We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Alcohol - Dry Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
Ranked #21 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Having just booked this hotel and paid in advance on a non-refundable basis......Just a word of warning to those looking for a cocktail or wine with your meal etc.....as the hotel website does not exactly make it clear and neither does the agent who takes your booking. This hotel is completely dry and does not serve alcohol.

Have prestay rated it as average due to this fact.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Heatherdonaldson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPRayhaanByRotana, General Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan and for taking the time to write to us your experience.

Your comment about the non-alcoholic environment of the hotel has been well noted and kindly be advised that this information is mentioned in our website as well as in other online channels. Furthermore, we would also like to take this opportunity to inform you that “Rayhaan” is a brand of Rotana which restores the values of the contemporary Arabian culture, hence we are not serving any kind of alcohol in the hotel and we hope that this would give you a clearer understanding of the matter. Nevertheless, we have created healthy options in replacement of this specific aspect and we are committed to delivering the highest standards of service in other areas.

Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel, trusting that we could provide you with the excellent service that you truly deserve.

Yours sincerely,


MARK TIMBRELL
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,588 - 1,594 of 3,673 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

One of the best resorts in Abu Dhabi.
We stayed here for two nights in deluxe room plus with balcony.
The hotel has the Biggest pool in Abu Dhabi with direct access to the beach.
Very nice resort & breakfast, little bed pricy if you decide to east in the hotels restaurants even if it’s snakes but the food very delicious .
Serving Hookah in the Main Beach Restaurant ,

Room Tip: High floor rooms with balcony facing pool & sea !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thamer-Awliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPRayhaanByRotana, General Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

I am pleased to read your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us and would like to thank you for sharing these on this website.

Thank you for giving us a perfect score on all the Trip Advisor’s criteria and for considering us as one of the best resorts in Abu Dhabi.

Your compliments for our recreation facilities and restaurants have been shared to the team and they were very pleased of your kind gesture. Moreover, we wish to kindly inform you that the prices we are offering in our restaurants are in line and competitive with the prices offered in other 5-star hotels in town.

Once again, thank you for your continued patronage of the Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana. We will be more than happy to welcome you many times over during your future travels to Abu Dhabi.

Yours sincerely,


MARK TIMBRELL
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself was great. Big pool area. Lots if sunbeds by the pool and on the small private beach. Jetskis, banana boats etc available for hire.
Staff were all excellent and very attentive. Health club had great facilities like squash courts, tennis court, table tennis table, sauna, steam room, hot tub, plunge pool etc although should have been advertised better.
Food wasn't bad. The prices aligned with that you'd expect in a 5 star hotel in Abu Dhabi.
Room size was good (was in a classic room). Good view of the golf and the pool. No balcony though which I wasn't aware of until I arrived.
My only complaint is I was on a no smoking floor although the room absolutely stunk of smoke. It was overpowering. Years worth of smoke in the carpets and curtains no doubt pre-none smoking. This has put me off coming back here. If you're a smoker, you won't even need to bring your cigarettes....

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank PaulLondonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPRayhaanByRotana, General Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to read that in general you have had a wonderful time in the hotel. Indeed, our beautiful fully equipped recreation facilities add additional benefits to our guests especially the ones coming for leisure.

On another note, we would like to apologize for the distinct smoke smell in the room and rest assured that your comment has been addressed to our Director of Housekeeping to rectify this issue and ascertain that all our rooms are smelling fresh at all times. Moreover, we would like to highlight that we always do our best in ensuring that the hotel’s smoking regulation are followed by our guests.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and hope that this isolated experience will not deter you from using our services again.

Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, trusting that we could provide you with the excellent service that you truly deserve.

Best regards,


MARK TIMBRELL
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have just returned from a 6 night stay at this hotel and I must say it was one of the best holidays we have had. We had originally booked a package holiday which included the Beach Rotana hotel, a 30min taxi ride away to be told on arrival that the swiming pool was under amitainence and could not be used, as a swimming pool was at the top of our list for this holiday we asked to be transfered to another hotel. After some discussions with the management they transfered us to the Khalidiya Palace, they outcome could not have been better, this beautiful hotel offers stunning interiors and a fabulous view of the Arabian Gulf.
Every employee was very friendly, welcoming and always had a smile, nothing was too much trouble for anyone. We were half board so enjoyed breakfast and evening meal in the Horizon buffet restaurant where the choice, quality and presentation of the food was second to none, compliments to all the chefs. I would recommend this hotel for a stay with no hesitation, we would definately be booking again. we would like to thank everyone there for an enjoyable stay but special thanks to Carl and raheem, Lovely, OJ and Nahbin to name but a few.

Stayed End Jan 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 595Jude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPRayhaanByRotana, General Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana and for taking the time to write to us your feedback.

We are glad you were happy with our facilities and services and that your have had a wonderful holiday during your six nights stay with us.

It is indeed with pleasure to know that and you found our team members to be very friendly, welcoming and smiling and your commendation for Carl, Rahim, Lovely, OJ, Nahbin and our chefs has been passed on to them. Moreover, thank you for your positive comments about the hotel in general.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you to the Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana for another memorable ‘Treasured Time.’

Best regards,


MARK TIMBRELL
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We booked directly with Khalidiya Palace and paid the necessary deposits. Our flight landed early in Dubai and despite requesting a large vehicle for collection from Dubai aiport to Abu Dhabi, we found ourselves (2 adults 2 children and 6 bags) trying to squash ourselves around the luggage in the car.
We were told at arrival that they were working to get our room ready but that they had a better option of a sea view and even bigger floor space than the room we had booked (a room with a main bedroom and 2 extra beds for children in lounge) with "sleeping alcove" for children. Travel weary, we decided to take it. Upon entering the room we discovered that there was no alcove, nor were there beds so effectively we were all sleeping in one large room. I challenged the reception staff about this and they then admitted that the didn't have our class of room available until after New Year and that there was nothing they could do about it.
The majority of guests seem to be Russians and obviously do not make a fuss about such things. When I finally demanded to see the Front of House Manager, she admitted that they had oversold the rooms and that in fact although we had booked and paid for our room, they had oversold. She then thought it appropriate to tell me that "you are not the only ones, this has happened to many others!".
Eventually after much protestation, she agreed to reduce the room rate and arranged 3 free dinners and Wi-Fi . so - please be cautious that you actually do get the room you paid for, squashing 2 adults and 2 pre adolescents into one room is not a great way to start your holiday. It then took a further 2 hours to secure a 2nd bed in the room : - we were told by the house keeping staff that we had to get authorization for a 2nd bed.
On the pluses: - very nice pools, very good food, small but nice beach for a few days max. Some rooms have kitchenettes - we had requested this : BUT not one knife/ fork/ glass or pot or pan so you need to work around this!!!! It is an alcohol free hotel which was not a problem. The balloons that were let down from the huge atrium on New Year's Eve was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room you paid for - they will oversell in High Season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genevieve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPRayhaanByRotana, General Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for choosing Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan for your recent stay in Abu Dhabi. We are certainly pleased to have you as our guest and welcome the comments that you provided.

We are very sorry to hear of your less than ideal experience at the hotel during your stay over the New Year period. Please be informed that due to some unexpected late check-outs and stay extensions during the period, the hotel was overbooked in some room categories. Though in such situations we usually upgrade our guests to a higher room categories, we regret that this option was not available during your stay as all our higher room categories were fully booked. Noting these inconveniences, our Front Office team has reduced the price of your room rate to the value of the room category that you were staying as well as providing you a complimentary dinner for 3 days and 2 extra beds in the room.

Moreover, with reference to the transportation arrangement, please note that a 7-seater car has been arranged for you and your family which we normally book for 2 adults and 2 children however; we regret if this was not comfortable enough to accommodate you and your luggage. Rest assured that this comment has been shared with our Front Office Director to ensure that our team reconfirms to the guest the type of car they are arranging to avoid such inconvenience.

With reference to your comment about the kitchen facilities, please be informed that the items are available and provided upon guests’ requests.

On another note, it is with pleasure to know that despite your negative experience upon check-in, you and your family still enjoyed our other hotel facilities such as the recreation, restaurant and the New Year’s countdown event.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to serve you again in the future, trusting that we will make it up to you on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,


MARK TIMBRELL
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

horrible room with noisy construction taking place outside, tv not working, , collateral materials dog-eared and scribbled on, glum stressed staff, shower temperature erratic, and 185 dirhams for a days slow internet access. Poor

4  Thank yusuf69
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KPRayhaanByRotana, General Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your comments.

We regret to hear that our services did not meet your expectations during your stay with us.
Your comment about the room, TV, collateral materials, colleague’s attitude, shower temperature and internet were noted and we are sorry for the inconvenience you have encountered. Let me take this opportunity to advise you that as of 7th January, we have upgraded our internet bandwidth in the guests’ rooms to 60 Mbs and we are one of the few hotels in Abu Dhabi providing this facility.

Likewise, we would like to seek for your understanding regarding the noise generated from the outside construction next to the hotel which is beyond our control. Kindly be informed that the construction of the Presidential Palace will soon not affect our guests as the area next to the hotel is nearing completion within one month and there will be beautiful landscaped gardens.

Moreover, as we take our guests feedback with utmost importance, we would appreciate if you can kindly send us more details of your stay such as the room number and date of your visit at Khalidiya.rayhaan@rotana.com so that we can take corrective actions to the points you have highlighted ensuring that all areas are as per our high standard of service.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to be given another chance to be of service to you in the future, trusting that we could provide you with a favorable stay next time.

Yours sincerely,


MARK TIMBRELL
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Very good hotel. Not far from shopping mall Marina mall where you can eat and shop. Heated outdoor pool. Good gym. Excellent breakfast!!! In front of the Emirates palace, what is very nice evening walk point with fountain. Free Wifi.
Right beside the hotel is building site. Every morning from 8 o’clock is loud noise.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aiva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#48 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,477 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#18 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
2,500 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#26 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4,063 reviews
16 mi away
Al Raha Beach Hotel
Al Raha Beach Hotel
#28 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana

Address: Corniche Road West | Sector W-32, Abu Dhabi 43500, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#13 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#16 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#26 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £65 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cast away in the turquoise waters of the Arabian Gulf Sea, Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan is the first property in the UAE under the new Brand mark Rayhaan Hotels & Resorts by Rotana, offering 443 splendid rooms and serviced apartments with their modern design complementing the values of the contemporary Arabian culture, in an alcoholic free environment. Situated in the prime area of Abu Dhabi over looking the beautiful shores of the Arabian Gulf, this fabulous city resort is only a 30 minutes drive from the Abu Dhabi International Airport and a few minutes away from various choices of the largest malls in the capital and point of cultural interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan By Rotana Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing