22 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi

Property: Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi
Address: Muroor Road (4th Street) | Adjacent to Madinat Zayed Shopping Centre & gold souq, Abu Dhabi 72898, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi. We offer both business and weekend travelers the ultimate in deluxe facilities and accommodation. Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi is located off Electra Street in the heart of the Abu Dhabi business district and offers the following facilities: 192 rooms and suites, three food & beverage outlets (Viewz restaurant, Blendz cafe & Cristal Viewz Bar and grill) five spacious meeting rooms, executive lounge and a business center, underground parking, health club, indoor pool, beauty salon, treatment room, sauna and steam rooms. Close proximity to Abu Dhabi Mall and Madinat Zayed Shopping Centre. As one of very few hotels in the city, Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi offers its visitors free WIFI internet access, in addition to free parking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing