We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groovy place, but the electronics and lighting in the rooms was painfully complicated.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Ranked #8 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We had booked a suite with an adjoining room, the size and amenities were perfect but the fancy light switches were painfull. After four Nights we still couldn't work them out. Skylite bar was groovy just needed another 500 people, service throughout was faultless, very frustrated that all the driving experiences at the circuit were cancelled over Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Dear RelaxingPerth

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us over the Festive period.

It's disappointing to read that you were unable to drive on the track during your time here.

We do hope you have the opportunity to do this in the future and hope to welcome you back to the Hotel again soon.

With Best Regards

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,566 - 2,572 of 3,291 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2011

Best hotel I've personally stayed in! Service is impecible, hot towels on arrival. Room was modern and superbly clean with every room offering a great view. Went for a curry in one of the restaurants which again was superb and fairly priced. Architecture is stunning and well worth a walk round the whole hotel.
Location may be an issue for some as Yas Island is an up and coming area.
Only negative is the lack of access to balcony, it appears the handle has been removed which was the case on both rooms. Will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanDavies5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2012

Dear DanDavies5

Thank you for posting your delightful comments on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to learn that your recent stay was an enjoyable one.

I am delighted to read that you had the opportunity to dine in one of our outlets.

Your comment regarding the balcony door has been noted and is currently being addressed. We are in the process of working on a solution to this probelm as we have been made aware that some of the mechanisms in these doors are indeed faulty. I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon.

With Best Regards

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed there for Xmas. Hotel is beautiful, rooms are spacious and comfortable and food is extensional and must say service in the restaurants is also OK compared to the rest. just the 5 cores meal was coming to fast and when you ask to slow down it don't make any differences. and the plates and cutlery where not clean just a shame for such a hotel.
the room was nice just a weird thing is that the balcony can not be opened and it was dirty the glass and floor not nice to see.
the rest of the service is just bad swimming pool. room service. car parking
was looking to stay hear on new year but i will change now

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Dear Ashley J

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am disappointed to read of your recent experience in the Hotel and welcome the opportunity to further discuss these challenges.

Kindly send your contact details to my attention at: yas.reservations@viceroyhotelsandresorts.com and I shall contact you directly.

With Best Regards

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

I visited yas hotel few days before it was renamed to be viceroy. I went with my husband and 2 children ages 2 and 5. We were immediately upgraded to an executive suite with a stunning view of the marina, not to mention the extremely spacious bathroom with jaccuzzi tub and shower is spacious and separate. The room was fully smart home controlled and the living room was huge. Kids loved it and we really had a wonderful time. Pool is very small but ok. Will definitely fo there again :)

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mommy-of-tooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2012

Dear Mommy-of-tooo

Thank you for posting your kind compliments on TripAdvisor.

I am grateful to learn that your recent stay was an enjoyable one and do hope you and your family return to stay with us again soon.

With Best Regards

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

UPSIDES: the hotel should be a destination in itself. The place is an architectural gem - great sense of design. Not just the oitside, which is stunning, but also much of the interior. the roof-top bar and pool are worth a visit just for the design.

Also excellent service. Any staff you pass greet you warmly, and they attend to everything without needing to basked (or tipped).

DOWNSIDES: Don't plan to sleep through teh night. There is constant air traffioc at nearby airport until about 3 or 4 am, so you will hear screeching jet engines until then. They should have given some attention to sound-proofing!

Also, hotel is out of the way from anything else, unless you're going to a Formula 1 race or some neaby event, it's a ways to get anywhere

Room Tip: Side facing AWAY from airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaulPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2012

Dear SaulPittsburgh

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that your recent stay was a pleasant one.

It is disappointing to read that you were unable to sleep due to the air traffic. We are indeed very close to the airport and on some occasions ( subject to the wind direction), airlines are re-directed over our Hotel. We do hope that with the opening of the new runway soon, such disturbances will be reduced.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.

With Best Regards

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Beside the futuristic architecture and sitting on the F1 track, I can't see why one would come to this hotel. Rooms are lifeless and short of the usual amenities and the executive lounge gives u only coffee and if u r with kids be ready to listen to them moaning about having nothing to do. Not a thrilling experience for such a hyped up hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Ka21

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor.

I am disappointed to learn that your recent stay did not meet your expectations and to learn that our Executive Lounge benefits were not communicated to your upon check in. Our Lounge offerings include a variety of beverages as well as host a complimentary Happy Hour in the evenings. (for guests staying in our Executive Rooms) as well as a selection of canapes and snacks. I have addressed this comment with the respective department.

We are currently in the process of reviewing our children’s activities in a bid to upgrade our services offered and hope that once complete you will consider returning with your family.

With Best Regards

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I have no idea what hotel, the 11 terrible raters were rating???

Positives:
From the moment we arrived, and until the time we departed, we were treated with the utmost of care. We arrived the 15th of December, a day before the Sade concert, they picked us up in a nice, clean, new BMW, and it was a quick (ten min) trip to the hotel. Once we arrived we were met by hotel staff that were very professional and attentive to your every need.

The check in was fast, simple and to the point. Our bags were taken to our room while we were checking in and after check in, we were shown to our room. Room. Big, very clean and a wonderful view of the track.. I am a motor head, so being directly on the track was a pure thrill for me and as soon as we entered our room, there was a crash right outside our balcony, no one was injured, THANK GOD!!

Huge, modern bathroom, with separate bath and shower, just great!! Room service was under 30 min, professional and the food was pretty good.

The television and lights were all controlled by the remote, and you have to be (I'm sorry to say) a bone head, not to be able to operate it, I mean, come on!! lol Same for the balcony door, simple and they even had instructions.

I don't understand something. If you don't like noise, why in the devil would you book a hotel sitting on a F1 track?? This hotel is great, but it would suit motor heads a bit more than those looking for total peace and quiet. They stop racing around 2200 every night and the noise is not THAT bad, but again, I'm a racing NUT, so I maybe a bit biased.

The breakfast was outstanding, no complaints there either, none whatsoever. All the complaints about the service?? Either they came at a bad time, the staff has been retrained, or the manager replaced. All I know is this, the service was just great, and before you go "we have stayed in many five star hotels...." !! So have I, so I know what good service looks like, and I have NO complaints from about theirs.

Negatives:
When we arrived to our room, there was a horrible smell in the hallway. They called housekeeping and in the morning it was not there, and it never entered the room or returned.

Inside the room, there are white tiles (not carpet)on the floor, not the most expensive tiles in the world, but not bad. But they are showing there age, many scratches and marks on them, but this is minor.

That's about it, hope it helps. Now to mention a few of the staff that were just outstanding.

There was a young African gentleman(from Cameroon) that met us at the airport. Very friendly and professional. Don't know his name, but he also met us at the buses after the concert, if that helps

Also a young lady named Belinda, from reception. Very helpful, friendly and a great sense of humor! Little things like that will keep customers coming back, no matter what folks say about this hotel! Matter of fact, I will be staying in this hotel (although it is not close) for the Abu Dhabi golf tournament at the end of Jan, have to see Tiger any chance you get!!

Stay here, you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlove81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear JLove81

Thank you for posting your wonderful compliments on TripAdvisor.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Your compliment have been shared amongst our colleagues and those mentioned have been recognised by the Management team for providing expceptional service.

With Best Regards

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
17.8 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#2 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,421 reviews
8.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
13.8 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,574 reviews
17.4 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,534 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi

Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#4 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £104 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Yas Island Abu Dhabi's premier hotel, Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi sets the standard for exceptional service throughout its 499 impeccable rooms and suites, 11 fantastic dining venues and lounges, and the luxurious ESPA at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi. Guests marvel at the incredible LED canopy that not only emits a concert of colour and shade but also embraces the exhilarating Yas Marina Formula 1™ Circuit, defining the Abu Dhabi hotel as a landmark across Yas Island and one of the world's most extraordinary destinations. Delight in the art of cuisine at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi. Choose from a colourful host of eateries, from the freshest seafood and sushi to rustic Italian, regional Indian cuisine, and a stylish array of bars and lounges. For fantastic cuisine throughout the day, we have the perfect Abu Dhabi dining spot for every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi Hotel Yas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing