We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite 5 star but not much below”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #35 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed at the Traders hotel for 2 nights in April while on business in Abu Dhabi. The Traders hotel is part of a complex consisting of the Traders, the (5 star) Shangri-La hotel and the Souk mall at the Qaryat Al Beri waterfront.

The excellent service starts with the bellhops welcoming quests to the hotel and continues seamlessly at the reception where the service at check-in and check-out was fantastic. The lobby is spacious and tastefully decorated with a small lobby bar serving drinks and food (complimentary coffee/tea in the morning) and a business center tucked away in the corner. the staff at the reception made sure to check with me before my check-out whether I would be needing assistance with my luggage, transportation, etc.

The room was quite large and thee bathroom was spacious and well lit. The wifi worked fine and there was also some international channels available on the television. I did not try the restaurant on the ground floor on my visit but the pool bar was quite nice in the evening and served also food and snacks. The gym seemed well equipped, I only used the treadmill though so cannot comment on it in detail.

All in all a great stay and would stay again as well as recommend to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haerski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,585)
There are newer reviews for Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,115 - 1,121 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

stayed there for almost a week while i was on a business trip in abu dhabi. the location is not so great, but the hotel is beautiful, rooms are nice spacious and very clean, great breakfast with live stations, very friendly and well experienced staff. our stay at traders was super although i didn't have much time to enjoy the facilities and the hotel itself, but i had chilling nights sitting at the beach that took away the stress of the day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shireen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed here for five days. Friendly staff and the beach-side bar/restaurant was a very relaxing place to start or end the day. It was also great to walk along the river path to the souk in the evening. My room was large and comfortable but the design was a little odd as it overlooked the internal reception area and so I had little or no natural light.
I'm not sure if I'd come here for a holiday (the pool for example was long and thin, great for laps but not for messing around in) but would definitely return if I come to AD for work again. Good value too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank namosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

If you don't mind having men being served in priority to you at reception so you don't get served at all, then you will probably find this hotel ok to stay. From my Western culture such sexual discriminative treatment is offensive and unacceptable. Even worse when I complained I ended up most upset as it was first denied and then claimed to be a mistake. This was a gutless reaction to deliberate sexist behaviour which they tried on (many women would not complain). The main offender just disappeared from reception and although the duty manager apologised the damage had been done. For a hotel that holds itself out as being international, business based and four star this is really shabby. My subsequent complaint was not well handled and it is clearly going to be swept under the rug so I have no doubt this treatment will continue.
I resent having part of my holiday ruined by this and immediately checked out and went to Dubai where I was much more appropriately treated.
It is a shame this happened as it totally negates the good efforts of other staff and any benefits of the hotel itself, but this prejudice and its handling was so bad that I will never use any Traders hotel ever again. Any female whether on business or otherwise would be advised to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SingSlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Great hotel, new and very modern situated next to the Souk and Shangri La Hotel... Located on a quiet, safe beach with everything you need within easy reach - plenty of comfy sun loungers, covered seating etc and delicious snacks and meals from the restaurant.

Only one restaurant but excellent choice at the souk which is only 5 minutes’ walk ( or if you are lazy you can get the free golf buggy).

Staff very friendly and very helpful. Booked a room with access to the Traders Club lounge which was good value for money. Our room was huge and spotless with a good sized balcony - Upgraded free to a sea-view lounge room.

Would definitely stay there again if in Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mo_Hafeji88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Traders Hotel has been my quick choice for last minute staycations... Including this one. It's location is great. It is outside the central district but the advantage is that it gives plenty of peace and quiet. It has a wonderful view of the Maqtaa Channel and the 3 bridges that connect Abu Dhabi island to the mainland.

Yes, it is the business hotel sister of Shangri-la. The difference in rates alone speaks volumes so I don't think it's fair to compare these two hotels, food and facilities-wise. In any case, guests here can simply hop a club car to Shangri-la and dine there and have it billed to your room. If you still don't like that, the adjacent Souk has several restaurants to choose from.

I've stayed in both and still prefer Traders Hotel. The staff are top notch: friendly and professional. In all of my stays here I've never experienced rudeness from any member of the staff. While not all of them were flawless, the attitude of the staff were faultless. The staff are beyond professional... They are personal.

I just had a birthday and I was pleasantly surprised to find a hand signed card from housekeeping... And a big slice of cake, too... And a greeting from club staff... That is service from the heart.

I know it sounds like a cliche but Traders Hotel is like a second home already

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank AmANomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Overall, a good hotel, with some shortcomings

What's Good

Clean modern rooms of good size with good quality king size bed, good quality linens and nice bathroom with walk in shower.

Beach (manmade) right outside the hotel rear entrance with nice sunloungers and good service from the beach attendants ( complimentary cold water and iced towels are a nice touch)

The hotel is next door to the Souk (a sort of modern day arabic themed shopping mall with lots of restaurants and bars) and only a brief walk or golf cart ride away from the Shangri La hotel which has further bars and restaurants (the Shangri La and Traders are owned by the same company and cross charging from Shangri La to your Traders room is possible)

Whats Not So Good

Rooms facing the beach are fine, but rooms facing the road overlook a dusty car park and a building site and unsuprisingly have no balcony. I asked 3 times to be relocated to a beach view room and each time there was an excuse - the reality as I found out is that I booked it through BA at a good rate and as such was lowest priority as far as the hotel was concerned

The gym is small and minimally air conditioned making it too hot to work out for more than 2O minutes or so

The pool is a drab rectangular affair adjacent to the road and car park - the other pools (four in total) belonging to the Shangri La and Shangri La residences are off limits to Traders guests - hence if you want to swim while staying at Traders, you need to go at a time when the sea water is neither too hot nor too cold - Mar - May typically.

The breakfast at Traders appears on the surface of it, to be a comprehensive buffet, but on closer inspection, it offers very little out of the ordinary and certainly nothing that would be worthy of significant praise - acceptable, but nothing to look forward to.

I would strongly recommend that all visitors inspect the beach bbq offerings before signing up - it is expensive for what you get - lots of overcooked cheap cuts of meat and very little by way of fish / crustaceans

Overall, you get what you pay for - if you can afford it, dont hesitate to check in to either the Shangri La or the Fairmont which are both a stones throw from Traders. Both are simply in a different class. If Traders matches your budget, you need not be disappointed so long as your expectations are not set too high.

Room Tip: Check out the evening buffet at the Shangri La - I am not someone who likes buffets, but the quality...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGsCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear TravelGsCambridge thank you for your review of our property. We appreciate your feedback and regret the fact that your experience was not as expected. Your critical feedback is key to assist us in improving our service. Please feel welcome to let us know if someday your travel plan brings you back to Abu Dhabi. We welcome the opportunity to recover your confidence in the hotel's service and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
9.9 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
11.0 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#44 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#24 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,449 reviews
11.2 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
9.7 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#10 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Between the bridges, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#26 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#34 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £58 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi is a contemporary luxury hotel in Abu Dhabi situated ten minutes' drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and city centre. The hotel features 301 well-appointed rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern and contemporary style. Rooms start at a spacious 32 square metres and for travellers requiring the highest levels of service and attention, the hotel also offers 93 Traders Club rooms and suites with a dedicated lounge on the 9th floor. Additional benefits of staying at Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi include the ease of access to a whole complex, including cross-signing privileges for CHI, the Spa at Shangri-La and Shangri-La operated restaurants and bars. All areas can be accessed by club cars, while just a short stroll away is the Abras (Arabic gondola) waterway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Prestigia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing