We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No special treatment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yas Island Rotana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yas Island Rotana
Ranked #49 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
every where
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No special treatment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

I have been a Rotana Rewards member for four years so I expected a first class experience. Unfortunately when we arrived at the hotel we were asked to sit and wait in order for the check-in desk. I see what the staff were trying to do, but when several customers don't listen and just go straight to the desk, that method doesn't work. We waited 30minutes to check-in as several selish tourists decided to not follow instructions.
When checking in I had requested an up grade on-line but there was never any mention of that. We had two rooms booked and we were instructed that only one was available (5:35pm) and the other had a light bulb being replaced so couldn't check in.....I thought check out was at 12pm, giving them ample time to prepare our room.
So we go upstairs to the one room that was available and were hit by the STENCH of stale cigarette smoke, that was great as my friend with us is 7 months pregnant.
The other room finaly became available at 6:30pm (1 hr later). Good size rooms, nice bathrooms so no complaints about that..but our room had a dirty sheet as per the picture. Maybe they were standing on the bed to change that lightbulb?! Apart from the dirty cover, the beds are very comfrtable.
Went for dinner in Y bar, reasonably priced just expect 40 minute wait for your food if semi busy. Also the portions of food really didn't meet my expectations. As a side 6 wedges thin, dry and tasteless. So left wanting more food.
Pool area is great, breakfast was better than any other Rotana we have been to (Normally I dont even think about going to breakfast at Rotanas becuase they are terrible).
No mention of late check out or any other special benefits for being a Rotana Member, so we left disatisfied with the service!!!!!
Think I might try to dig out my other hotel reward cards and choose another branded hotel next time.

Room Tip: Pool side for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burchonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasIslandRotana, Manager at Yas Island Rotana, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear burchonthemove,

Thank you very much for all your feedback regarding your last stay at Yas Island Rotana, and we certainly owe you a big apology for the shortfalls you experienced during your short visit.

Please know that we had duly noted your feedback and have rolled out concrete actions to address all the issues you have raised. We sincerely hope we are able to offer a better experience for you on a future occasion.

Until then, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly should you have any further concerns.

Our thanks and best regards,

Nadim El Zyr
Executive Assistant Manager
nadim.elzyr@rotana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    423
    101
    40
    33
See reviews for
370
284
64
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

After visiting five top Hotels in Abu Dhabi, we chose the Yas Island Rotana as the venue for a major 5 day event, accommodating over 100 international guests. The Hotel far exceeded our already high expectations and played a critically important role in enabling us to deliver a supremely successful event

The Service provided by all of the staff was second to none - absolutely faultless! The event organisation was complex, carried out over a period of several months and we were forced to make several key decisions and changes at the last minute. Without exception, ever staff member with whom we were in contact delivered the highest possible professional service. Ms Dima Baradhy (Director of Events) was simply outstanding! She and her team went far beyond the already high expectations we had to make sure that everything ran like clockwork. Despite our constraints and various changes, absolutely nothing was too much trouble for Dima and her colleagues.

The venue, accommodation and facilities are all of the very highest standard. The food was impeccable, in terms of both quality and variety. Many of our guests congratulated us on our choice of Hotel for the event and not one of them raised any issues whatsoever. With 100+ guests over 5 nights, this amounts to over 500 nights in the Hotel, so represents a highly significant sample size!

In summary, if you're looking for a Top Quality Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi, for a very reasonable price, look no further than that Yas Island Rotana. You won't be disappointed! Enjoy!

Room Tip: We booked 100 rooms for our party and not one complaint was received!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swiftsnatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasIslandRotana, Manager at Yas Island Rotana, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear FalconBirder,

Thank you very much for your kind review, we were honoured to host your event and guests and I am very happy that you were fully satisfied with Yas Island Rotana. Our objective has been met: to enable you to have the most successful event possible.

Your comments about Dima and the entire are very much appreciated, and I will certainly share with the kitchen and service team as well.

You can certainly expect the same exemplary service and responsiveness from our team for your next event, it will only be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Thank you and best regards,

Nadim El Zyr
Executive Assistant Manager
nadim.elzyr@rotana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

During the latest opportunity to see Sting live in concert in Abu Dhabi, we opted to stay at the Rotana Yas Island. Not only because we are Rotana Reward members (one of the best rewards programs out there) but also because they had a nice package offer: room incl breakfast and tickets and are close to the venue (15min walk - which is great after the concert when everybody else is lining up trying to catch a cab)
From the minute we arrived til the moment we left, we were always attended to quickly and always with a smile. Eventho there were plenty of check-ins at the same time and the hotel was very busy, the staff was really efficient.
While checking out, we were approached by guest service separately asking us about our stay and making sure all our requests were met.
The entire team is one of friendliest staff I have seen in a long time and the good package deals when thinking of going to concerts make it a great place to stay.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sabine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasIslandRotana, Manager at Yas Island Rotana, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Sabine L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel, we are so pleased to know that you had a memorable stay with us. There was indeed a nice buzz at the hotel for those who were lucky enough to go to the Sting concert!

I sincerely appreciate your compliments about our colleagues who always try their best to provide exceptional service. I will surely share your comments and praise with the team.

We hope to welcome you back soon, perhaps for another concert or to discover what Yas Island has to offer.

Thank you and best regards,

Nadim El Zyr
Executive Assistant Manager
nadim.elzyr@rotana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We chose this hotel due to its location in Yas Island, as we were going to visit Ferrari World theme park. Hence, it's a brand new hotel, as everything else in Yas island. The room was great, spotlessly clean, nice balcony with views to Ferrari world. Nice swimming pool but I didn't like the fact that there was a pool bar... i find this not hygienic at all. Great breakfast. Great service. You should also have a walk in the area... With nice gardens and we reached the Formula 1 circuit and Viceroy hotel, with a modern arquitecture.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheikhaCantabria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasIslandRotana, Manager at Yas Island Rotana, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear SheikhaCantabria,

It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us at Yas Island Rotana, thank you very much for choosing our hotels and for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your room, the breakfast, and the overall service, we are proud of the team which gives their very best day after day. Regarding the pool bar, your point is very well noted and I am sorry you found the current situation unhygienic.

When will you visit Yas Island Rotana again? Would be a pleasure to welcome you to discover our other facilities at the hotel as well as the newest attractions at Yas Island: the WaterWorld and the Yas Beach.

Thank you once again and kind regards,

Nadim El Zyr
Executive Assistant Manager
nadim.elzyr@rotana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

This is a nice modern hotel with good amenities, rooms are well fitted and the staff are pleasant. However if the hotel is full or here capacity due to the Yas Marina Race Track being
used the hotel takes on a very different feel. We had to wait 20mins for a table at breakfast, then found most of the hot food had gone, there were simply not enough staff. Checkout was the same 20mins to get the car back. So it is really a hotel of two stories, when there is not a race event on it is a great hotel at a good price, when there is an event on, they do not staff up and the whole place seems crowded and small

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wiutsng G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasIslandRotana, Manager at Yas Island Rotana, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Dear Wiutsng G,

We truly appreciate your support for Yas Island Rotana, in addition, we are pleased to receive your compliments about our guest rooms and our colleagues.

On the other hand, I am sorry that you have the impression that the staffing and quality level are compromised during the island's busy events. Please be assured that we will look into your points and implement improvements to our operation to ensure that you have a different impression the next time.

Thank you once again for your review, and hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Nadim El Zyr
Executive Assistant Manager
nadim.elzyr@rotana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed for one night prior to flying to Australia and it was the noisiest experience in a hotel I have ever had. The race track in front of the hotel started up around 6pm which initially was very exciting and interesting to watch from our balcony but soon grew to be a huge annoyance by 10.30pm when I finally called reception to be advised the noise wouldn't end until 11.45pm.

Our room was a connecting room and we could hear the TV and laughter of the guests next door which was also very disturbing.

The regular planes overhead beacme the least of our concerns.

The room smelt like a smoking room although wasn't and the water pressure was poor.

We left the next day very tired.

I'm not sure if our noisy experience was a result of the location, the fact that our room faced the racetrack and was part of an interconnecting room set, or whether the sound proofing in the hotel is poor. I'm also not sure how frequently the racetrack is in use - maybe we just picked a bad night to stay.

On the plus side the pool looked great (we went to Yas Waterworld so didn't get a chance to actually swim in the pool) and the restaurants also looked great. We ended up having room service as we couldn't get down for dinner due to small child sleeping, and the Indian restaurant room service was excellent. Probably the best room service menu I have seen for ages.

Location-wise Yas Island is close to the airport and to Ferrari World and Yas Water World and all the hotels are located within walking distance to each other in a cluster.

Room Tip: Avoid balcony facing rooms unless you want to stay up late and enjoy formula 1 racing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelchickSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasIslandRotana, Manager at Yas Island Rotana, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Dear TravelchickSydney,

Thank you very much for choosing Yas Island Rotana and for sharing your experiences. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our room service menu, it is indeed the kitchen of our Indian restaurant, Rangoli, that prepared your room service dinner.

Meanwhile, it upsets us that your stay was not as comfortable as you would come to expect, I believe your stay coincided with the Ferrari Racing days which was indeed a long and noisy affair. In addition, it is unfortunate that the guests closeby were disturbing. Our only wish was to be informed by you and we would have tried our best to find a quieter alternative.

Regarding the smell and the water pressure, please accept our sincere apologies for that and we will certainly note for future reference.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Yas Island Rotana so you may discover our restaurants and pool area and to experience more of Yas Island's attractions. I am confident that you will find your next visit much more enjoyable.

With best regards,

Nadim El Zyr
Executive Assistant Manager
nadim.elzyr@rotana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights as a wedding anniversary treat and had we not dined in the Blue Grill restaraunt, we would have found it hard to fault this hotel. We were originally booked into a Premier room, however these rooms face the F1 race track at the Yas marina circuit and because there was a racing event on during our stay (which continued through until nearly midnight each night and is very noisy) we requested a change of room to the opposite side of the hotel (Plaza facing). Our request was dealt with immediatey and efficiently without any issues. Our classic room was a very good size, spotless and nicely presented. We had the buffet breakfast in the Choices restaraunt included in our stay and the food, while not spectacular was nice and the waiting staff were polite and helpful. On the night of our anniversary we decided to treat ourselves to dinner in the Blue Grill steak restaraunt. This is a very upmarket eatery and although the ambience and menu is impressive, we felt that the food and service did not match our expectations. We were waited on by too many different staff members - it seemed to be whoever was passing the table rather than an appointed staff member and our finished entree plates sat on the table during our entire main course. This, along with the fact that some of the steaks were not available, left us a little disappointed. In our opinion, these details are important when you are paying for a fine dining experience.

Room Tip: Do your research. If there is a track event on at the Marina and you want peace and quiet book a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ennyl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YasIslandRotana, Manager at Yas Island Rotana, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear ennyl3,

Thank you so much for the review and for choosing Rotana for your memorable moments.

It is good to know that you were well received by our Guest Services team and that you found the team responsive to your requests. Additionally, thank you for your compliments about our team at Choices Restaurant. With regards to Blue Grill, we are sorry for not providing the best possible experience and we will be looking into all the points your kindly raised and do the necessary.

We look forward to your return to Yas Island Rotana, until then best regards,

Nadim El Zyr
Executive Assistant Manager
nadim.elzyr@rotana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.0 mi away
Centro Yas Island Abu Dhabi by Rotana
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Abu Dhabi Yas Island
0.4 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#3 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Abu Dhabi Yas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yas Island Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yas Island Rotana

Property: Yas Island Rotana
Address: Yas Island Rotana Yas Leisure Dr | P.O. Box 131755, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#34 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#36 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#45 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Yas Island Rotana 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Travelbag and Odigeo so you can book your Yas Island Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yas Island Rotana Hotel Yas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing