We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Service, will be better as and when the Spa opens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #21 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Have stayed here several times. If your budget can stretch to it, stay in a Gold Room. Service on the Gold Floors is impecable - efficient, pleasant staff, who will greet you by name, remember your favourite tipple, and for whom nothing is too much trouble. The Gold Manager (Arnold Francisco) moved here from Dubai and had his staff delivering wonderful service from day one.
Poolside staff carry on this level of service. Italian Restaurant is very good and so is the cafe near reception. There are better restaurants if you venture into the city centre. City centre is about 30 minutes by taxi, which will cost you about 20 - 25 Dirhams each way.
Currently no spa (it has been coming soon for two years now) and the gyms (mens and ladies) are in villas at the bottom of the driveway - small but functional.
Best hotel for business and couples - not really oriented towards children as there is just the sea and pool for them to play in.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the Gold Floors with a creek side view - these have superb views of the Grand Mosq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strach_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,173 - 2,179 of 2,765 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

Stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of August and,overall, we had a very enjoyable time at the Fairmont Bab Al Bahr.
The hotel is located within a 15 minute drive of the airport on a lovely quiet creekside setting with a great view of the Grand Mosque. The only downside in terms of location is that the city centre is situated a good 20-25minute taxi drive away and there is very little to do in the immediate surroundings of the hotel.However,if your looking for a place away from the bustle of downtown Abu Dhabi,this is the place for you.
On arrival,we were immediately impressed by the modern facade and lobby.This is even more impressive when lit up at night time.
Check-in was very friendly and efficient.The staff were very polite and helpful throughout the stay and were a credit to the hotel.The free upgrade to a Grand Mosque facing room was a nice touch.
The room was very comfortable and spacious.We really enjoyed the bath and rainforest shower.The bowl of fruit at arrival was also greatly appreciated.
We would highly recommend the Iftar buffet available during Ramadan.Despite being a little bit expensive it was worth it for the quality and range of food available.
There were,however, a few negatives. In places, the hotel did resemble a building site.Work was constantly going on in the hallways,which resulted in us losing hot water for over an hour. More significantly,the hotel pool was closed for renovations.This was never mentioned at the time of booking.We expected a little bit better from a 5 star establishment. We did get to use a pool at a neighbouring villa and,due to very few people using the pool area it felt like we had a private pool. However,I imagine it would get a bit cramped if more people came to the villa pool which is rather small. The beautiful beach also made up for the lack of a large pool though.
Another small annoyance would be the lack of free WiFi. I do not feel it should be necessary to join the hotels President's Club in order to gain free internet connection.
All in all,we really enjoyed the hotel because of the excellent staff and rooms. Once all the renovations are finished,this will be a top class hotel with a wide range of facilities and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nacho82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Greetings from Bab Al Bahr,

Thank you for sending us your review and the concerns you had during your stay. I do aplogize for any inconvenience that the maintenance on our hotel caused you during your stay. I can assure you that your comments were addressed and being worked on.

Thank you,
Henning Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

from start to finish, the hotel and its staff delivered an exceptional standard of customer service! The hotel is sleek and modern and there cannot be many finer views from a sunbed than that over the creek and Grand Mosque! The rooms are huge and despite reports from previous reviewers that you can't get free wifi access in the rooms, you can IF you choose to join the Fairmont Presidents club which is easy to do online. By no means cheap, nevertheless, the food and drink were of top quality and a visit to the Chocolate cafe is an absolute must. Would recommend a visit to the Grand Mosque and a trip on the open top bus tour which really gave us a heads up on what was on offer in the city. Shopping Malls were great, but quite westernised which was a surprise. A super alternative to Dubai, much quieter though. A definite hit and we will return one day!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleBulgaria15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Arranged transfer and were greeted just after passport control by a very friendly member of hotel staff who assisted with bag collection and whisked us straight outside to a waiting car for the short trip to the hotel. Upon arrival taken straight to rooms where checkin formalities were completed. Greatly appreciated with 3 small children, all up the best and most hassle free arrival ever experienced. Free upgrade to rooms with amazing Mosque view. We had 2 connecting rooms and both were larger and very comfortable. Free water and fruit on arrival, nice amenities and a funky bath shower room.

Service throughout the hotel was outstanding from doormen to reception, waiters and chefs. We ate at Frankies which had a great kids menu but the Asian buffet was probably the highlight. Fantastic service, chef cooked fresh noodles for the kids, a brilliant selection overall with friendly service. Free chocolate for the kids from a kind gentleman at reception on check out. Overall the warmest and most efficient service I have had the pleasure of enjoying.

Now the but... the main swimming pool was closed for maintenance. I appreciate this has to be done sometime, but this was the peak of summer and very hot. One of the attractions of this hotel was the swimming pool for the kids. There was still a kids pool available but it was very, very small. Given this maintenance was clearly planned in advance I think it is very poor service that guests were only informed at checkin. Had the hotel had the courtesy to advise us at the time of booking we would have been able to weigh up our options. A discount or alternative offer on the rooms may have encouraged us to stay. as it is I would have chosen to stay elsewhere given full rate and lack of pool. Free wifi in the rooms would also be nice.

This is a world class hotel with some of the warmest and best staff in the world, such a shame they have been let down by the greed of senior management. Will certainly return given overall experience but be warned if you have a booking in the coming weeks.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caltortay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you sending us your concerns and I apologize for the pool being closed however maintenance was appertive. Everything is back up and running now and it would be a pleasure to see you back at the hotel so that you can experience the full services at Bab Al Bahr.

Thank you,
Henning Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Location: quite a long way out from the centre of Abu Dhabi, but a good location if you're driving in late from Dubai or arriving on a late-night / early morning flight.

Check-in experience: could be speedier but generally efficient and friendly.

Rooms: large rooms and trendy yet functional bathrooms with Miller Harris amenities. The main problem with the rooms are the floor-to-ceiling windows which sounds great in theory but less so in practice when you have extremely strong sunlight shining into your luxury greenhouse. Also, the internet speed is not great for a business hotel.

Service quality: good. If you can tear yourself away from room service, there's an excellent choice of restaurants in the hotel.

Surrounding area: not much other than the Shangri-la down the road, so it's all very well that they provide bottles of drinking water for you in your room.

Check-out experience: efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We will be sure to pass along your great comments to all our staff. We look forward to having you back again soon.

Regards,
Henning Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Overall, I qualified this hotel has an excellent, the attention, the people, cleanest, etc. The location is nice, close to the major Abu Dhabi Landmark.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eeernesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. We sincerely aplogise for the inconvenience caused by our pool closure. Trying to find the best time for this maintenance has been quite challenging and I understand your frustration. I appreciate you raising your concern on the childrens apparatuses and we have already addressed the safety issue.
We look forward to having you return to our hotel in the future.

Thank you,
Henning Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Advantages:
Fantasic location. Far from the busy city centre.

Service at its best. Staff were very attentive to my requests including early check-in and late check-out. I was supposed to be out at 12, but requested for 2pm which they gladly approved. They were very polite and accommodating.

Interior. Stepping in the hotel already makes you feel at home (and luxurious!) I am a huge fan of modern design and Fairmont certainly had the best lobby!


Disadvantages:
For some reason, my luggage was not delivered in my room promptly. Although when I requested for it, they did take it to my room immediately.

The swimming pool was closed due to renovation which obstructed a bit of the view.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deszapanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
11 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#2 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,127 reviews
4 mi away
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
10.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Address: | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £91 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing