We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cui Scene - Great Iftaar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #23 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cui Scene - Great Iftaar”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I took my wife out for her best Iftaar Experience at the Cui-Scene restaurant and it dint fall short a bit. We both loved the Indian food at the counter

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parvez S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Greetings from Bab Al Bahr,

Dear guest. Thank you for such an uplifting review of our hotel. We pride ourselves on turning moments into memories for our guests. I will make sure to pass along all your great comments to everyone you mentioned.
We look forward to having you back soon.

Thank you,
Henning Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,666
    464
    140
    50
    51
See reviews for
629
873
91
400
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The room in the Fairmont Hotel is the most beautiful that I have ever seen, outside of a museum. The decor is excellent, the beds comfy, the shower and bath area without peer. I was also very impressed by the in-room dining (Arabic Breakfast, Wellness Breakfast, and Pizza are the ones I tried), the thick juicy towels, and the rrobe and slippers.

I swam in the "creek" and enjoyed lying under the umbrellas at the side of the water. Wasn't strong enough to climb the "Iceberg" play feature, but still enjoyed it overall.

The main thing I have liked about this hotel is the service. The Business center employee, Mr. Gayan, the concierges (I think one is named Veronica), the room service people, the florist, the doormen who book the cab, everyone seems to treat you as though your happiness is their only need in the world.

Let me say a little more about the florist. The young man asked me whether I was going to the home of an Arab or a Westerner or some other nationality, because, he said, the different nationalities preferred different arrangements. Working with my choice of budget, he prepared a bouquet which was much appreciated by the local family I was to visit.

Also the concierge has been very valuable in booking extra services outside the hotel and in checking on times and locations of other events. I have stayed in "five star" hotels before, but have never experienced such clear and helpful treatment. This hotel would be my recommendation for people who like modern design and exquisite service.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the side facing the Sheikh Zayed mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Everytime I am going to the Fairmont Bab al Bahr, I am indeed looking forward to it. Not only is the friendliness of the valet parking staff amazing, but also the kindness of all the staff in that hotel.

Having been to Marco Pierre White steakhouse is just an indulgence. Frankies restaurant is a top of the range italian place to go to.

The breakfast in CuiScene is indeed to die for. Every time I stay in that hotel I am looking forward to it.

John Cordeaux (executive chef) is truly a genius, not only behind the stove but also in inspiring his team to what they are today.

That has been also the reason why we have chosen the Fairmont Bab al Bahr for our wedding in October. I hardly cant wait to show off with that hotel towards friends and families.

P.S. I love the scent when you enter the hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sascha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read your fantastic review. We do indeed have phenominal staff and we strive to deliver outstanding service. We are blessed to have an incrediable Executive Chef, like John. His culinary team deliver consistant exquisite service and food.

We look forward to seeing you for your wedding in October. Thank you for choosing us.

Kind regards,
Henning Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We booked the Fairmont for a business trip during Ramadan and were given an exceptionally attractive rate. Hence, value for money was outstanding. The hotel is relatively close to the airport, so keep in mind that it will take you about 30 mins to your downton meetings in Abu Dhabi. On the other side, the hotel is about the most comfortable you would find here (except if you go for golden ceilings....). large rooms, nice amenities, good quality food, very decent service and a nice fitness room make this an excellent choice. Noise insulation is also excellent. Despite being heavily booked, one seemed to be almost alone in the place noise-wise. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montgolfier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. Indeed I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Regards,

Henning Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed at the Fairmont after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed! Excellent hotel, with wonderful staff!
Daryl & Tony from concierge were extremely helpful. They organised trips for us to The Grand Mosque & dolphin swimming at The Atlantis in Dubai, which were both fantastic! We were always greeted by the Fairmont Staff when leaving and arriving in the hotel, and were regularly left messages on our tv wishing us a good evening upon returning to our room. A very nice touch!
The breakfast buffet & room service food was outstanding, again with great service!
The room we had was facing the creek (do request one!), and the bed was out of this world!!!
Unfortunately the main pool was closed for refurbishment, so we had to use the pool at villa 9 (we knew this when we booked our holiday) the pool here was fine, and we were given tons of fresh towels & water throughout the day.
As it was Ramadan during our stay, we were unable to drink (even water) or eat around the hotel, pool area and beach, which was a pain. We had to go inside, behind a screen to eat or drink!

Overall a great stay in Abu Dhabi, nothing was too much to ask for. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: request sea/creek view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Fairmont Bab Al Bahr!

Indeed we thank you for your kind review. We will be definitely pass along your great comments to all our associates.

We look forward to having you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Henning Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Have stayed here several times. If your budget can stretch to it, stay in a Gold Room. Service on the Gold Floors is impecable - efficient, pleasant staff, who will greet you by name, remember your favourite tipple, and for whom nothing is too much trouble. The Gold Manager (Arnold Francisco) moved here from Dubai and had his staff delivering wonderful service from day one.
Poolside staff carry on this level of service. Italian Restaurant is very good and so is the cafe near reception. There are better restaurants if you venture into the city centre. City centre is about 30 minutes by taxi, which will cost you about 20 - 25 Dirhams each way.
Currently no spa (it has been coming soon for two years now) and the gyms (mens and ladies) are in villas at the bottom of the driveway - small but functional.
Best hotel for business and couples - not really oriented towards children as there is just the sea and pool for them to play in.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the Gold Floors with a creek side view - these have superb views of the Grand Mosq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strach_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of August and,overall, we had a very enjoyable time at the Fairmont Bab Al Bahr.
The hotel is located within a 15 minute drive of the airport on a lovely quiet creekside setting with a great view of the Grand Mosque. The only downside in terms of location is that the city centre is situated a good 20-25minute taxi drive away and there is very little to do in the immediate surroundings of the hotel.However,if your looking for a place away from the bustle of downtown Abu Dhabi,this is the place for you.
On arrival,we were immediately impressed by the modern facade and lobby.This is even more impressive when lit up at night time.
Check-in was very friendly and efficient.The staff were very polite and helpful throughout the stay and were a credit to the hotel.The free upgrade to a Grand Mosque facing room was a nice touch.
The room was very comfortable and spacious.We really enjoyed the bath and rainforest shower.The bowl of fruit at arrival was also greatly appreciated.
We would highly recommend the Iftar buffet available during Ramadan.Despite being a little bit expensive it was worth it for the quality and range of food available.
There were,however, a few negatives. In places, the hotel did resemble a building site.Work was constantly going on in the hallways,which resulted in us losing hot water for over an hour. More significantly,the hotel pool was closed for renovations.This was never mentioned at the time of booking.We expected a little bit better from a 5 star establishment. We did get to use a pool at a neighbouring villa and,due to very few people using the pool area it felt like we had a private pool. However,I imagine it would get a bit cramped if more people came to the villa pool which is rather small. The beautiful beach also made up for the lack of a large pool though.
Another small annoyance would be the lack of free WiFi. I do not feel it should be necessary to join the hotels President's Club in order to gain free internet connection.
All in all,we really enjoyed the hotel because of the excellent staff and rooms. Once all the renovations are finished,this will be a top class hotel with a wide range of facilities and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nacho82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Greetings from Bab Al Bahr,

Thank you for sending us your review and the concerns you had during your stay. I do aplogize for any inconvenience that the maintenance on our hotel caused you during your stay. I can assure you that your comments were addressed and being worked on.

Thank you,
Henning Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
10.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
4.0 mi away
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Property: Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Address: | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#23 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing