We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but problems....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Ranked #5 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but problems....”
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in January 2013 as recommended by Trailfinders. This iconic building is indeed a marvel, the rooms ultra- modern and impeccably clean, the staff helpful and the breakfast excellent but it's other issues that spoiled our visit. Above all, this hotel is very isolated from Abu Dhabi city which is some 8-9 miles away so you're totally reliant on taxis or a fairly expensive open top bus tour to escape.

The hotel is right in the middle of the F1 circuit so options for a stroll are virtually non-existent. There are no shops in the vicinity so you're a captive audience forced to eat and drink in the hotel itself. The marina looks inviting for a stroll but access is not possible.

On our first day, aircraft noise became tiresome with passenger jets passing 500' overhead on final approach to the International airport. Now I like aircraft, but this was every 3-4 minutes lasting into the night and resuming around 6am. Day 2 was better as the aircraft were taking off overhead so less noisy.

One bizarre feature is that the sliding door onto the room's balcony is sealed shut. The door handle is removed, the lock is disabled and large screws prevent it from being opened. It could be that debris, bottles or glasses were being chucked onto the F1 circuit, but crucially this feature ruins the enjoyment of the room and in my view compromises fire safety by denying guests an obvious escape route onto the balcony. So, once in the room, there's no fresh air or seat on the balcony. Shame.

If you visit Abu Dhabi for F1, to see Ferrari World, use the circuit for motorsports or need an overnight stay near the airport, then this will suit you. If you want to see Abu Dhabi up close as part of an extended vacation, then book something in the city itself.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Warrior151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear Warrior151,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your stay at the Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi.

I am grateful to know that our rooms, services and culinary offerings met with your expectations however disappointed to learn that the hotel was not in a convenient location for you.

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback and for choosing to stay at the Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

With Best Regards,

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,261
    579
    164
    54
    44
See reviews for
813
1,119
142
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

i specifically wrote this review to give credit to the staff of this hotel, most especially Mohammed, the evening shift Manager, i think, as well as another staff at the Concierge ( i forgot his name).
we got in at about 5am and despite the fact that check in starts at about 2pm, Mohammed not only checked us in, he even upgraded us to a very lovely suite. He recommended places we were interested in visiting and even make reservations at a restaurant we wanted to have dinner in.
The hotel itself was very lovely, you could stay in the hotel and thoroughly enjoy your stay without going to the main city. they have a very nice club, different restaurants and spa...
only slight issue was with the remote control, which controls almost everything from opening windows to switching on the lights. Sometimes you just want the manual light switch :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osar o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear osar o,

On behalf of all colleagues at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, I would like to thank you for your thoughtful and complimentary review.

I am delighted to know that your recent stay was a pleasurable one and that, Mohamed, our Night Manager assisted you in a professional and helpful manner.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With Best Regards,

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Quirky hotel on the Yas Marina Circuit. The room was very big with a really nice mini lounge area and bathroom. Saying that it was strange as there was no access to the balcony which would have made it even better. I called reception to be told 80% of the rooms had no access, someone else then told us that they took away the door handles during the Grand Prix and just haven't put them back yet!

Other negatives were that the room was dirty in places and there are planes SO close you can see in the cockpit, well not really but it sounded like that at midnight!! The pool on the top floor is good with big loungers but a bit unsafe for kids I would say. The 'baby pool' had steps leading up to it as does the main pool.

We ate at the Noodle Box which was great and the breakfast was fab. We have been to the Brunch a couple of times and believe its the best in Abu.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brisie_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Brisie_on_the_move,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your stay at the Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the shortcomings experienced during your stay and to ensure you that your comments have been shared with my team for immediate attention and action.

It’s a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your meal in Noodle Box and that our breakfast spread met with your expectations. Thank you for your kind compliments regarding our brunch, I am delighted to read such positive feedback.

Should you wish to return to stay at the Yas Viceroy in the future, kindly contact me personally as it would be my pleasure to assist in the reservation process to ensure your return stay is an enjoyable and memorable one.

With Best Regards,

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I took my 7 yr old to Ferrari world and we loved our stay at this hotel, staff were great. Room was one bedroom suite and very spacious, luckily we got upgraded to executive suite which was outstanding. I will go back again and the best experience was to see the racing cars going past while we were having breakfast, my son loved this hotel. I would prefer if hotel had free transport to Ferrari world, but since taxi was cheap so it wasn't a problem. food variety is perfect and many choices, staff are very helpful at all times. A must stay at this hotel. Buffet breakfast is spoilt for choices, we had buffet dinner as well, loved the food.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Shirley P,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your stay at the Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi.

I am delighted to read that you and your child had a delightful stay in the hotel and trust you had a fun time at Ferrari World!

Thank you for your kind compliments with regard to our food and services, I look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.

With Best Regards,

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The hotel is really nice.
We took a suite it was huge and beautiful, the view on Yas track amazing and service was good.
The bad points (mibnor issues) are that you always hear the planes passing over the hotel. In the room the fridge was not working, the Nespresso machine also. The AC is noisy and the TV used to turn off the sound out of nowhere. Too much technology kills it :)
Overall it was a great experience i loved it besides the minor issues and would definitely go back there

Room Tip: the suite 1234 is wow !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear jdh4,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your stay at the Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi.

I am delighted to read that your experience was a great one and would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the shortcomings experienced. Your comments have been passed on to the respective department heads for immediate attention and review.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With Best Regards,

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My visit was to go to the spa, which I have to say was a fantastic experience. We booked a package that included a lunch, massage, facial and pool access for 550 aed. This was very good value however please note that the roof top pool is directly under the flight path for the airport and is very loud. I wouldn't want to stay here but the Espa was great so I would recommend.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hktracy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear hktracy1,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to our spa (ESPA) .

I am delighted to read that your experience was a great one and would like to thank you for your kind recommendation to other readers.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another treatment again soon.

With Best Regards,

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This was the best hotel we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in many. It's star rating is truly earned. From start to finish this is a truly wonderful holiday experience. The level of customer service is outstanding. Each member of staff whether front of house or the team behind keeping the rooms spotless are so very pleasant, nothing is too much trouble. The Italian restaurant is fabulous. Islam the chef in the buffet restaurant is passionate about you enjoying every aspect of your food. The hotel here is run superbly and we could not find one member of staff who was 'having a bad day' which sadly seems to happen in European hotels. You truly feel as though you are the only guests in the hotel as that's how the people looking after you make you feel. Can't wait to go back - soon

Room Tip: We had a marina view which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shell543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYasHotel, General Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Shell543,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your stay at the Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi.

It’s a pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that Islam ensured your dining experience in Amici was a memorable one.

You kind compliments regarding our courteous colleagues and the standard of care received have been circulated and shared with our team.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, I look forward to welcoming you back
again soon.

With Best Regards,

Heiner Werdeling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
17.8 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,185 reviews
8.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
18.1 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
973 reviews
17.4 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,354 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi

Property: Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#4 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#4 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Yas Island Abu Dhabi's premier hotel, Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi sets the standard for exceptional service throughout its 499 impeccable rooms and suites, 11 fantastic dining venues and lounges, and the luxurious ESPA at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi. Guests marvel at the incredible LED canopy that not only emits a concert of colour and shade but also embraces the exhilarating Yas Marina Formula 1™ Circuit, defining the Abu Dhabi hotel as a landmark across Yas Island and one of the world's most extraordinary destinations. Delight in the art of cuisine at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi. Choose from a colourful host of eateries, from the freshest seafood and sushi to rustic Italian, regional Indian cuisine, and a stylish array of bars and lounges. For fantastic cuisine throughout the day, we have the perfect Abu Dhabi dining spot for every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi Hotel Yas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing