We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite stop in UAE”
Review of Aloft Abu Dhabi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Abu Dhabi
Ranked #52 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Aloft is my favorite stop when being in UAE. Didn’t count but probably stayed there about 15 times for 4 to 7 days since the opening 2 years ago.

Most appealing to me is the no-nonsense style of the hotel, no old fashioned luxury style over here with marble everywhere, red carpets, … which is than called “charming”. ;-).
Wherever you go in Middle East or Asia, hotels, both old and new, they all share this same artificial look and feel.
Not at Aloft, pure no-nonsense, functional style in the lobby, bar and rooms. On top of that a loungy roof-top bar/restaurant and a great poolside, a bit like in the designer hotels.

Unlike in the beginning, when at the bar and pool, sometimes there were only few people, you see that the place is becoming popular, which makes it more fun to have a drink.

Service is great, professionals at all levels, who really make you feel like Aloft is a bit of home.

For the fellow business travelers, one more thing: location is perfect, if, like me, you need to be a bit of everywhere in greater Abu Dhabi or even Al Ain and Dubai.

Room Tip: Ask or book a Splash room, view on the pool is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayWei, Director of Operations at Aloft Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2011

Hi there Bart V. Our honor in being your favorite place in the U.A.E.! It is really great to know that the trendy, hip lifestyle Aloft brand is becoming popular and that we can be an affordable hotel both giving first class service and being functional with a twist in design giving our new generation of travelers like you, exactly what they need to make their business stay successful. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best wishes! Rainer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

712 - 718 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

Upon arriving at the front of the hotel to park our car we sat in a que (the only one we experienced) for 20 minutes before we were asked if were guest of the hotel. Once this was confirmed we were told to leave the car and take everything we required out of the boot and leave it at the side of the road until somebody from the hotel was free to collect it. Not comfortable with leaving our possessions by the side of the road with nobody watching them we waited until we attracted the attention of staff who stayed with our luggage whilst we proceeded to reception for check in.

On arrival at reception we were told that there were no interconnecting rooms which we specifically requested as we were travelling with small children. After around a 40 minutes wait (with two tired toddlers and some seriously strong words) we were finally given interconnected rooms as per our original booking, but it was pointed out that we had to be upgraded to accommodate our party. We gratefully accepted, relived that we could finally end the wait and go to our rooms.

The rooms were smaller than we had expected for a four star hotel in Abu Dhabi but it did look as described on the website and thanks to our upgrade we also had enough room to put up our travel cot. However, a constantly leaking toilet in one of the rooms and a broken blind in the other did not make for a peaceful night’s sleep for anyone.

At the buffet breakfast my husband was welcomed and seated but after 5 minutes at the table he was told the buffet would close. When he inquired why they let him in if it was closing, staff apologised but insisted the restaurant would close.

Upon check out we called the concierge twice and waited for over 40 minutes before finally giving in and taking our own bags/beds/buggies to reception. We waited another 30 minutes to check out and another 15 minutes for the car to be returned.

All in all a very disappointing experience which we hope to never relive. We booked this hotel because we were visiting the exhibition centre and we have stayed at other starwood hotels in the past and our stay has been great. We were shocked about the length waiting times from a hotel that was not busy (on a Thursday night) and would hate to experience this hotel on a busier night.

We do not feel that we were given any consideration as a family travelling with small children and no help was provided to assist with luggage or the long waits. Although the staff were polite they were not empowered to actually help the guests particularly at breakfast and check in.

Unfortunately we will not be staying again and would never recommend this hotel to anyone, especially when other similar star rated hotels exist in the area and provide a much better service for a similar budget.

Room Tip: Check the blinds work as most of the rooms look onto the exhibition centre which is brightly lit all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrTyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayWei, Director of Operations at Aloft Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2011

Dear DrTyra. We firstly want apologize for causing such a frustration that you decided to specially open a Trip Advisor account to describe your unsatisfactory experience in our hotel. We accept that the described is an accumulation of unfortunate issues and in no way this represents the usual level of service our guests normally receive and also admire here in Trip Advisor. Obviously the delays in the valet parking, luggage service and check-in are unacceptable and should have never happened. Our colleague at the restaurant should have informed you about the opening time of the buffet immediately at the door. We have addressed your comments with the concerned managers and staff who were of course disappointed to learn about these comments however we all do know that there was a breakdown in service during the weekend you stayed with us. This is not to be understood as an excuse, but that Thursday was actually extremely busy due to a local wedding in the Exhibition Centre and the amount of unexpected arrivals and special requests during the evening time was something the team had not calculated, hence was not ready to tackle. Our sincere apologies once again for these inconveniences and for the technical defects in the room. I trust these were rectified immediately.
Further to the comments with the room size, our 38sqm rooms are actually way over the average of four star hotels and even some 5 star hotels in the U.A.E.
I really do hope that in general you might be able to consider giving us a chance to regain your trust so that you can experience what Aloft Abu Dhabi is really well known for and why almost all reviews on this web site praise our hotel. Please let me know if you can contact me as I would be delighted to meet you and discuss the ways to redress the whole image you have about us and ensure you have a great stay on your next visit. Thank you once again for taking the time in bringing this to our attention via Trip Advisor. Best wishes! Rainer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Reasonable vale for money. I like the coloured mood of the public areas. The restaurant and coffe nar serve good food. The roof bar is very good. The hotel is directly connected with the ADNEC Exhibition. Most of the clients are male groups. There is nothing exept the superluxurious Hyatt (opening now) in this area. you cannot walk out actually, it is a huge construction area.

Room Tip: high floor with view to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SerGioDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayWei, Director of Operations at Aloft Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2011

Good day SerGioDubai, a pleasure in receiving a review from a Senior Contributor. Thanks for the time dedicated also to our hotel. It's obviously great to read the very good comments from you such as the ambient and design in the public areas the good food + our excellent roof top lounge bar=Relax@12! As most of the hotels in Abu Dhabi, walking is difficult and to far from any major attraction. However a drive to Mushrif Mall (new and one of the biggest malls in the capital) or Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque is not more than 5 minutes in time. Driving to Ferrari World in Yas Island or to Al Forsan (multi activities resorts for children and adults) or the Abu Dhabi Golf Club is just 15 minutes away. As a matter of fact there is plenty to do in the area when having some time out of the Exhibition Centre business. Apologies for repeating this to all Trip Advisor followers nevertheless it is important to point out the above and also that a taxi journey to the nearby areas are in average 10aed (2 euros/2.7usd). Hope to have you soon staying again at Aloft Abu Dhabi, Best wishes! Rainer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Very disappointed with the service. We queued for long periods checking in, checking out, for help with the luggage and getting the car. Not what you expect in the UAE. We'd reserved adjoining rooms which they couldn't provide.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickuae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayWei, Director of Operations at Aloft Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Dear Nickuae, thank you for specially becoming a Trip Advisor member to right this review about us. Any constructive feedback we receive is really a gift to us. Although it is disappointing to read that we did not meet your service expectations it is important to know where to immediately tackle the issues as this is not the usual level of service we deliver here at Aloft. My sincere apologies about these four inconveniences that caused delays during your stay. I would be delighted if you could contact me so that we can understand all details and make all efforts to regain your trust in our hotel and have you back as soon as possible. We do not have a log of this kind of complain hence are unable to track your contact details. I look forward to receiving your call or e-mail and clarify this situation to your full satisfaction. Best wishes, Rainer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Hotel located opposite the ADNEC conference center - apart from that, there is nothing in the area. Large room, a bit basic, and set on VERY cold air conditioned (when you leave the room, the air conditioning starts up automatically at freezing levels - not very sustainable...); pool area is quite nice, bland and cheap in feeling reception area, the best thing is the rooftop bar.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayWei, Director of Operations at Aloft Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Hello jetssc, quick review but always good to have an input from a "Contributor" Trip Adivsor status member. Thank you for the excellent comments on our rooftop lounge bar and great to know you liked the pool. Now some copy paste is following here...but it's really important to point out that: a drive to Mushrif Mall (new and one of the biggest malls in the capital) or Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque is not more than 5 minutes in time. Driving to Ferrari World in Yas Island or to Al Forsan (multi activities resorts for children and adults) or the Abu Dhabi Golf Club is just 15 minutes away. As a matter of fact there is plenty to do in the area when having some time out of the Exhibition Centre business. Sorry to learn about the A/C, the system should be actually the other way around. When the key card is taken off the slot the A/C reduces its power and maintains a pleasant average temperature. We will find out which room is presenting this technical error. Please let me know when you plans bring you back to Abu Dhabi as we are sure we can correct the three dissatisfier comments and make your next reviews title much more than “average”. Would be great to meet you soon! Best wishes, Rainer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We spent 8 nights at the Aloft and found the overall experience ok. The pool area is very nice but often crowded with the usual towels on sunbeds frist thing in the morning, very irritating. There appeared to be a very high percentage of males using the pool area often in groups which we found a little odd in this country. The roof top bar/restaurant are excellent with great views. There is nothing to do in the area if you're not using the conference centre and the Hotel is surrounded by building work that starts early and goes on until very late. Our basisc room was good and was well serviced except fro our last day when it didn't get serviced at all! Taxis are plentiful and the journey to the centre varies depending on time/traffic which can be a nightmare. Lots of roadworks towards Marina Mall and the Corniche. We found the staff ok in general but some need further customer service training. I have seen references to Tues night invitations from the management team however, we didn't receive one. On our last day the pool area was taken over by a pool party (100dhm to get in)! We coudn't use the restaurant at MIa due to this event. The party started at 2pm and went on until 2am with very loud music throughout. As we were on the 5th floor (pool area level) we were disturbed throughout the night by noisy pool party guests. Not a great end to our experience. The entrance lobby is very confusing. You arrive at ground floor level and have to take a lift to the lobby where reception is. No assistance with cases offered on arrival or departure.

Room Tip: Nigth club on the 12th, pool party on the 5th. You decide!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derby349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayWei, Director of Operations at Aloft Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Hi Derby 349, good extensive review here, we really appreciate it! Glad to read that you enjoyed the overall experience and that you were keen on our pool and the roof top lounge bar design, style and its view. Brilliant that our staff met your expectations. We do regret you felt that some staff needed more training however we would be very interested in getting in touch with you to have more details as any improvement feedback is taken in our hotel as great opportunity to focus our efforts at the right place.
During your stay we had also a big group of known artists in house, who were rehearsing their show every afternoon and therefore visited the pool every morning until noon. The pool might have been a little busy during those times. Further to our area, I know I repeat myself from other reviews, but I have to points out that a drive to Mushrif Mall (new and one of the biggest malls in the capital) or Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque is not more than 5 minutes in time. Driving to Ferrari World in Yas Island or to Al Forsan (multi activities resorts for children and adults) or the Abu Dhabi Golf Club is just 15 minutes away. As a matter of fact there is plenty to do in the area when having some time out of the Exhibition Centre business. Although the development of Capital Centre next to us is big, the works are not to be heard at night time from the rooms. You are absolutely right that the entrance of the hotel is crossing with a few steps through the exhibition centre entrance, I hope the signage indication specially the huge Aloft sign on the glass elevator cover, helped bringing you to the lobby. It is also true that our luggage assistance is partially self service with airport type trolleys we provide, however the colleague at the door should ask if you prefer bell service and a porter would then immediately go down to the entrance to assist. Also and most obviously your room should have been serviced the last day just as good as the other days. My apologies for these two break downs in procedure. I was concerned to read about the pool party, as during winter time and due to the temperature our parties do not extend longer than 9pm. Indeed the party started at 2pm however it ended at 8:55 pm on the dot. I do understand that you were probably listening to the crowd leaving through the 5th floor however by 9:30pm it was absolutely quiet. Oh! we extend free of charge entrance to all our in house guests at every single pool party we host. I trust you were informed about this. Last but not least my apologies that you did not receive the invitation to our weekly guests cocktails as we would have been delighted to speak with you. Now that you know this, I hope you will be back to Aloft Abu Dhabi soon, and be able to make it on a cocktail Tuesday so we catch up and have a long chat together. Do let us know when you are planning to be back. We do hope it's soon, Best wishes! Rainer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I had great expectations for my business trip to Aloft.

I am often in Abu Dhabi and try to end my trips with a night at the Aloft rooftop bar. A stunning location featuring great views, cocktails and Japanese food.

However, I was quite disappointed by the hotel for the following reasons:

1. Not so good room service/expensive, low quality food: I ordered 9 nights out of 10 room service and was left disappointed with almost every choice of the menu.

2. The room was nice but not as clean as I expected.

3. The pool - amazing looking - is overcrowded.

4. Expensive dry cleaning (timely though).

5. Overall experience was not great... I understand their minimal vision but I think it's a bit too stretched. Very little extra service/perks.

Hope it helps to avoid someone else's disappointment.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyinRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayWei, Director of Operations at Aloft Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2011

Hi LadyLondoner, many thanks for taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor. I regret to read we didn't meet the big expectations you had on us and offer my apologies for this. It would be great if we could discuss the first two points in person or over the phone to understand better the details of your perception on the food and cleanliness. With regards to the pool, it is indeed a popular destination in Abu Dhabi, where hotel residents and non-residents socialize enjoying some great ambient in a chill-out and fresh atmosphere. In some hours of the day the pool might be busier than in others, however there is always enough space for a pleasant sun bathing or an invigorating swim. Further to our dry cleaning prices, we are actually below the average of other hotels here. And also the last point I would be keen on chatting about your vision on extra services/perks. I am confident that if we can share our views on this we will be able to offer you a complete new impression and service, meeting your expectations on your next stay with us. We all hope you give us a new chance to impress you with our services so that you can be part of the 92% of Trip Advisor reviewers who have scored us with EXCELLENT over these two years of operation of Aloft Abu Dhabi. Would be great if you could contact me as you know where to find me. Thanks in advance for this, Best wishes! Rainer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.9 mi away
Novotel Abu Dhabi Al Bustan
Novotel Abu Dhabi Al Bustan
#42 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Abu Dhabi Capital Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Capital Gate
Hyatt Capital Gate
#14 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Abu Dhabi
Holiday Inn Abu Dhabi
#3 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
894 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centro Capital Centre
Centro Capital Centre
#56 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Abu Dhabi

Address: Khaleed Al Arabi | (30th Street), Abu Dhabi 94943, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#41 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#47 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £43 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloft Abu Dhabi 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy breezy adventures await at Aloft Abu Dhabi, with free hotel-wide Wi-Fi for in-house guests, outdoor pool, loft-inspired rooms and ever abuzz bars & restaurants. Set in the state-of-the-art Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Centre, mere minutes from the airport and city sights. All rooms feature ultra-comfy signature beds, oversized spa showers, and plug & play connectivity stations to charge all your electronics and link to the 42” LCD TV to maximize work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing