We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
Ranked #21 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

OK so here is what happened, We booked our room few days in advance and since me and my fiancee are celebrating our engagement we requested few very basic requests to ensure our stay will help us celebrate, so we gave them time to prepare! The guest service person on the phone was very rude, talked like he was doing me a favor! When we arrived the reception guy was also very rude, no eye contact most of the time and doesn't know anything about customer service!! Instead of honoring our requests and congratulating us, he said the hotel already give you a free stay so they can't give us anymore stuff!! My requests were not honored since I am not a paying guest basically!!! I paid to get vouchers!! I have dined at rotana world cup venues many times to win the competition, bringing friends with me and all and never been treated less then anyone else!! I have never felt so insulted checking into a hotel until I checked in, in yours!!

The worst part was when we called to complain about how we were treated and to complain that the room is a smoking room, we had asked for a non-smoking one since I am allergic. The lady on the phone was nice and said she will move us to another room that she had, she will just make the house keeping hurry up and add the very final cleaning touches to the room and she will move us as soon as possible. BUT WE WAITED MORE THE THREE hours in the SMOKING room!! Without an update we couldn't leave the room, we were hungry, didn't have breakfast nor lunch and kept coughing from the smell of smoke!! More then three hours to add final touches? It took the house keeping about 30 minutes to clean our room the next day!! At least they could of updated us so we can go have some food or carry on our day plans instead of being locked in a room waiting!! It ruined our day and wasted our plans!! Also WE KEPT calling for updates but everyone was too busy to update us, they kept on saying we will check and call back and they never did!! We also turned on the Make up room light and no one ever came to clean the room! Even though there was house keeping people cleaning room in-front and next to us! We had to call to request directly after the afternoon!!

I have stayed in Rotana property before and never have I ever been tried this bad, and been forgotten and disrespected like you did to me!! Train your staff better!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Diarmaid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPRayhaanByRotana, Executive Assistant Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

On behalf of the Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan team, I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have went through whilst staying with us and for not being able to make your engagement celebration a memorable experience. Please rest assured that the points you have highlighted were looked into and corrective actions will be implemented to resolve this.

We are always interested in our guests’ feedback that would allow us to improve our services and facilities hence, thank you very much for your input.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, trusting that we could provide you with the excellent service that you truly deserve.

Best regards,


NAJI ESTA
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,491 - 1,497 of 3,673 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

The nearby location is still under construction that detracts overall view of the hotel. Pool is superb but dining is a question mark.You will hear noise coming from the restaurants during breakfast time.But overall our Eid experience this year is better compared from last year,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Angelito C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPRayhaanByRotana, General Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your Eid experience on Trip Advisor and it was indeed our pleasure having you as our valued guest during your stay at the Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana.

We are delighted to know that you were pleased with our pool facility. On the other hand, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you have encountered due to the on-going construction next to the hotel which is beyond our control.

We appreciate your comment as this helps us in improving our services to the satisfaction of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, assuring you of our personalized service and best attention at all times.

Yours sincerely,


MARK TIMBRELL
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here to relax for a 3 day stopover in Abu Dhabi. Check-in was smooth, room was clean and spacious with modern amenities. Television reception suffered from a poor digital signal at times and wireless internet is very expensive which is odd when the Emirates palace across the road offers it for free even to non-guests. Room service food is good but not amazing. Beach is lovely with warm water and relaxing swimming. Very clean with lifeguards on duty. Breakfast buffet was easily 5 star with plenty of variety. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Aengus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPRayhaanByRotana, General Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

I am pleased to read your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us and would like to thank you for sharing these on this website.

Thank you for giving us an excellent rating on our facilities and services and for highlighting on your smooth check-in experience, clean room and recreation facility.

We have noted your comment about the poor TV reception and rest assured that your feedback is addressed to our Director of Information Technology to remedy this problem.

With regard to your comment about the internet, please be assured that what we are offering is in line with the current market trend in other 5 star hotels in the city. Our pricing is very competitive as we are providing a high speed internet access in our rooms at 60Mbs which is only offered by few hotels in town. Nonetheless, your feedback is noted and will be considered in case of any rate related adjustments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan, assuring you of our personalized service and best attention at all times.

Yours sincerely,


MARK TIMBRELL
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed there for a night and the experience was brilliant ! The staff at this hotel are by far the best we have met in all UAE - friendly and polite without being 'in your face' and nothing is too much trouble,particularly Jeric and Jed ( hope i got their names right) who were extremely polite and provided a great welcome and exceptional service.I would really commend their hospitality. Very impressive lobby area with engaging lighting and plenty of seating.Overall we loved the place. Glad that my partner enjoyed too.We booked a room for a night and got a very good room,in general they are spacious and clean.

If you are not sure at which hotel to stay at in AUH, you should choose the Khalidiya Palace, we had a loom at the other ones like "Hilton" and "Sheraton", but they make not such a nice and warm impression as the Khalidiya does.

To conclude now: It is definitely a great hotel. Highly recommendable!
Definitely going back.


Only a slight note,a faster check in & check out process could have been put in place

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahmfaz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPRayhaanByRotana, General Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your review about our hotel and for pointing out our impressive lobby interior, spacious and clean rooms, and the exemplary services provided by Jed and Jeric making your stay with us truly a wonderful experience.

We have taken note on your comment about the check-in and check-out procedure and we shall look into this immediately.

Thanks you again for taking the time to share your opinion on this platform and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana.

Yours sincerely,


MARK TIMBRELL
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I was visiting Abu Dhabi from LA and had a wonderful time at Khalidya Palace. The hotel was beautiful with its own private beach. The location was great. Our view from the room was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The man at the front desk Esteban went above and beyond to help me get back my ipad that I forgot at a previous hotel. Also, he gave wonderful recommendations for places to visit although he wasn't even the concierge. And at night, there is this wonderful restaurant called Beach Restaurant. It's a beautiful restaurant right by the beach! The young man who greeted us was very sweet and helpful. He recommended wonderful dishes that were delicious and showed the true taste of Middle Eastern food (something that we think we get in LA but oh that's so not true!). He was very sweet and hospitable making the restaurant even better than it already was. Despite the delicious food, their prices were very reasonable compared to other restaurants that are not even at a hotel! Seems like the place was locals favorite, which was only a good sign. Overall, I had a great time and would highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Naré M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPRayhaanByRotana, General Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for sharing your “Great Hotel and Restaurant” review following your recent stay with the Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana.

It's a real pleasure to be able read all your very wonderful comments and words and for complimenting on our recreation facilities, The Beach restaurant, and accommodating and friendly colleagues. Moreover, I was certainly pleased on how you were impressed with Esteban’s service and your praises was passed on to him.

On behalf of the entire team we all look forward to being able to welcome you back in the very near future for a repeat if not better experience.

Yours sincerely,


MARK TIMBRELL
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have been there couple of times and every time I go, I really enjoy my time.

The rooms are really neat and spacious. I am also really happy with the bed linen and pills provided, I find them very comfy.

The outdoor area (pool & beach) is really nice and well organised. It is well maintained and what I really like is that the pool gets into shade in the afternoon which makes it really comfortable to spend the day outside and chill.

I keep on recommending this place to my friends all the time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mihail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPRayhaanByRotana, General Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It is indeed our pleasure having you as a loyal guest of the Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana and we truly value your continuous patronage with us.

We are delighted to know that we were able to once more exceed your expectations during your stay with us this time.

Your review is testament to all our efforts in making sure that valuable guests like you will have a memorable stay in the hotel.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and for recommending us to your friends. We hope to welcome you and your family again as valued guests should you visit Abu Dhabi in the future.

Yours sincerely,


MARK TIMBRELL
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. Everyone was kind and professional. The pool was huge and clean. The room was perfect, with very comfortable bed, relax area and a nice bathroom with all the facilities. Thanks Moosa for the outstanding check out service!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Serena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPRayhaanByRotana, General Manager at Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are delighted to receive such motivating comments about our hotel from a satisfied guest.

Your compliments on our pool facility, room, bathroom facilities and colleagues’ professionalism, particularity Moosa’s outstanding check-out service make our team very proud and I will certainly share this with them. We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we exceeded your expectations.

We appreciate your patronage and support to the Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,


MARK TIMBRELL
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#48 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,475 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#18 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
2,499 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#26 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4,063 reviews
16 mi away
Al Raha Beach Hotel
Al Raha Beach Hotel
#28 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana

Address: Corniche Road West | Sector W-32, Abu Dhabi 43500, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#13 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#16 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#26 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £66 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cast away in the turquoise waters of the Arabian Gulf Sea, Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan is the first property in the UAE under the new Brand mark Rayhaan Hotels & Resorts by Rotana, offering 443 splendid rooms and serviced apartments with their modern design complementing the values of the contemporary Arabian culture, in an alcoholic free environment. Situated in the prime area of Abu Dhabi over looking the beautiful shores of the Arabian Gulf, this fabulous city resort is only a 30 minutes drive from the Abu Dhabi International Airport and a few minutes away from various choices of the largest malls in the capital and point of cultural interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan By Rotana Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing