We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #21 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
440 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Great location but disaster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Short stay. Marco Pierre White restaurant let us down very badly- the food never arrived. Tour arranged by the concierege was cancelled with the excuse of bad weather which never happened. Another tour - we were put on the wrong transport and had to sit it out at the Shangri La until the correct transport arrived. Perhaps we should have stayed there instead

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter_glazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Dear Mr. Peter Glazier,

Thank you for taking the time to share your concern.
I am unhappy to read of your not so pleasant stay with us. Whilst it seems some of our standards were not met please accept my sincere apology for the mishap in lapse of service. We do our very best to always strive for excellence and to enhance our guest experience.
I will have someone from our hotel contact you to discuss further.
Thank you,
Regards,

Henning Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,596
    448
    135
    49
    47
See reviews for
598
841
86
389
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
abu dhabi
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

brilliant hotel, extremely calm and peaceful. good food as well. frankie's is superb. marco pierre white grill is magnificent. the beach and pool are very good as well. 15 mins from the city but a great getaway. highly recommended for families.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gaurav797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

I have stayed in several Fairmonts but this one is just beautiful. The location is breathtaking with an excellent view of the grand Mosque. The pool as well as the beach are excellent and the service couldn't be better. The restaurants in the hotel were very good, with a great variety of food choices and once again excellent service. The rooms were exceptional and Farimont beds are the best in the world. It's as if you are sleeping on a cloud! The staff were extremely helpful and organized for us a great safari. If you are going to Abu Dhabi this is definitely one of the best choices.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elenilla2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on delivering high standards of service to our guests. We recieve many letters all the time in regards to our exceptional beds! I am delighted to hear that you also enjoyed them. I will be sure to pass along your great comments to all the departments.

Regards,
Henning Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

This hotel is one of the best hotels in Abu-Dhabi. I go to Abu-Dhabi so often and I’ve stayed in many hotels in AbuDhabi, however, lately I only stay in this Hotel. it is a bit far from the heart of the city. it takes you 10 to 15 minutes drive to the major attractions of the city such as the malls and the corniche.

being away from the city means less crowds and traffic jams which suits me well.

The hotel has a great view over the water. during my last stay I've stayed in room 421 and I liked it more than the previous rooms that I’ve stayed in. it has pool and sea view which was awesome. it is also not very close to the elevators therefore you can hardly here any noise.

I rooms are well decorated in a modern style. I loved the shower and bath box.

avoid staying in the rooms that on the far right side from the elevators, such as 461. although they are overlooking the sea however the concrete roof of short building is ruining the view.

All restaurants are great in terms of food and service but the service in the Lebanese restaurant (cedar lounge) was horrible. I felt so unwelcomed, the table was not prepared to receive guests and the terrace area was not clean.

Room Tip: 421 is the best room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hamad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Greetings from Bab Al Bahr,

Such feedback from our repeat guests are always welcomed and appreciated. The position of the hotel in Abu Dhabi is away from the crowds of the city but still close enough that a taxi can get you there in 15 minutes. We regret to hear about your experience at the Lebanese restaurant and will most definately follow up with them.
We look forward to having you back very soon,

Regards,
Henning Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

I would definitely recommend this hotel to stay. We had a two fantastic interconnecting creek view rooms which were to a very high standard. We opted for the half board option and the standard of food was excellent, especialy the sushi in the evening. We were very unfortunate to experience some bad and freaky weather, rain, thunder, overcast extremely windy which was a shame as the staff around the pool are so friendly and our special thanks go to Hans and Cinderella who were like a real life fairytale!. Yes would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank trees35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
200 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

We spent two nights at the Fairmontl while we broke our journey in Abu Dhabi. Having seen the potential of this hotel on TripAdvisor, we found a great rate via the Etihad website (Kuoni). Having landed at 06.30 am, we were very happy to be given our room straight away. We decided to pay a little extra for a creek view room, which proved to be money well spent. Rather than repeat much of what has been written in other reviews, suffice to say that the Fairmont ticked all the boxes. Since we were here to relax, we made a lot of use of the excellent pool and poolside area. Other highlights for us were the breakfasts and the professionalism and excellence of the service throughout the hotel. When service did seem to come under strain during a very busy Friday afternoon, it was good to note that the two minor issues we encountered were resolved quickly and courteously.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

Fairmont Bab Al Bahr hotel Abu Dhabi
Super in every aspect
The staff are so friendly they all made us so welcome. We had a deluxe Creek View room which was really spacious with great views. The hotel decor is very modern as is the bedroom, bed very comfy and our stay was very enjoyable. This hotel provides great staff, food accommodation we could not fault anything. Comparing it to similar hotels this is good value for money and we would certainly come back again to stay at the Fairmont on our next visit to Abu Dhabi

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PH&LH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.0 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
10.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#5 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
11.1 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
10.6 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#22 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Property: Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Address: Fairmont Bab al Bahr Rashid Bin Saeed Al Maktoum Rd, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing