We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uber cool hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Ranked #3 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Uber cool hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel is amazing- a real change from any other we've stayed in before. It is an architectural delight. My husband and I stayed here 2 nights for the Rolling Stones gig and I can't believe it didn't cost more than it did. The food was ok but to be honest I wasn't here just to eat. It was so exciting, the whole hotel was here for the same reason as us and the atmosphere was good. We walked to the marina for breakfast and lounged around the roof top pool. They even brought us iced flannels to cool ourselves down! The roof top pre Stones party was excellent. The hotel arranged a shuttle bus to get us to the arena and back- only problem was that it was a single small 30 seater and no way was it going to cope with hundreds of people getting to and from! Didn't plan that one very well!

Would love to go back again one day perhaps for the F1 though I doubt the room prices will be the same...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nb333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasViceroy, Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear nb333,

Thank you for your brief review about Yas Viceroy during the recent Rolling Stones Weekend on Yas Island.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comment about the shuttle bus being too small and we will improve this for future concerts.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver Bruns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,097
    543
    157
    52
    45
See reviews for
730
1,061
126
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
118 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Viceroy for 2 nights. The big event was the Rolling Stones concert! The hotel is amajzing. Rooms fabolous, very comfortable, spotlessly clean, awesome to see the formula 1 race track from the balcony. Food was of outstanding quality and variety. Truly a great experience.
The staff courteous and professional.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TatianaAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and i stayed here for a night on Valentine's Day.  It's both our first time to this hotel and we are impressed with the architecture design.  They incorporate almost everything from outside to the guestrooms you can see the race track concept.  I like the carpet design too.  Talking about the design, you can tell they spend so much on it that overwhelmed the entire exterior.  The cons are on the set-up. From the reception area, it is huge but you don't feel so satisfied on the arrangement and on how the concierge and the check-in are placed.  The library looks nice but it's close to the Orgins and when we got there i remember the loud music coming from that restaurant.  The access to the Marina building is a little confusing but that doesn't really bother us coz we're only there for a night.  The bridge going to the Marina building looks good too.  But it would be nice if they put a concierge there to attend the needs of their guest from the Marina building.
 
Room Tips:
We stayed at Marina guest room.  I like it there because our room has the view of the race track and the marina.  Go for the room that is not covered by the blinds from the hotels.  I don’t know what they call it; it’s the panels that lit up on night time.  It is kind of obstructing the view most especially if you want to take photos from your room.
 
If you are travelling with kids, better stay on the main building.  The family pool is nice for them.  I like it there.
 
The Adult pool is located at the Marina building.  We had club sandwich there and mojito.  It’s just boring coz it’s so quiet.  Well that’s why it’s named Quiet pool.  But it’s relaxing up there.  And the staffs are so helpful and nice.
 
Breakfast Tips:
We had our breakfast at the Origins.  They have good number of selections.  I suggest you sit outside.  Inside is a little crowded (as for our time when we were there).   The station where they prepare the omelet didn’t give us a good impression.  Our omelets and fried eggs came after 20 mins I think.  The table next to us got there late but I saw they had their eggs done before us and when I follow-up to the server he said ours are not yet done.  I suggest they add more chefs to cook the eggs.  So better wait for your eggs at their station it might help speed up.
 
Above all the cons that I have mentioned, I should say the service in this hotel is fantastic.  Anywhere you see a staff they greeted you with a smile.  They assist you on your needs.  We had a great stay on this hotel.  We enjoyed our valentine’s day in Yas Viceroy.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CeeCee1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasViceroy, Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear CeeCee1128,

Thank you very much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. In particular, your comments about our colleagues are much appreciated and I will most definitely share this with our team as a means of motivation.

I will look into your notes regarding the Egg station at breakfast in order to expedite this in future.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future and remain with kind regards,

Oliver Bruns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Amazing architecture, it is very exciting to see F1 races from the comfort of your roo, the food is great too. The spa is amazing!!!!!! The pool area is great too, very quiet. My only complain is that at the New Years eve party it was impossible to get a drink, the queue was silly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

For traditionalists who are more old world chic, the Viceroy was a break from the norm. However, a hotel that conjures up images of the Burj in Dubai or the Sydney opera house in terms of sheer difference it is worth a visit. Staying in room 2226 and looking out over a hairpin turn on the race track and adjacent to the marina, it takes some beating. The room has a 40 foot by 15 foot lounge and a good size modern bedroom and bathroom which is all connected to a control panel that opens and shuts curtains, controls temperature and lighting. The bathroom has a great oval bath and one of the best rain showers experienced. With good customer care and a choice of a dozen dining facilities the hotel is on our return list.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasViceroy, Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Mark A,

Thank you for sharing your brief thoughts on Yas Viceroy.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be back soon.

Kind regards,

Oliver Bruns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
209 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Yas Viceroy is an unusual hotel: located on Yas Island, about 20 minutes from the airport. It looks like something from a science fiction movie, and is built over the F1 circuit, so during racing events, it has a natural grandstand perch.

It has 2 wings, with the Marina wing built over the water which is populated by moored ultra-expensive yachts. Being located a distance away from Abu Dhabi city, it is not quite a business hotel or a resort hotel, and seems to be a showpiece associated with the F1 circuit. At night, a sort of giant net built over the hotel glows with colour, making the hotel look as though it’s been draped with a glimmering, silken sheet.

The hotel is very spacious and modern inside, and is a relative low-rise. My room was capacious and ultra-modern, with black marble floor, and a view of the marina outside from the floor-to-ceiling glass window. Pale wooden accents, a big TV, plenty of glass partitions for the bathroom make for an airy, spacious feel. The room felt more like a lounge than a room. Muted ceiling and spot lights impart a very relaxed, contemporary feel. In terms of facilities, nothing is lacking, and free wifi is hassle-free and rapid.

The bathroom is a very sleek affair, with stylish chromed fittings, lots of glass partitions that can be reconfigured for an open or closed concept.

Meals at the Origins restaurant on the ground floor are generally very good. Hotel staff throughout are solicitous, and the standard of service is good. Meals are expensive however, and other than a few restaurants at the nearby Yas Marina, Abu Dhabi city is a good 30 minutes away by taxi.

The Yas Viceroy is thus an ultramodern, high tech hotel which is self-contained - best for conventions, as it is a distance away from town, and has very limited entertainment options in the immediate vicinity.

Room Tip: Lower rooms don't have their view blocked by the giant cladding over the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I loved the shape of the building. Rooms are spacious, comfy beds, though small
Excellent food
Staff are polite
You can't help but get yourself wounded by the sharp edges in the closet!!
It is very good for business, not sure for leisure, except if you want to spend the night close to Ferrari & the water park, or you are planning to attend the F1 race, the hotel is in the middle of the track

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasViceroy, Manager at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Hany G,

Thank you very much for your brief review about Yas Viceroy.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comment about the sharp edges of our closet doors - it is true that they are somewhat sharp and I will see with the team if any adjustment can be made.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver Bruns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
17.8 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,953 reviews
13.9 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#2 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
17.4 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
8.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
18.1 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#9 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi

Property: Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Address: Yas Island Leisure Drive, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#3 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#4 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Yas Island Abu Dhabi's premier hotel, Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi sets the standard for exceptional service throughout its 499 impeccable rooms and suites, 11 fantastic dining venues and lounges, and the luxurious ESPA at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi. Guests marvel at the incredible LED canopy that not only emits a concert of colour and shade but also embraces the exhilarating Yas Marina Formula 1™ Circuit, defining the Abu Dhabi hotel as a landmark across Yas Island and one of the world's most extraordinary destinations. Delight in the art of cuisine at Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi. Choose from a colourful host of eateries, from the freshest seafood and sushi to rustic Italian, regional Indian cuisine, and a stylish array of bars and lounges. For fantastic cuisine throughout the day, we have the perfect Abu Dhabi dining spot for every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travelbag, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems and Destinology so you can book your Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi Hotel Yas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing