We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just book it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #34 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Great hotel, great staff. Everyone friendly & helpful. Room spotless. Lovely food in the hotel & a breakfast to die for.Great location right on private beach .The hotel has different "food themes" on some nights & these are worth trying.



  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank 285Alan287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,586)
There are newer reviews for Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

955 - 961 of 1,587 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

I had a nice stay at this hotel. This was my second visit. Rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is good. I had a nice stay at this hotel. This was my second visit. Rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Shiv_Shukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here for a week over New Year.

CHECK IN: Average. We brought our own bags in from the taxi although there were a number of members of staff standing there. We also waited quite a while to be served. However, the member of staff who checked us in what really very nice and remembered our name days later. We were told that check out was 12 noon but we had liaised with the hotel months previously to arrange a late check out as we had a very late flight - and a club room should allow you a 6PM check out anyway. The receptionist said that he would sort it out when the member of staff came in the next day and he did this........ After a few days the staff in the club lounge allowed us to check out as late as we wanted. This was VERY welcome as we were not planning on leaving for the airport until about 12 midnight.

ROOM: It was spotlessly clean with a nice balcony. The bathroom was huge but the room (club room) felt small. There was Wi-Fi in the room, big TV, free water, mini bar, plenty of storage space and the bed was big. As it was a special occasion, the staff left us roses and a cake. The room was well cleaned and housekeeping were very nice.

BEACH: It was always very busy (remember that it was new year) and a number of days we were unable to get a sun lounger, however the staff did bring out big massive bean bags which were very comfortable. On the 31st/1st, it was also difficult to get a space as the tables and stage were set up for the new years party. You have the option to sit on the grass rather than the sand which was good. It was very relaxing and most days, there was a lot of space between the beds. Ive read comments from other guests about jet skis and the noise etc - we saw a few but they were not noisy/a problem at all. You were given a cool box with complimentary water which the staff would replenish. The staff were very helpful at all times. The beach in my opinion was the best part of the hotel!! The weather has also 'sunbathable' every day.

POOL: it is very small and there isn't much space. We were unable to get a sun lounger at the pool every day.

AFYA RESTAURANT: We only had lunch here once. The food was good and reasonably priced but we did wait a long time for a menu and a long time to order and both times, had to stop staff and ask. It is nice to sit in the beach lounge at night.

CLUB LOUNGE: The club lounge was lovely, The staff were fantastic and by the second day knew us and our room number and they were extremely helpful. However, on a few occasions, we could not get a table/seat in the lounge and were given a seat in the 'family area' - a room next door with the bed taken out or in a meeting room in the lobby. They didn't have atmosphere of the lounge but the staff were attempting to solve the problem........ We did notice that there are about 40 seats in the lounge but 96 club rooms + suites!!

Breakfast was nice. You can choose from the buffet and also order from the menu (omelette, pancakes, eggs, etc).

afternoon: the selection wasn't particularly good compared with the other Traders/Shangri-La that we have stayed in: cake!

canapé time - This was between 6 and 8PM. The food was great; cheese, bread, salad, lasagne, chicken nuggets, spring rolls, prawns, sandwiches, wedges, mozzarella sticks, pasta and lots of other things that I cant remember. Drinks were tea/coffee/soft drinks/red wine/white wine/vodka/gin/whiskey...........

But..................... smoking is allowed in the club lounge and although it is only in one section, it does travel. At times, it was thick and made my eyes run/throat sore/clothes stink - we had to leave them on the balcony overnight. We had to leave twice due to this and we did speak to the staff who allowed us to sit in the 'family area' and found us a table at the opposite site of the lounge. We did take this up with the management and they have said that the situation will be discussed (which is good to know). We have never been in a Shangri-La/Traders that allows smoking in their lounge and we were shocked. We did suggest the room next door should be the smokers area.............

SOUK: The souk is out of the beach door and along to the left. There is a nice boardwalk and you can walk to the Shangri-La Residencies, the Souk and then the Shangri-La. Its lit at night and its a nice walk. The souk has a few shops, a supermarket and some restaurants.

LOCATION: The hotel is on the creek and faces the Ritz Carlton and the Mosque, and the Fairmont is next door. Its a quiet area but its what I was looking for. Its about 20 minutes into the centre of Abu Dhabi and about 1 hour 15 mins to the centre of Dubai. The hotel does a free shuttle (book at its busy) that goes to the Marina Mall, Mosque and a few other places. Taxis are readily available and very cheap.

NEW YEARS PARTY: There was a big dance floor/DJ and BBQ food. Free soft drinks/wine/beer. But, after reserving a table in November and re confirming/paying when we arrived, we waited 5 minutes to be given a table - they didn't have a table for us and suggested a sofa near the dance floor. This was fine but this was the last that we saw of the staff, no information was given on food/drink/the evening. We then realised that every other table had cutlery, wine, water and we sat for half an hour with no-one coming near us. This annoyed me as I felt that the hotel focussed on their large group of corporate guests and not their residents/golden circle members. Eventually, my husband had to get up and go in search of someone. He came back and we had been given another table straight away and the promise of a bottle of champagne - which never turned up. Im not really a fan of champagne anyway so I didn't bother chasing it up. The entertainment: dancing/dancers/fire eaters/DJ was good and at midnight there was fireworks along the creek.

Would I book it again? No. We also met other guests who ate/drank (for free) in the club room and then came down later on and joined in for free, paying only for drinks. As we paid about £70 each, I felt ripped off.

CHECK OUT: We were allowed to check out really late and this was FANTASTIC as we had been in Dubai all day and the shower and lie down was much appreciated. When we checked out, the reception manager came and saw us into our taxi, apologised for any trouble and arranged for a Shangri-La rep to meet us at the airport. This was a nice touch! The Shangri-La rep did meet us at the taxi and took our luggage through to check in and stayed with us, again this was nice.

When we arrived home, there was a nice email from the hotel which again impressed us.

Traders has great staff and is reasonably proceed for what you get.


WOULD WE STAY AGAIN.............?

Yes we would but I think that it would be outwith the peak New Year period.

We have booked up to visit Abu Dhabi again in April and enquired with the hotel (via their email that they sent us) about a club room , however once we started looking online, we could book the same room for £120 less on the Shangri-La website and much much less on other booking sites!!!!!!???????? After the hassle, and efforts that the staff made to appease us, this really didn't make me think that they appreciated our custom, so we declined the offer and we are staying in the Fairmont next door.

Room Tip: get a club room!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlasgowSiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during the festivities holidays and taking the time to share your feedback and observations through this review, GlasgowSiobhan. We are truly pleased to learn that you had a great time enjoying the weather at the beach and also other services and facilities in the hotel. On the other hand, I regret to learn about the a few service issues you encountered during your stay. Your feedback is key to assist us in determining where additional efforts will be directed in order to maintain the standard that you have come to expect from the Traders brand. Would you please be so kind as to contact us privately via email at arbindk.shrestha@shangri-la.com in order to learn in more detail about what happened and to ensure that your future stay with us will be seamless. In the interim, we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Nice Hotel. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Fact that it is on the same strip as the mother company Shangri-La is a bonus. You can also use all of the facilities there. The buffet there is to die for. Great view of the Mosque across the river. Alcohol is expensive but you have a great selection of Restaurants on this strip.

Room Tip: Get an upgrade
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night during the Golf tournament. There isn't one thing I could suggest to improve our experience!

The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful, they were prepared for our early check in and we were shown straight to our room, which was lovely and had a basket of fruit ready for our arrival.

Although we didn't go onto the beach, it was a little cold, we did venture along to the Shangri-la next door. On the way you'll find a good sized souk that has lots of little shops as well as restaurants including steak, sushi, lebanese etc. There is also a Starbucks.

We chose to dine in one of the Shangri-la's restaurants in the evening and the staff immediately arranged for a golf buggy to transport us.

I would definitely visit again, and would recommend this to couples, business people, and probably smaller families.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a beach view so if that's important to you then make sure you specify :)
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KikiPigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Abu Dhabi, KikiPigeon. Your kind compliments on the service, facilities and colleagues are very much appreciated and rest assured that it will be conveyed to the entire team. It was indeed a great pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My husband and 2 children stayed here for 2 nights on route to Denmark. The room was huge with a great set up for young kids. There was fresh fruit in our room which was much appreciated after a long flight and the check in process was a breeze. We were so tired when we arrived but were made to feel very comfortable. The concierge was bright and anticipated our needs. Lots of little extras like a cooler with chilled bottled water being provided free of charge as we sat watching the kids at the beach and in the pool. Traditional coffee and dates waiting at reception when we returned after sight seeing was great. Room service was quick and so yummy! Also it's not far from the airport which is important after a long flight.

Room Tip: I called the free number to arrange to have. The 2 kids in one room with us. They were happy to obl...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Warmest greetings to you and your loved ones from Traders Hotel, Abu Dhabi. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and observations through Trip Advisor, Kelly P. We are truly pleased to learn that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for highlighting the excellent service extended by the concierge and rooms service team and it will be my pleasure to pass your kind compliments to them personally. We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This modern trendy hotel is such a pleasure to stay.The location is nice, convenient near very good restaurants who are part of the Shangri-la group. The rooms are spacious, the beds very comfortable and the bathroom has a great shower. The hotel has a nice place to sit and to dine outside The lappool (salt water) has a nice temperature and a attentive poolboy who provides you with towels and a bottle of cold water. Everything is so well kept and the staff is very nice and helpfull. This hotels is worth the money. Another positive thing is the free Wifi (which should be in every hotel), the connection works everywhere and is fast. We really can recommand this place! We hope to come back in this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 124. Wonderful room, but no view, only on a parkinggarage It did not border us be...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
9.9 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
11.0 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#46 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#24 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,455 reviews
11.2 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
9.7 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#9 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Between the bridges, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#26 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#33 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £58 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi is a contemporary luxury hotel in Abu Dhabi situated ten minutes' drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and city centre. The hotel features 301 well-appointed rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern and contemporary style. Rooms start at a spacious 32 square metres and for travellers requiring the highest levels of service and attention, the hotel also offers 93 Traders Club rooms and suites with a dedicated lounge on the 9th floor. Additional benefits of staying at Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi include the ease of access to a whole complex, including cross-signing privileges for CHI, the Spa at Shangri-La and Shangri-La operated restaurants and bars. All areas can be accessed by club cars, while just a short stroll away is the Abras (Arabic gondola) waterway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing