We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach with dirty water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
Ranked #20 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I booked hotel via internet after consideration of comments on tripadvisor.com.The hotel is beautiful , the rooms are large and comfortable, the staff helpful. But bad comments about dirty beach were proved, because of water from the construction site next to the hotel, so the water is muddy and on the coast you can see the foam, garbage and even condoms. Yes, every night locals in cars come to the beach next to the hotel, switch off the light .... and...
Also every weekend locals like to drive jet ski near beach of hotel.
Management of the hotel need to take action or refuse advertising as beach hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,842)
There are newer reviews for Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,475 - 1,481 of 2,842 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

The Good -------> Helpful staff, good pool and spa, design and location. Our room was >very nice & clean with balcony, in room equipments were good. Easy and >fast check in & out. Underground parking available for guest.


The Bad ------> No free internet in room or lobby (I hate this) In room food menu very expensive No dvd player or sound system.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khm833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPRayhaanByRotana, General Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2011

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for the positive points that you have listed concerning our facilities and services. Similarly, we do appreciate you mentioning some areas for improvement which we would carefully be looking into.

With regard to the free internet, we regret that we cannot, at this point, offer it for free. We offer this service at a minimum charge, based on the market trend in the other 5-star hotels in the city.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Khalidiya Palace, assuring you of our personalized service and best attention at all times.

Yours sincerely,


ALAIN KROPF
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Staying in Abu Dhabi is a great experience..Khalidiya Palace relly prove that fantastic service can be offer.

Horizon even is crowded and que in entrance but amazingly staff still can smile and offer assistance.

Great choice of Food in Horizon and please pass on my sincere comments to entire Food and Beverage team.

Will be back again.,

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPRayhaanByRotana, General Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience in Abu Dhabi and had a great stay at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan.

We are pleased to hear that you liked the food in Horizon and thank you for your commendation to the Food and Beverage Team. The entire team highly appreciates your wonderful feedback.

We look forward to being of continuous service to you, assuring you of our best attention at all times.


Yours sincerely,


ALAIN KROPF
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

ok hotel but not rotana is i know it.
staff pleasant and helpfull.
hotel clean.
food....well who can go wrong with breakfast,egg,sausage etc etc.but for all other meals, as many of the other holiday makers did and we were recommended to do ,eat next door at the hilton or the intercontinental.excellent food well worth the money.in my opinion,
if the head chef spent more time on his menu planning and less time talking to lower management im sure things could improve.
the beach..stay away from the area near the toilets as the building materials from when the hotel was built is still there.sharp bathroom tiles to cut feet etc,the height of laziness not clearing the beach for guests.
finally the hotel is well positioned and taxis are shockingly cheap so get out as much as possible and enjoy what abu dhabi has to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynnehutch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPRayhaanByRotana, General Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2011

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the hotel based on your recent stay with us.
We are glad to note of your positive comment about the hotel’s cleanliness and that you found our staff pleasant and helpful.

On the other hand, we regret to hear that our food was not up to your liking. Providing quality food is one of our major thrusts, hence we thank you for your comment as this would help us identify areas for improvement.

Furthermore, we have noted your comment about the beach and we apologize for the inconvenience. Your feedback has been carefully taken into consideration and measures will be taken to address this concern.

Once again, we do appreciate your valuable input and look forward to welcoming you back to Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan on your next visit to Abu Dhabi, trusting that we could deliver the expected service next time.

Yours sincerely,


ALAIN KROPF
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Right next to Emirates Palace (where we should have booked.),
- The beach isnt much of a beach. And t aceess you have to walk around the same way out and in each time. One entrance n exit only.
- There are only 2 restaurants in the establishment.
- The customer service is lacking.
- The service for the seafood restaurant is very slow. (1 hr to get starter another 40mins to get main)
- Not particulary baby friendly no baby changin on ground level.
- it is a DRY establishment (i.e does not servce alcohol) which IS NOT mentioned in any of the literature online or via the telephone booking.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank intl_butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPRayhaanByRotana, General Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2011

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

We would like to thank you for your comments posted on this website. We have taken up your feedback with all concerned members of our team, most especially those regarding our services, and rest assured that corrective measures will be done accordingly.

Your valuable input is very much appreciated as such feedback helps us a lot in our continuous effort to improve our services for the comfort of our guests.

With regard to your comment about the lack of information on the’ no-alcohol policy’ of the hotel in the online booking websites, we would like to confirm that this information is clearly stated in our own Rotana online booking system. However, if you have booked with some other online booking engine and did not find this information available in that website, may we kindly ask you which particular website did you use so that we could inform our travel partner accordingly? As for the telephone bookings, it is the standard for our Reservations Agents to provide this information to inquiring guests, most particularly the first time bookers.

Furthermore, aside from Horizon (All-Day Dining Restaurant) and The Beach Restaurant, we do have The Lounge which is an additional dining option that offers light breakfast and a large variety of snacks (bagels, wraps, salads, French pastry) and a selection of coffee and tea. Additionally, 24-hour Room Service is also available.

Moreover, please be informed that we do have a baby changing station in the Female Changing Room in the Recreation Area in the ground floor.

Once again, thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back, trusting that we could deliver the expected service on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,


ALAIN KROPF
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Mixed feelings about this hotel. New property, premium rooms are nice, classic rooms are a bit too claustrophobic. Must through in 1000 dirhams more for a room with a balcony, but it worth it. Fitness area is great, it has great potential when finished and fully opened. Breakfast is ok, but overcrowded. Pool is very good. Beach... As everywhere in Abu Dhabi, water is too stagnant and too salty to my standards. To make things worse, a desalination station dumps salt into sea about 10 meters away from the area fenced for hotel usage. Service can be great one day and awful on another. Really hard to understand why there are no consistency, Rooms with sea view and those with view on Emirates Palace are bound to face construction sites, but it is not as bad. Largest annoyance - clientele from former Soviet republics. Can be very annoying at times and brings memories of all-inclusive Turkish delights.
Upon arrival hotel had no room with balcony and additional bed as asked at reservation. It also had very little flexibility in finding alternative room as it was nearly fully booked.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agre4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPRayhaanByRotana, General Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank for taking the time to post your comments about our services and we would like to apologize if we have fallen short of your expectations on certain occasions.

It is our aim to constantly enhance our products and services in order to meet the satisfaction of our guests; hence your feedback is greatly appreciated as this would assist us in identifying areas for improvement.

With regard to your comment about the ‘desalination station dumping salt into sea’, we would like to inform you that the water being pumped back into the sea is simply sea water, with limestone contents dug out from the road works in the nearby area.

Thank you once again for your input and look forward to welcoming you back to Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan, assuring you of our personalized service and best attention at all times.

Yours sincerely,

ALAIN KROPF
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

A perfect combination of a central location in Abu Dhabi for business purpose and nice facilities for relaxing outdoor activities (pool and access to beach) alltogether. Would definietly come back to that hotel during a forthcoming trip to Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPRayhaanByRotana, General Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback of the hotel on this website. We would always love you welcome you back to Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan any time you are in Abu Dhabi, assuring you of our personalized service and best attention at all times.

Yours sincerely,

ALAIN KROPF
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.3 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#46 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,014 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#28 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#18 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,333 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana

Address: Corniche Road West | Sector W-32, Abu Dhabi 43500, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#16 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#16 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#20 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#26 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £73 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cast away in the turquoise waters of the Arabian Gulf Sea, Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan is the first property in the UAE under the new Brand mark Rayhaan Hotels & Resorts by Rotana, offering 443 splendid rooms and serviced apartments with their modern design complementing the values of the contemporary Arabian culture, in an alcoholic free environment. Situated in the prime area of Abu Dhabi over looking the beautiful shores of the Arabian Gulf, this fabulous city resort is only a 30 minutes drive from the Abu Dhabi International Airport and a few minutes away from various choices of the largest malls in the capital and point of cultural interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, TravelUp, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan By Rotana Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing