We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money, hip spot in Abu Dhabi”
Review of Yas Island Rotana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yas Island Rotana
Ranked #47 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, UAE
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great value for money, hip spot in Abu Dhabi”
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Two years ago, the area was just plain sand
Today stand a multitude of hip and modern hotels on a small spot of the eyt to be completed, Yas island development off the main city of Abu Dhabi. The Rotana chain has been expanding rapidly and doing a great job at it : this hotel is smart inside-out and choices of colour palettes throughout adds a comfy touch to the mix
Rooms are spacious, modern, and quiet. Dining choices are endless with about 5 hotels to chose from at walking distance. Abu Dhabi is a 20 minutes, 6 lane highway stretch away and the nearby yas circuit and yet to open ferrari theme park are sure to keep these new hotels filled throughout the year
That said, the hotel still needs to work on its patchy service : this is a consistent weak point in this part of the world and I'm not talking on a politeness level, the staff is pretty competent at that, it's all about better communication skills and coordination. I have to say that my visit there was merely a month after they's opened and beleive that these teething problems (along with a free WIFI) would have been resolved by the time of the review.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choucrallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    556
    132
    54
    40
See reviews for
572
350
81
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We stayed in the Yas Island Rotana Hotel and felt that we would experience luxury at it's finest. Not so....
The service here is just horrible, there is no other way to describe it!
We waited 45 minutes for 2 beers and a rum and coke after a very long day of meetings and conferences. We received the pat "sorry" and they asked for our room numbers and then nothing.
We were in the hotel for FOUR days before they thought to stock our mini bar! NOTHING not even fresh water in there!
What a disappointment!
The bathrooms were amazing, BUT behind the toilets and bidet there was dirt and grime, and this is after ONLY four months of being opened!
These people need to realise that cheap inexperienced labour is NOT the right choice.
We had a meeting at the Meridien and the service difference was completely unbelievable! We could NOT believe it!
I also think there is something "not right" going on with the spa, as my massage was definitely NOT as professional as it should've been!
I actually cut it short and cancelled the additional 30 minutes of my 90 minute massage because of this behaviour.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skusderci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2009

Really enjoyed staying at this hotel. It is brand new and definately seems more five star then four star. Loved the room and the fab interior design throughout the hotel. There seemed to be a bit of an obsession about paying for things before you'd even used them (like a compulsary 'extras' bill at check-in with a refund at check-out if you don't spend it all) and there were a few hiccups with service but that is probably because the hotel has just opened. The pool is gorgeous but only gets the sun in the morning. It wasn't a problem for us at all being a 20 minute taxi ride from Abu Dhabi - in fact, it was nice to have some peace and quiet at the end of a day! The restaurants were all exceptional and the standard buffet breakfast or dinner needs to be seen to be believed - amazing! Overall a gorgeous hotel and I'd definately stay again!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wombatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Stayed 3 nights to watch Man City play the UAE team in a friendly match. The hotel was a new one and it was spotlessly clean and the entire team of staff were first class. It is just across the road from the grand prix stadium , but quite a way from the local beach. This is not a disadvantage because the swimming pool is great.....plenty of recliners and a huge gym for anybody keeping fit. The breakfast is enormous, an english or continental, and plenty of restaurants and bars to accommodate every taste. As you can imagine the prices are a bit high compared with UK, lager £3 a pint.....bulmers cidelr expensive £7 a large bottle. Also a trip to the Emerates Palace is a must , but beware, NO Shorts are allowed in the hotel..........

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank superblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.1 mi away
Centro Yas Island Abu Dhabi by Rotana
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Abu Dhabi Yas Island
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi - Yas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Abu Dhabi Yas Island
0.3 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Abu Dhabi Yas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yas Island Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yas Island Rotana

Property: Yas Island Rotana
Address: Golf Plaza, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#34 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#36 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#43 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Yas Island Rotana 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yas Island Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yas Island Rotana Hotel Yas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing