We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms are big to compensate for the small beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #22 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Rooms are big to compensate for the small beach.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

I tried this hotel on the basis of it being at the top of the Tripadvisor rating and now I know how overrated this place was. Located on a creek between two of AD's main bridges, alongside Shangri La & Traders hotels and flanked by two buildings under construction, the beach was small with stagnant murky water (waves only generated by passing boats/jetski). Having stayed during the busy public holidays, it's impossible to get at deckchair by late morning as the pool and health club facilities are also open for day trippers and club members. Screaming kids are also aplenty and can be heard even from my 3rd floor creek facing room which was glass fronted with no window openings.

The service was super attentive...without the "Do Not Disturb" sign at the door, the door bell would ring quite often with offerings of fruits, water, sweets, restocking the minibar etc. And as if I would want to stay beyond the standard 12pm checkout, the front desk also called my room at 11am to confirm my checkout time. As for the valet service, although efficient, the cars are parked outdoors under the melting hot sun / morning drizzle.

The only plus points were the sizeable 45sqm room with picturesque view of the Abu Dhabi sunset and the restaurants in the hotels, especially Frankie's. So, at AED1.3k a night, I would get better value at hotels near the Corniche.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeachLovingBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,592
    447
    135
    49
    46
See reviews for
594
841
86
389
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

The hotel is located in an outsite area of Abu Dhabi on the opposite side of the grand mosque.
To go to the city of Abu Dhabi takes you a 20min ride with a taxi but therefore it offers you tranquility and the opportunity to enjoy a beach. We all know about the discrepancy between pretending to be a five star hotel and to really be one.
What you expect is pure service: The Fairmont is trying to read your lips. Everybody in this hotel is friendly and helpfull, especially the staff at the concierge desk is performing on a very high level (thanks Shaymar!). Whatever we asked them to do was done with a smile, nothing was too much. What you expect is a nice room: We had a spacious room (653) facing the creek and the grand mosque. Its huge and the front window is some 5m wide and as high as the seeling. The room provides all you want to have including an enormous entertainment programm at your tv-set. (including web-radio) The bathroom is well equipted and offering 2 sinks, a separate rainfall-shower and a bathtube. What you expect is a nice pool: Got it. What you then have to expect as well is a quite high price level in general which than seems to be normal for such a facility. You must try the friday brunch which is told to be the best in Abu Dhabi (apprx. €60.-) - it's just spectacular! There is only one thi.ng which I cannot understand and which is not adequate at all: This wonderfull hotel is not providing enough sunbeds with sunshades even they have got the space to do so. Why not??? So people start the well known game of reserving their sunbeds very early... In any other aspect we loved this hotel and would always come back. Tip: Subscribe -for free- immediatly for the so called president club (the Fairmont loyality programm) to enjoy free wifi and local calls. If you do not want to dine at the hotel enjoy a 5 minutes walk down the road to the Traders hotel or the embedded Souk. You find some nice outside restaurants there (not as pricy)

Room Tip: Take a creek-view room - you wil love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halimbalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

We had a huge creek view room which was extremely well appointed. In some ways things in this hotel are just too big and spacious!! Service was very good, food likewise and we had a thoroughly pleasant stay. Unfortunately the experience was spoilt somewhat when we got home and got an email about our late charges, someone else's huge drinks bill that had been charged to my credit card. As a non-drinker I was particularly put out by this. It took three emails and two full days to get any acknowledgment from the hotel that I had even protested that this was not my bill let alone get a refund. This was certainly not the level of service I expected from a serious five star hotel. I eventually did get a refund, but incurred currency conversion charges from the credit card company both ways.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a creek view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel for three nights and it was a beautiful hotel. The service was excellent and the employees were all very friendly and willing to help. The public areas were very modern and contemporary with funky furniture. The rooms were awesome, very spacious and all marble. Book a creek view room if you can because the views overlooking the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque at sunset are breathtaking. The restaurants and bars were very nice. The food was delicious. The breakfast buffet (which was included in the price of my room) was so extensive that it took me several minutes just to walk through the entire buffet to decide what I wanted. However, the hotel had some flaws. Thehotel's pool was the smallest swimming pool that I ever saw. It was well maintained and clean but really small. There was room for beach chairs on one side of the pool only so if you wanted to sit by the pool then you needed to get up early. But if you are expecting a quiet day at the pool forget it. There were several kids running around, screaming and splashing in the pool and since the pool was so small you couldn't avoid the noise no matter where you sat. Also, there are two new hotels being built on both sides of this hotel. The construction noise can be heard throughout the day. For people who want to sleep in, forget about it. The construction would start at 6:00am (which is way too early for me on vacation) and last until 8:00pm. Plus, as you are sitting either by the pool or on the beach, all you could hear was the constant hammering and welding. If noise doesn't bother you then I would highly recommend this hotel. Otherwise, if the noise is going to disturb your vacation (and it did mine) then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trakin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We appreciate all the great comments you have mentioned. In regards to our pool it actually is an olympic size pool from one end to another. I apologize if you felt it was too small perhaps it is the shape that makes it look small. As this is a family orientated hotel there will be children at the pool area. In regards to the noise I also apologize, at the hotel we do have a policy that no work will start until after 10am. Unfortunately we have no control over the surrounding buildings and the timing of when they start. The good news is all surrounding buildings are almost complete. I can understand your frustration and I thank you for sharing your experience with us. I do hope you will give our hotel another chance in the near future.

Thank you,
Henning Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oman
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

FAIRMONT BAB AL BAHR Hotel is really romantic and charming place. I have arrived quite late in hotel. Immediately room was freely upgraded and room was ready and check in was very quick. Hotel entrance was very modern. This hotel has open air Swiss cinema where unfortunately I did not have enough time to enter this cinema. I have seen and stayed in several hotel in the world but this hotel is really fascinating I do visit Abdu Dhabi almost every year and I reject I did not stay in this hotel before. Staff was so welcomed and warm. Room is very nice and decoration was outstanding and sea view was unbelievable. Then I enjoyed in hotel for three days. Bathroom was very cleaned and stylish. Bed was unbelievable so relaxing. Restaurant is very charming. I had every days Breakfast. Food and drinks are nicely displayed. I like juice was very delicious. Staffs were really incredible and understanding. They were always there. Yes indeed I do strongly recommend every body visit Abu Dhabi stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Select sea view toward big mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MohamedAlJilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

I only stayed for 1 night prior to an early flight but it was definately the right choice.
Check in was very efficient and at a designated check in desk for presidential members.
The room was fantastic and very contemporary in design.Nice miller harris toiletries provided.
The room didn't face the creek and the view was a little disappointing.
Several dining outlets are available within the hotel as well as quite an extensive in room dining menu.
Service was very good.
The abu dhabi filmfestival was taking place within the hotel during my stay and this created quite a vibrant atmosphere.
The location might not be for everyone but for me it was perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a creek view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruby1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

The Fairmont Bab Al Bahr is a very new, sleek contemporary hotel that provided consistently outstanding service throughout my stay. The rooms are very high tech and comfortable with one of the best beds I've ever had the pleasure of sleeping in. I upgraded to a Fairmont Gold Room and the staff on that level could not do enough to ensure a memorable stay. The creek side rooms offer fantastic views of the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque. I selected this hotel for an overnight layover between flights. It was a very easy 15 minute taxi ride from the airport, but at least twice that to get to the Corniche and downtown area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whirlwindnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.0 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,025 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
10.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#5 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
11.1 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
10.6 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#21 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Property: Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Address: Fairmont Bab al Bahr Rashid Bin Saeed Al Maktoum Rd, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing