We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very special designed hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Ranked #4 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Grevena, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“a very special designed hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

The two main advantages of this hotel are the location (in the middle of the circuit) and its futuristic design.The room was spacious and comfortable, the service was satisfying but nothing special. The breakfast was ok. The reason that i did not give 5 points is that if you don't want to use the hotel facilities (restaurants, bars) you have to take a taxi or the yas express in order to go somewhere else (there is nothing close in walking distance) and the options for dining and drinking in yas island are medium to high priced.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tzepoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,133
    547
    160
    53
    45
See reviews for
751
1,070
129
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

we came once in that hotel for our mariage anniversary and it was not at all a good stay as everything went wrong at that moment (room, car, room services, hotel fully booked, resto .....all) .....we decided to come back for another occasion....

stupid of us ? not at all.... even if it is correct to say the hotel was not fully booked, but this time from the reception to the valet parking when we left, all was ok, the room (even if it was not the same standard than the first one), the pool, the resto, the services.... nothing bad to say this time... at all.... we enjoyed our stay and we for sure recommand the hotel for the ones who want quite moment...

juste 2 points to consider before going in that hotel :

1. dont go when it is fully booked
2. for the night, it is better to have hearplug as for some, with the airport closby, it can make some noise...which may disturb you in the night....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanpaulcalderan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here on a business trip. The hotel is good, clean and impressive. The room is very nice and luxurious. Staff are helpful. Location wise is great as it is near the airport where I am conducting my business.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allantanbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here for business trip to Abu Dhabi. Only 10/15 minute cab ride from Airport which cost around £4! When I arrived it was very early morning, maybe 2am. At check in there was only 1 person on reception who was already dealing with another check in, a bit disappointed on how long I had to wait to be seen, especially being so so tired. Finally check in and assisted with my cases and shown to room. Beautiful. Huge rooms with large beds and fabulously modern and clean. Lovely big balcony but view is slightly hindered by the paneling on exterior of hotel. Large, deep bath and lovely powerful hot walk in showers.Rooftop Pool and over 25s Bar are lovely. Slightly pricey, but what can you expect from a hotel like this? 1 small glass of orange juice cost me nearly £5. 3 plates of Tapas and a small cocktail was nearly £60 for 1 person. Take advantage of free shuttle bus to beach, really pretty. Good Gym with nice facilities and view. Great location and surrounding gardens. Returning to hotel again in 3 weeks :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JadeyNunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasViceroy, Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear JadeyNunn,

Thank you for writing a brief review on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities, despite the delay upon check-in. I am reviewing with with our Reception Manager to ensure adequate staffing overnight so that we can avoid such waiting times.

It does sound like you will be back soon and I am looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Oliver Bruns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baghdad, Iraq
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was our 5th stay at this hotel. Working in Baghdad, my layover (when in and out) is always Abu Dhabi. The Yas Viceroy is conveniently located, and has excellent pricing for really nice rooms. Luckily, I am never there during the time when it has been REALLY crowded, so it seems like the entire staff, from reception, to all the various bars and restaurants (all by the way, are excellent- and I will review each one separately). The architecture alone is incredibly creative, as is all the decor. There is a free shuttle service that goes to all the local attractions, and a cab is easily hailed if you need to get around that way as well. It is an excellent way to spend a night or 4, like we did the this time before we started our traveling to Mexico. All in all I would rate this as a 5 star, and I so very much appreciate the consistency and excellent customer service. I also like that I earn Etihad miles for our stay. It is our "go to" hotel when transiting the area.

Room Tip: I prefer the Marina side, but all of them are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

(Bryan Ferry)

We booked to spend Christmas week at the Yas Viceroy, it was to be our first Christmas 'away' although, as our son now lives in Abu Dhabi, we planned to spend some time with him.

The Yas Viceroy (formerly simply the Yas Hotel) is - and this is a phrase I try to avoid - iconic. Along with the Burj al Arab it's one of the most distinctive and recognisable hotels in the region, if not the world, particularly as it straddles the Abu Dhabi Formula One circuit.

Check in was business-like and efficient. This is effectively a business hotel rather than a family resort, so I'm not surprised to read comments about misbehaving children, the hotel isn't really designed for them.

Our room (2409) was in the 'Marina' wing which meant quite a trek, but the view from the room more than compensated. And we were doubly blessed that our view was not obscured by the hotel's distinctive mesh.

The rooms themselves are large and airy, featuring a huge king-size bed, sofa, desk, and large flat-screen TV that carries a wide range of international channels including BBC Prime, BBC News, Sky News, Discovery Channel and a selection of film channels.

Lights, TV and curtains are all controlled by a remote control unit.

The general ambiance of the hotel is that of an optimistic future, it's one of those true
"crikey, this is the future" moments. That's the future we were sold back in those pre 'Blade Runner' movies; think "2001 - A Space Odyssey" or "Logan's Run", all bright, shiny and electronic, if somewhat sterile.

We enjoyed breakfast each morning in 'Origins', an excellent buffet with as wide a selection of dishes as we've experienced anywhere. And a selection of fruit juices to intrigue any palate - I particularly enjoyed the Apple, Beetroot and Carrot juice!

On Boxing Day we were forced to breakfast in 'Amici' - the hotel's Italian restaurant - which was slightly less successful, but the staff coped well enough.

Christmas dinner was a delicious four-course meal in 'Amici', and most evenings were spent in the 'Skylite' bar on the roof of the main wing - beneath the shimmering LED mesh.

However, the 'Skylite' is effectively the hotel's only bar, which is a limitation, particularly on cooler evenings, despite the best efforts of the waiting staff with their blankets.

Mornings were spent by the 'adults only' pool atop the Marina Wing, a quiet haven, only disturbed by the occasional airliner and noise from the racetrack. Yes the hotel is close to the airport, but the flights average about ten an hour, and there are hardly any aircraft movements in the early hours of the morning.

Yas Island is home to the Marina (which in turn hosts five or six bars/restaurants), about five other hotels (each with their own bars) and the aforementioned race track. Beyond those facilities there is very little to do on Yas Island, and indeed compared to (say) Dubai, Abu Dhabi doesn't have much to offer the tourist. Yas Island is about half an hour from the city centre and any retail opportunities. That said, taxis are cheap and efficient. And there's a big 'Dubai style' mall scheduled to open on Yas Island sometime in 2014.

I've noticed that the hotel management read these reviews, so I'm going to make a suggestion here:

The Yas Viceroy is missing a major opportunity. I suggest that they could convert the 'Kazu' Japanese restaurant into a Motor Racing themed bar. 'Kazu' was empty every time I looked in.

The new bar could be decorated with discreet signed photographs of racing drivers, or better still photos of the drivers taken in that bar itself - like the 'Bar Americain' in Amsterdam.

Personally I would call the bar 'Turn 18' as it overlooks said corner of the circuit (I think). A wide selection of imported bottled beers would enhance the hotel's already excellent selection of draught world beers. One only has to witness the popularity of the 'Y Bar' in the nearby Rotana hotel to see what a profitable space could be created.

As a beer writer and a Formula One fan I would be happy to offer the hotel my consultancy services!

Room Tip: Marina wing has better views, and lower floors escape the mesh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobtheBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife and I spent 14 days in December on vacation at the Yas Viceroy . The food , the staff , the facilities were all first class particularly the quiet roof top pool for adults only.
Our suite was particularly luxurious and well worth the money. When we return to Abu Dhabi we will definitely stay at the Yas and revisit our friends on the staff.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
17.8 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
17.4 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#5 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
13.8 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#3 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
12.0 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
18.1 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#8 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi

Property: Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Address: Yas Island Leisure Drive, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#3 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#4 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Yas Island Abu Dhabi's premier hotel, Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi sets the standard for exceptional service throughout its 499 impeccable rooms and suites, 11 fantastic dining venues and lounges, and the luxurious ESPA at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi. Guests marvel at the incredible LED canopy that not only emits a concert of colour and shade but also embraces the exhilarating Yas Marina Formula 1™ Circuit, defining the Abu Dhabi hotel as a landmark across Yas Island and one of the world's most extraordinary destinations. Delight in the art of cuisine at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi. Choose from a colourful host of eateries, from the freshest seafood and sushi to rustic Italian, regional Indian cuisine, and a stylish array of bars and lounges. For fantastic cuisine throughout the day, we have the perfect Abu Dhabi dining spot for every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi Hotel Yas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing