We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different, but too noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Ranked #10 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We have stayed at every Hotel on Yas Island, Abu Dhabi at various times of the year. But we saved this one until last, because we thought it would be the best, unfortunately it wasn't. We had taken many photos of this hotel from afar and we both agreed it looked fabulous, especially at night. We promised ourselves that even though it was the most expensive hotel on Yas, we would stay there one day, and we did ! We booked an Excecutive Room which entitled us to a Luxury Room with access to the Excecutive Lounge and all the benefits that go with it. The Hotel is laid out in two buildings, The Main Building, which sits mainly over the F1 Yas Marina Circuit and The Marina Wing, which sits over the water and looks over the Marina. We were put in the Marina Wing, which was a very long and complicated (more later!) walk from Reception. We were told that the room has great views on to the Marina, but also that it faced a nearby Club and therefore there may be a LITTLE NOISE! Having travelled in two different lifts and walked down numerous corridors, we eventually arrived at our room. The room itself was fantastic and we were more than pleased with what we had booked. Because the Yas Viceroy has an overhanging roof, it obstructs what would have been a wonderful view of the Marina. Everything about the Hotel is Contemporary, most of the time it works, sometimes it doesn't. The roof, although it looks fantastic, is very often in the way, and, as we found out later, makes a lot of noise when the wind blows through it. The dining opportunities are limitless and the Staff are some of the most helpful we have ever come across. The food is very good and we certainly had no complaints there. The problems started after we went to bed on our first night !!!!! We were woken just before Midnight by music that was as if it was directly outside our window, this very very loud music from the Club continued and kept us awake until 4 in the morning. I phoned Reception demanding a move after Breakfast that morning. They apologised, said they would move us and offered us ear plugs in the mean time......I hung up! The following morning, after very little sleep, we were moved. Probably because they felt so guilty for putting us in that noisy room in the first place, they upgraded us to what they called The Grand Suite. This was an absolutely amazing room, the likes of which we had never seen before. Its such a shame we only had one night left of our two day break. All the bad things were forgotten and we were looking forward to our second and last day in our fabulous room with a view. This room was in the Main Building, which made things easier for us, the room in the Marina Wing was very difficult to find. We had to go on two lifts as certain lifts only went so far and then you had to find the correct lift to continue. That afternoon we decided to have a nap as we were very tired from a lack of sleep the night before. We had been asleep for about ten minutes and then it started !!! Racing Cars started to go round the Track, which was directly underneath us, this went on all afternoon, so no sleep for us again ! We took some fabulous photos that night and visited The Skylight Bar and the Rush Bar. Both were very contemporary in style and very enjoyable. The Skylight Bar, which is directly under the roof, is definitely worth a visit, but not a place to have something to eat, as the menu is quite limited. When we went to bed that night, because of the overhanging roof, the wind, which was quite strong that night, was making a very loud noise blowing through the roof, these made for another disturbed nights sleep. In summary. This is a very unusually designed contemporary Hotel, which has very many good things going for it. We imagine that during the week, when the club is closed and maybe no cars are driving round the track, it probably is a nice stay, but keep away at the weekend and DONT GET A ROOM AT THE BACK OF THE MARINA WING BUILDING !!!

Room Tip: Do not accept a room at the back of the Marina Wing facing the Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank couple057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

Dear couple057

Thank you for posting your comprehensive review on Trip Advisor. Your balanced feedback is very much appreciated.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the noise disturbance experienced during your stay and have taken the issue up with the night club next door.

Your compliments regarding to our guest rooms and culinary offerings have been shared amongst our colleagues

I do hope you return to stay with us again soon.

With Regards

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,630 - 2,636 of 3,383 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

Ok, this is the funkiest hotel from the outside. Inside it has all the the trendy fittings and perhaps the best roof top bar in the Middle East. That's where the good aspects end.

I was really disappointed on so many aspects of this hotel. I had high hopes that this was going to wow me in the same way as it wows from it's funky exterior. Checking in as the first sign this was not a well managed hotel. Staff were inexperienced and slow. The lobby is cold and unwelcoming. The rooms were nice but had fixtures that were not easy to use. For example, the. Phone has no details on how to reach room service. It took me. Day to find the hidden mini bar. The balcony door opened but would not close and required a miantence man with suction cups to close it. To top it off the hotel is located near the flight path so getting to sleep was not straight foward. The. Race track is great but try having a business meeting there!

It is worthy visiting but think twice about staying a long time or having a peaceful meeting.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GlobeTrotter9978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

Dear GlobeTrotter9978

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed Skylite, our rooftop bar however, disappointed to read your adverse comments regarding the challenges upon check in and your experience in our guest room.

Your shortcomings have been addressed and I am pleased to advise that we are currently working on a solution for a minor defect in some of our balcony doors.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

With Regards

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We have just returned from spending a week at Christmas at the Yas Viceroy Hotel. The hotel is a stunning feat of design and construction. We arrived on a night flight from Heathrow and it can be seen for miles.

We found the staff to be professional, courteous, friendly and efficient throughout our stay. They went above and beyond our expectations to make our holiday special. Our anniversary was perfect with flowers, wine, chocolates and rose petals.

Check in was swift and efficient as you would expect. We were taken straight up to the executive lounge for drinks and then up to a suite. The suite was stunning. The décor and furniture were cleverly simple. This is the same throughout the hotel. Have a look at the light fittings in the restaurants (the Italian restaurant is a variation on the theme of ’10 green bottles’).

The bathroom was huge with a walk in shower and a massive bath. The full height windows meant that there was a view of the track in each room. Could you imagine lying in the bath watching the Grand Prix! Like most guests, we struggled to close the windows once open!
The control panel for the lights and curtains was easy to operate. The information service on the TVs was great providing details on the hotel services and restaurants through to local tourist information and your bill.

Breakfast was varied and plentiful. The restaurant has a relaxed atmosphere with outside seating looking over the track.

During our stay we eat at the Italian (wonderful steak, fish and pizzas); the Indian (turkey biriyani on Christmas Day); the Starlite Bar (scrummy club sandwiches and chips); the pool bar (delicious salads) and the cake shop (divine Yas chocolate cake). The waiters were always keen to make a recommendation. Portions are very generous!

We also used the executive lounge for afternoon tea, canapés and drinks. At the early part of our stay, we routinely had the executive lounge to ourselves due to the low level of occupancy however the hotel got much busier towards the New Year. We found Ray in the Executive Lounge to be most entertaining and our glasses were never empty!

Service at the roof top pool is excellent and the area tended to be quiet. Sun worshippers will need to make a strategic selection of their sun bed as many are in the shade.

The concierge service in the Lobby was very helpful and had local tourist information loaded onto an Ipad. The Big Bus tour shuttle service stops at the hotel and tickets can be bought from the concierge. We went into Abu Dhabi several times using either the taxis at the hotel or the incredibly cheap bus service (taking approximately 35 minutes to reach the corniche area) which stops on the main road between the Yas and the other hotels.

Construction work is underway on the water park and the Mall which will add to the attractions on Yas Island.

Will we return to the Yas? Yes, I hope so however next time we would probably split our time between Yas and a city hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sal_Mark2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Sal_Mark

Thank you for posting your comprehensive review on Trip Advisor.

It is so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay.

I know that previous adverse comments had made you question your choice of Hotel therefore am extremely delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay.

I do hope you return to stay with us again soon.

With Best Regards

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Hello All,

I would like to share my comments with all, fist of all, please note that I work in travel industry and have seen/stays in thousand of hotels during my life, being very exigent and strict, very detailed focus, and I must say it was one of the most wonderful properties I have been accommodated.
Very quick check in and checkout, high level of amenities in the room, wonderful views, last technology and most helpful staff ever, great and quick room service as restaurants inside the hotel, definitely worth to pay the price they ask, all of you who is planning to visit Abu Dhabi, you won’t be disappointed, but highly surprised!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magdaleniek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Magdaleniek

Thank you for posting your kind compliments on Trip Advisor.

I am so pleased that your recent stay was an enjoyable one. Your appreciation for our service and culinary offerings have been shared amongst our colleagues.

I do hope you return to stay with us again soon.

With Best Regards

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Great hotel with awesome views of the Yas circuit. You will really like the ambience if you are into racing and Formula 1. The hotel room is very spaceous, very comfortable, great inroom entertainment systems and nice bathroom with all the required amenities. However, the hotel has a problem with their windows , so you may not be able to access your balcony. I came to know later from the hotel staff that this problem exists in most of the hotel rooms. Breakfast was fairly nice with a very good selection, however, lunch and dinner is queite limited in the main course selection but with plenty of appetizers and desserts options in the buffet. Durning the morning time, racing can be quiete noisy and may disturb your sleep if you plan to wake up late, and may be of an interruption if youre conducting a presentation in the hotel's business centre. Though i was on a business trip, I would definately recommend this hotel for family or friends liesure outings rather than for business trips.

Room Tip: Try to choose rooms in the marina building, where you get a nice view of the marina and the racing c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MetroTraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Metro Traveller 2011

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to read of your appreciation for the Hotels unique architecture and am delighted to know that our guest rooms provided you with comfort during your stay.

I would like to thank you for your kind recommendation to our readers and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With Best Regards

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed there for 10 days over the new year. The service from all the staff was absolutely fantastic.Nothing was too much trouble and they were always looking to make sure you were well looked after, very attentive. We dined in the origin restaurant and mentioned to the manager on our first night that there was not a lot of choice for vegitarians, the chef made us some pasta which was absolutely delicious! Every night throughout our stay, the chef made us a special meal. We stayed in one of the executive rooms so had access to the executive lounge, again, the staff were always making sure we were happy. Everywhere you went in the hotel, the staff were pleaseant, welcoming & helpful. The only minor problems we had was the door to the balcony was very difficault to open & I had to call reception on two seperate occassions to close it. It was a mission to open too! Also, the whole time we stayed, the hammam was not working which was a bit of a disappointment, but I did mention this to the manager & staff in the executive lounge and when it came to checking out, they allowed us to have a late (4pm) checkout as our flight wasn't till 2.35 am. We did have spa treatments, which were soooo relaxing and they also gave us 2 free salt rub treatment pouches as they knew we were a bit disappointed with the hammam not working. I would definately recommend a stay here & would definately go back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the executive room, 1244, the view was really good, we could see the marina & the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manvek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Manvek

Thank you for posting your delightful compliments on Trip Advisor.

Its wonderful to know you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With Best Regards

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed at the Yas Hotel for 2 nights as part of package that included tickets to one of the concerts at the Yas Arena.
Check in was quick and efficient, alas check out involved long queues. Additionally there was confusion over what was/was not included in the room rate... so suggest you double check both before and after you book!!!
The room was huge and very well equiped with a very comfortable huge king bed and the bathroom was in keeping with the modern theme of the whole hotel.
Dinner on both nights was excellent (we ate in both the Italian and Indian).
Breakfast was not as good, perhaps as the hotel was very busy.. top marks to the chefs cooking the eggs to order!!

A great place to stay if you want a break ... staff were busy but always friendly.. food in the restaurants was excellent.

Top Tip : Avoid a room overlooking the yacht club... as there was music coming from it that was so loud it woke us up at 3.00am!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilso83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Wilso83

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. I have shared your kind compliments with our colleagues.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

With Best Regards

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
17.8 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,481 reviews
8.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
13.8 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#2 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#4 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,651 reviews
17.4 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,588 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi

Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £92 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Yas Island Abu Dhabi's premier hotel, Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi sets the standard for exceptional service throughout its 499 impeccable rooms and suites, 11 fantastic dining venues and lounges, and the luxurious ESPA at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi. Guests marvel at the incredible LED canopy that not only emits a concert of colour and shade but also embraces the exhilarating Yas Marina Formula 1™ Circuit, defining the Abu Dhabi hotel as a landmark across Yas Island and one of the world's most extraordinary destinations. Delight in the art of cuisine at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi. Choose from a colourful host of eateries, from the freshest seafood and sushi to rustic Italian, regional Indian cuisine, and a stylish array of bars and lounges. For fantastic cuisine throughout the day, we have the perfect Abu Dhabi dining spot for every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi Hotel Yas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing