We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
Ranked #19 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and hospitality”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We enjoyed our time in the hotel , fantastic pool , excellent cleaned room ,the Arabic restaurant by the pool excellent food , attentive service from Ziyod and Nimantha the Manager Maher very friendly and attentive

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sim0ncina83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,427
    625
    145
    44
    28
See reviews for
855
760
94
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I just spent a very enjoyable 6 nights at this very smart Abu Dhabi Hotel situated opposite the Emirates Palace on the western end of the corniche.The rooms and food are nice the beach area is both quiet and clean and the service is very good.We had two rooms - one with a nice view of the pool/beach area and the other looking towards the Emirates palace - over a construction site. This did not bother us as we spent ;little time in the room but if we had wanted to spend time on the balcony during the day it would have been too noisy.
Once works are complete (2015?) then the view will be fine over the new presidential palace complex and We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel - just make sure you have a beach view.

Room Tip: View of Pool/ Beach are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank I H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here for 9 nts from 21st Nov till 30th Nov, when we first checked in we given a huge room but facing the Emirates Palace, with no Balcony, I had requested a room with a balcony, but the hotel seemed very busy they said at reception and no other rooms available. The next morning we woke and heard lots of construction going on outside, the worst issue was that the hot water was not very hot, and we spoke to reception a 3 occasions it did not seem to improve, so after some persuading at reception we managed to get moved to a room on the 3rd floor but it was overlooking the pool and had a balcony, slightly smaller room but all the same still very nice. The pool area was lovely, although found it a bit strange you had to walk through reception to get to the pool and beach. We never actually ate at the hotel as found it a bit too expensive. All in all a nice hotel and friendly staff, lovely rooms and pool and beach area, a a very impressive view looking upto to all the floors of the rooms in reception area. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goonerbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPRayhaanByRotana, General Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for staying at the Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana during your visit in Abu Dhabi and for sharing your feedback in Trip Advisor. Your wonderful comments about the hotel, friendly staff, lovely rooms and recreation facilities and lobby are truly appreciated.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have had due to the construction next to the hotel. Despite this being an external factor which is out of the hotel’s control, we still aim to ensure that you have a relaxing and treasured time with us. Therefore, our colleague in the reception has moved you to a different room ensuring your restful stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, trusting that we could provide you with the excellent service that you truly deserve.

Yours sincerely,


MARK TIMBRELL
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed for 10 days over Christmas. We chose this hotel because it seemed to have the nicest pool/beach areas and we really just wanted to go and chill. We read that it was a dry hotel although if you read between the lines on previous reviews, you will see that many people take their own duty free with them and they are quite discreet about having pre-dinner drinks in their rooms. There was no evidence of anybody abusing this.

We arrived after an overnight flight having used a taxi (cost 85 Dirhams, 65 for the return as the airport taxis include an initial 25 dirham charge as opposed to the usual 3.5 dirhams in town) - there are loads of taxis, no need to pre-book. Any other mode of transport from the airport would be just daft. It was all very easy.

The hotel has a couple of staff on meet and greet as soon as you walk through the door and we got a lovely welcome from Wendy. Our room wasn't ready as it was only 9am but the hotel was keen to get us into a room as soon as possible. They suggested that we went for a bite of breakfast which actually worked out fine as we were leaving at 6am on our final day, which would have been to early for breakfast. Unusually they have an arrangement where you can swap breakfast and have one on arrival in exchange for the one that you miss on departure.

Thankfully our room had been empty and it just needed preparing so we only had to wait an hour. We upgraded our room on arrival and struck a deal with them to reduce the upgrade cost and include Wi-Fi. As other reviewers have said, the Wi-Fi is very expensive at 90 dirhams (£15) per day. We wanted to Skype the family at Christmas and to download newspapers and books. If you do purchase Wi-Fi, the speed is impressive at around 35Mbps and you can attach up to 3 devices.

Our room was huge and it had a balcony overlooking the pool and the sea. We would definitely recommend that side of the hotel as it is away from any construction work (and there is a lot of it going on with hotels and sky scrapers springing up everywhere). That said, we did not hear any construction noise at all, whether in our room or by the pool side. We had worried with what previous reviewers had said but we didn't hear anyone complaining about noise at all.

The room had everything that we needed, lots of storage space, even a guest loo, a washer/dryer, an iron, ironing board and a microwave. Bottled water was replenished daily and our bedding seemed to be changed every alternate day. The bed was extremely comfortable, cleaning was efficient and very good. The room was usually done by the time we returned from breakfast (thank you Martin).

We opted for half board which is taken in the Horizon restaurant. You can swap dinner for lunch which is really useful if you want to eat out elsewhere in the evening - there are lots of high class restaurants in Abu Dhabi. The main problem with the restaurant is that it is far too small for a hotel of this size at times of high occupancy and people end up overflowing to tables in the lobby area which is cold, clinical and lacking in atmosphere. Also, there are not enough staff if you end up sitting in the lobby. We had to do this at breakfast a couple of times but then put our foot down and refused to eat in the lobby at dinner time. The hotel really has to sort this out. I understand that they are planning another restaurant but urgent action is required. The second restaurant "The Beach" is empty because the allowance given to half board guests at 60 dirhams each barely buys a starter. It is not rocket science, but by increasing the allowance, this would relieve pressure on the main restaurant.

The half board upgrade cost is actually very reasonable, particularly in comparison to what people have to pay if they use the restaurant and purchase meals individually. We just got sick of eating in the same crowded place every day for breakfast and dinner. There was an extensive buffet and the quality is pretty good but it does become repetitive. By the time you have walked round the buffet lifting lids on tureens and waiting for other people to serve themselves, what is on your plate is tepid by the time you get back to your table. Sorry, but this isn't our idea of dining in a 5 star hotel. This was the main let down - mind you, the cost is reasonable because eating out in Abu Dhabi can be very expensive.

The staff were all very polite and helpful and we would like to give a special mention to Dilip, out waiter in the restaurant. His smiling face and happy manner was a joy.

If you do want to eat out, the taxi fares are very cheap compared to the UK and bear in mind this hotel does require a taxi to almost everywhere apart from the Jumeirah hotel next door which is worth a visit. It is in the Etihad Towers, has several restaurants and Ray's Bar on the 62nd floor which is worth visiting for the views alone. There is even a Waitrose supermarket in the basement which comes as a surprise - and some of its prices are cheaper than in the UK.

There is a large Carrefoure supermarket at the Marina Mall which is only 5 minutes drive away at a cost of about £1.50 in a taxi. You just wouldn't walk it, not because of temperatures, more because of the logistics of crossing impressive multi-lane highways. For any of you thinking of going in the near future, the weather was beautiful and the holiday fulfilled the rest and relaxation that we were looking for. There isn't a lot to do locally and if you want a bit more nightlife, then Dubai might be a better option although it would be more expensive.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room with a balcony. The bigger rooms are higher up (floor 10 and above)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HolmfirthWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPRayhaanByRotana, General Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

We wish to thank you immensely for taking the time to convey your comments about your experience at the Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana. We appreciate your feedback as this helps us understand the areas we excel and need to strive for improvement upon.

We feel honored that you chose us to celebrate your Christmas holiday with us and it is indeed a pleasure to know that we have meet most of your requirements during your stay. Your wonderful feedback about the recreation facilities, internet speed, room facilities and the service and hospitality of our colleagues particularly to Wendy, Martin and Dilip have been shared to the whole team during our morning briefing. Receiving such compliments surely encourages all of us to do our best in providing exemplary guests’ service and treasured experiences to our valued guests.

Likewise, we are also glad to know that you have had a restful stay and the current construction work next to the hotel did not spoil your holiday.

Your constructive comments about the restaurant have been noted. As Horizon is the hotel's main restaurant, sometimes it gets busy with all the packages that come in the same time especially during full occupancy hence, we would like to ask for your understanding in this regard. Moreover, please be informed that we are currently in the process of finalizing our Horizon restaurant expansion and we are optimistic that this will improve our guests dining experience and will surely add value to their stay.

Once again we truly thank you for your time and feedback. We look forward to see you again at the Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana during your future travels to Abu Dhabi.

Yours sincerely,


MARK TIMBRELL
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My family (wife and 6 year old daughter) stayed between at the Khalidiya Palace between December 27th 2013 and January 1st 2014. Upon checking in we were told that although we arrived at 8am a room would not be available until 14.00, I know that this is standard for hotels but we had requested an early check in and as we had not slept on the flight we were all tired and in need of a bed. Then we were told that we had only booked a standard room therefore there was only the choice of a double bed or twin beds, being that there were 3 of us caused us a problem. When trying to explain this we were told that there were no extra beds and that we would have to pay for the upgrade. The options would be if a bed became available during the stay we could have it or someone would have to sleep on the floor. I stressed that as a 5 star hotel this was not acceptable. A dutch couple also had the same issue next to us with two kids. In fairness to the staff they did find a room and an additional bed at no extra cost by 9.30am. The service after this was impecable, the hotel is clean and the staff are courtious. The highlight for my daughter was the pool, it was warm and clean. The hotel although close to the Marina Mall and Emirates Palace is somewhat away from downtown and ~25 miles from Yas Island, we did not have a problem with this as we chose it as somewhere quiet but just be aware if you are looking to book. There is building work ongoing but we were facing the Emirates Palace on the 15th Floor and did not hear the work. We would recommend this hotel and return again as we had an excellent time in the end.

Room Tip: Either side of the hotel but above floor 12 is advisable. This is a dry hotel so no booze is availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANSBWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPRayhaanByRotana, General Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana and for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to know that we were able turn your not so good impression of the hotel upon arrival to an excellent experience during the course of your stay. Your wonderful compliments about the impeccable service, cleanliness of the hotel and courteous staff have been shared to the whole team. Moreover, we are as well glad to hear that your daughter had an enjoyable time at our pool.

On the other hand, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have had during check-in and please be informed that our official check-in time is 14:00hrs hence your rooms were not ready yet upon your arrival. Despite the fact that special requests such as extra bed and early check-in are subject to availability and the hotel was running high occupancy during the New Year period, we did our utmost to have your room ready by 9:30am and extra bed had also been provided to ensure that your family will have a comfortable and relaxing holiday with us.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, trusting that we could provide you with the excellent service that you truly deserve.

Yours sincerely,


MARK TIMBRELL
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We arrived on 23 Dec by night. The reception was very warm and friendly and didn't take long. In fact we were nervous a little bit as our communication with the hotel to have an extra bed was not going well and upon our arrival, the receptionist told us that extra beds are not available. The room was very nice viewing the gulf. The room facilities were modern and good. The guest service was very helpful and responsive for any request. Horizon is the whole day dining restaurant with buffet and Beach Restaurant is for dinner only set menu. Both restaurants are great in food and variety. The only challenge was in Horizon on breakfast. It was to ask for tea/coffee spoons. Every day we had to ask for them and we failed to figure out the reason behind their scarcity. The pool and beach are great places to relax and have the kids enjoying the time. We had only one accident of having our long chair taken away by a hotel attendant while we were in the pool without checking if it was used. Also, when asking for a chair we haven't got anything beyond a wide friendly smile with a promise to bring it back. The pool is very clean and there is a kids playing room where you could leave them under supervision. It was very good and friendly. Eventually we had the extra bed in the last night and was complimentary. The hotel is not far from many activities in down town Abu Dhabi and a walking distance from Marina Mall. In brief, we liked that Christmas holiday in the city and in the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms higher than the 10th floor and on the section of x14-x31 are very good as they view the gulf a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mansi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is an excellent hotel, with a very nice beach, huge rooms and a very good servis. The location is also great - in a walking distance from Marina Mall and the Corniche, but in a silent corner - you do not hear traffic all night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPRayhaanByRotana, General Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

We are pleased to read your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us and would like to thank you for sharing these on this website.

Your compliments about the hotel’s convenient location, huge rooms and good service are truly appreciated by the whole team.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back to the Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana during your future travels to Abu Dhabi!

Yours sincerely,


MARK TIMBRELL
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.3 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,094 reviews
0.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#38 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#21 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
9.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana

Property: Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
Address: Corniche Road West | Sector W-32, Abu Dhabi 43500, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#25 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cast away in the turquoise waters of the Arabian Gulf Sea, Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan is the first property in the UAE under the new Brand mark Rayhaan Hotels & Resorts by Rotana, offering 443 splendid rooms and serviced apartments with their modern design complementing the values of the contemporary Arabian culture, in an alcoholic free environment. Situated in the prime area of Abu Dhabi over looking the beautiful shores of the Arabian Gulf, this fabulous city resort is only a 30 minutes drive from the Abu Dhabi International Airport and a few minutes away from various choices of the largest malls in the capital and point of cultural interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan By Rotana Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing