We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bright, friendly, relaxing hotel ….. value with verve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island
Ranked #40 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Bright, friendly, relaxing hotel ….. value with verve”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Stayed three nights, and left quite satisfied. To start with, I received an upgrade to a sea-view standard room (not much of a “sea”, but I welcomed the view of turquoise waters and a green tree-less golf course, giving me that “oasis in the desert” feeling).

My second floor room was bright and adequately lighted (the way I like it!), modern (cheery contemporary vibe) and well-appointed. There was lots of room to stretch out, even though I was given a room with two single beds rather than my preferred king bed (can’t complain, I was grateful for the upgraded view). The wavy carpet design may not please everyone, but I liked it …. and the severe dark browns of the headboard, furniture, carpet and closets were relieved by those funky waves and splashes of bright orange and green on wall murals.

Good stuff: Ample storage space in drawers and shelves ….
fluffy white robes for my use …
lots of complimentary water to drink (one huge bottle plus two smaller bottles, better than any hotel I’ve tried --- or is it a staple for hot desert days?) ….
lots of charging outlets for a variety of battery chargers ...
huge mirrors, at least 3 in the room itself ....
a nice little balcony (that I never got to use) ....
a new, still-polished feel to the whole room.
The bathroom was also well-lighted, clean and spacious. The round table under the corner lamp was perfect for laptop work and snacks. (What I missed: a stuffed, comfy armchair for lounging and TV watching.)

Less-than-good stuff: Too many protruding chair legs and sharp corners in room, so watch out ….
the trash can in the bathroom was needlessly tiny, with a tricky metal lid ….
plumbing sounds (tub draining, toilet flushing) are loud and distracting ….
The tub drain worked very, very slowly …
the blue rubber guest slippers were rough and itchy, and thus virtually useless (good thing I packed a pair of my own) ....
Supply of room amenities was inconsistent (only one tiny soap slab on day 1 … toothbrush/toothpaste supplied only on day 3 … no writing stationery provided on all 3 days, except for tiny little note pads), but I fault myself for not calling housekeeping to ask for more supplies.

Surprise treat: On night 3, I found an inviting snack selection arrayed on my round table --- cheese, olives, bread & tomatoes. Since I returned to my room close to midnight, the bread was a little bit stale (must have been there since the afternoon), but I nonetheless appreciated the unexpected snack.

Great stuff: Friendly staff, accommodating and prompt service everywhere (front desk, room service), especially at the Asymettri restaurant for breakfast. My congratulations to the Radisson Blu team! A special mention to Jocelyn D. (sales coordinator) and Ruby B. (events director) who went out of their way to help me and my colleagues in setting up a meeting room for our strategy sessions (alas, this was a business trip) and pampering us with food and special attention to our needs.

The breakfast buffet at Assymetri: I found the selection rather limited (compared to many other hotels in Asia), but all the basics were there, and the food was tasty enough. There was an Arabic mezze (did I spell that right?) selection I favored, and there were pancakes, French toast, a choice of sausages, a cheese tray and lots of bread available every day. (Rice was served only on my third day.) The food hall was airy, bright, inviting, with lots of tables to choose from (much better than the crowded, cramped breakfast buffet halls in some other hotels I’ve stayed in).

The hotel façade was undergoing repairs during my stay, so I had to put up with some unsightly fencing and scaffolding at the lobby entry area …. but, thankfully, there was no noise.

Final verdict: This is a very good hotel, perfectly decent for a business trip if you’re working in or around the Yas Island and Abu Dhabi airport area (as I was). I hope they set up a free shuttle service to the city center, which is quite far away. I used to think that Abu Dhabi was a bit parched (sorry) for good hotels at reasonable prices. Some years back, I recall paying a high price for average hotels like the Crowne Plaza (at Abu Dhabi city center) and the disappointing Khalidiya Hotel (it was a Sheraton hotel when I stayed there in 2007). The Radisson Blu gave my group a decent-value price (about USD80 per standard room), and for that we got comfortable rooms, great service in most aspects, and an overall enjoyable stay. Oasis, indeed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wingdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    635
    140
    45
    38
See reviews for
540
388
131
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
95 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza located in downtown Abu Dhabi during my last trip. That was a USD200++ a night affair for what was, all things considered, a fairly mediocre room (but a reasonably good breakfast). This time around, it was USD80 a night for a pretty good room and a reasonably good breakfast.

If I gave the Crowne Plaza 3-stars then, I guess I can't fairly give the Radisson the same rating, can I?

My room had -- two double beds; an IHome system that doubled as an I-device charger (always welcome); an LCD TV - with a good selection of channels; a mini-bar with 3 complimentary bottles of water (1 1 liter, 1 500ML and 1 500ML sparkling, a necessity in a very hot Abu Dhabi September :); a good sized closet with wooden hangers; and a balcony overlooking the pool and golf course. The airconditioning worked well and succeeded in keeping my room a nice 17C.

The design of the room was contemporary but, sigh, fairly nondescript. It did not have that little something that really stood out, except, possibly, for the textured wall on one side. I should also mention that I got a smoking room (evidenced by the ashtray on the side table). (I forgot to ask for a non-smoking one). While there was a noticeable smell of stale cigarette smoke when I first entered, it faded pretty quickly (or my nose just adapted pretty quickly).

The bath was a shower tub combination. Sigh. (For my money, if a hotel room can't have both a tub and a free standing shower, I'd rather have the free standing shower. But that's neither here nor there.) Water pressure was gorgeous! Absolutely brilliant! If only all hotels had the Radisson's water system. The water heater worked well, with water going from cold to hot fairly quickly. The towels were good (but not great). The toiletries on offer were from some house brand rather than a well known high-end brand. The bath had a throne (+ hose) and a bidet., not something you often find in hotels. The washbasin was a free-standing vessel mounted on the counter-top. There's a clothes line as well, if you need it. Finally, granite/marble counter-tops and floor.

I should mention the smell, though. I can't quite identify it but the bath had this smell near the toilet. It was faint but noticeable and, more importantly, it lingered.

Breakfast was okay. Good selection and mix of Arabic and Western foods. Plus the Filipino staff made sure that their fellow countrymen (and women) felt welcome.

Lobby was another contemporary affair and fairly spacious. The lighting fixture over the front desks was a nice touch.

Internet access's complimentary, was fairly speedy and had good coverage throughout the hotel.

A note on the location. As its name makes clear, the Radisson's located in Yas Island. If you're hoping for a downtown location this is not the hotel you should be looking at. Yas island does have its attractions though. However, I regret to say that I had no opportunity to explore the island, as I was in Abu Dhabi on business. Ferrari World, the F1 track, Ikea, and the marina, all so close yet so far.

In any case, all in all, considering that I paid only about USD80 a night, the hotel earns its 4 (okay, maybe a little bit less, say a 3.8) stars.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhTravelling_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 days, one night, to visit Ferrari World. The room faced the water and golf course, which provided a very nice view. The staff were very helpful and professional. The restaurants were world class, also with staff that were very helpful and professional. I will stay here again for the F1 event in November at Yas Marina Circuit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richlundeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We booked this as we needed a stopover hotel and found that they allowed 2 kids in the room free of charge using existing bedding! We have 2 kids but didnt want seperate rooms for cost and also like to know they are in the same room for safety reasons. We usually stay in Novotels and they state the same. Kids under 16 free. Usually when hotels state this, there is a sofa bed to pull down or put up bed available, so we presumed Radisson were the same. When we got to the room, there was one bed, and Radisson expect you to be able to sleep 2 adults and 2 teenagers in one bed!!!!!!! Sorry but I dont think so! When booking it online it asks ages of kids. It may be ok for 2 adults and 2 very small kids but certainly not teenagers. We were in a position where we had no option but to upgrade to a suite, at virtually double the cost. Even then one child slept on the sofa, and one on a pull up bed. This is not the fault of the hotel itself, but Radisson in general. I think they should make it more clear on their website that there are no sofabeds. in the rooms,or betterstill provide them! Apart from that, the hotel is good. Great views. Nice staff but a bit far from the town centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank litaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 20 hours as a stop over for our 4 & 2 year olds very efficient, friendly and accomodating staff. Easy location from the airport, nice and quiet, relaxing, a great pool area. staff around the pool ate to be commended for their care and diligence in looking out for the many children. Very comforting to have an extra eye looking out for the kids. Was going to book in the city on our return but will stay here again as we enjoyed our stay due to the facilites and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed in a standard room for 2 nights as a stop over to Europe. We arrived in the early hours of the morning and found the staff from the time we arrived until we left very friendly and very helpful. Our room was large and faced the racing circuit. The bathroom was large with a shower over the bath. There is free wifi in the rooms. The buffet breakfast is excellent but we found that if you arrived early as we did as we were heading to the airport the hot food was ready but cold but in saying that you can order eggs the way you like them. A lovely swimming pool area and well equiped gym. There is a free shuttle to the Abu Dhabi Mall which is about 20 minutes away, this gives you a chance to see more of Abu Dhabi and there is also some other shops across the road from the mall. Be aware of the men at the airport who state to be taxi drivers that charge 60 to 70 dirhams but they take you in their private cars, the taxi is 20 to 25 dirhams to the hotel. We look forward to staying for 4 nights on our home.

Room Tip: We had breakfast included in our rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Staying in this hotel for a weekend break for UAE residents is a good deal. This is an ideal location to escape from our busy lives as an expat in the country. Just situated next to Ferrari World and complex of other hotel brands. F&B service is nice and staff are quite friendly and approachable. Rooms are nice and spacious. If you book here, it will only make sense to spend your time within the island, not unless you want to dine or shop in the city, it takes about 30 minutes to drive.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DudesCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Abu Dhabi Yas Island
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island
0.1 mi away
Centro Yas Island Abu Dhabi by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yas Island Rotana
Yas Island Rotana
#50 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#1 of 7 in Yas Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Abu Dhabi Yas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island
Address: Radisson Blu Hotel Yas Island Yas Leisure Dr, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#27 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#29 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#37 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Yas Island, the Radisson Blu Hotel offers spectacular views of the sea, Yas Links Golf club and the Yas Marina Circuit. The hotel offers 397 guestrooms; Italian and International restaurants; Meetings & Events facilities to host from 10 to 445 persons and a Spa. Conveniently located 7 minutes from international airport, 15 minutes from Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Centre (ADNEC), Diplomatic Area; 20 minutes from City Centre and is 50 minutes drive from Dubai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island Hotel Yas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing