We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #21 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Fairmont Bab Al Bahr in Abu Dhabi is an absolutely fantastic luxury hotel. Our huge Creek view room, number 639, was exquisitely appointed with separate couch/TV and desk areas, as well as dual sinks in the bathroom area. Everything you cold want, including office supplies and lots of bathroom amenities, was included.

From when we first drove up to the dramatic entrance, the service at this hotel was absolute top-notch. This includes how they prepare your sun bed at the private beach with immaculate gardens. to the restaurant staff. We only stayed one night on our way to Dubai, but came back on the return journey. Although we had checked out several days earlier, the staff were happy to recognize us, welcome us back and store our luggage while we waited for the evening flight.

The only point for improvement I could think of was that there was a funky smell from the shower drain. As I didn't bother mentioning it until check-out, I'm not going to deduct points for it, especially since the reception staff would have been happy to put us in another room.

All in all, the Fairmont Bab Al Bahr is a spectacular hotel, and I would warmly recommend it to anyone looking for a luxury stay in Abu Dhabi.

Room Tip: From the higher level Creek view rooms, you can see the great mosque better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,594
    448
    135
    49
    46
See reviews for
596
841
86
389
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The Fairmont is a fantastic hotel with gorgeous rooms and facilities. Breakfast was included and was fresh and gourmet everyday. The staff are friendly and very helpful. I had an amazing view of Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque, the creek and construction.
If you are looking for a hotel vacation, this is the place to stay. If you want to be a tourist and explore, Abu Dhabi is not the place to visit.
The city lacks character, charm and things to do. All beaches are man made and next to construction sites. The shopping is mediocre and all advertised attractions are at least 20 minutes - 2 hours away, Ferrari world, desert safari etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckley, Flintshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at the Fairmont Abu Dhabi for 3 nights following a 3 night stay at the Emirates Palace. A new true 5 star hotel with amazing service and very large rooms. We originally booked a standard Fairmont Room, however, to compensate for a reduced rate change we were upgraded to a Delux Creek View room, which was the most impressive hotel room we have ever seen. All the staff really cant do enough for you, very welcoming and always smiling, they are all real complement to the hotel. We used the pool facilites everyday, which was very nice overlooking the creek. We dined at Frankies for our last night and had some amazing itailan food, which was very reasonably priced considering the high quality of food and service. I really wouldn't like to compare it to the Emirates Palace becuase they are two very different hotels and experiences, however, if you are looking for a more private and less pretentious hotel then I would choose the Fairmont.

Room Tip: Creek view room is well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMillington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. We are delighted to hear that your stay was excellent. I will be sure to pass along your great comments to all the staff. We look forward to having you stay wih us in the near future.

Regards,
Henning Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Fairmont for a one-night/two day stopover and part of an extended honeymoon (mid-March). During the short time at the hotel, we absolutely loved it and set the standard high for the rest of the trip!

From check in to check out, the service was excellent. Particular mention goes to the pool side attendants who set out the beds and reguarly attended to you without any issue.

The room was also excellent. We requested a high floor and had a great view of the main mosque in the background. The room was spotless, spacious and designed to a high standard.

We was able to enjoy two nights dining in which we tried Frankie's and Marco Pierre White (MPW). Both restaurants again had good service, wide range of food options and lovely ambiance (especially MPW). The only negative was both meals are quite expensive (again especially MPW but also not extortionatelly either).

Overall, would recommend if you planning a visit. Perfect place for relaxing and we hope to visit for a 3-4 night stay in the near future.

Room Tip: High floor, sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonmat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Greetings from Bab Al Bahr,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review; we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

It is my pleasure to pass your compliments on to our whole team that made your stay enjoyable; we all appreciate your positive comments.

I, along with the entire Bab Al Bahr team, look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Henning Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I have attended a conference conducted in Abu Dhabi Fairmont hotel and thus I was lucky to have a very good rate in this very Rnice and luxury hotel. Rooms are very spacious and bathrooms are excellent with uniqe design. Hotel staff are extremely nice and welcoming. Breakfast was included and was really good. Internet was free. The hotel is close to Ferrari world and to the airport. However, it's about 15 minutes driving away from the big malls

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nafjanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting the great review. I along with the entire team of Bab Al Bahr appreciate your positive comments and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Henning Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at Fairmont and so far, it the best in Abu Dhabi! The front desk are really friendly and helpful. The room is pretty good as well as their amenities. As a guest in this hotel, we felt really welcomed. I also loved the buffet breakfast at CuiSine. All in all, it was a great short getaway.

Room Tip: Upgrade rooms to have a beautiful beach view. Bring along friends and there wouldn't be a proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberRainyDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babalbahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Greetings!

We are delighted to hear that your stay at our hotel was memorable. I will make sure to pass along your great comments to our staff.
We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Regards,
Henning Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

After spending 2 weeks at this hotel, I cannot say enough about the service, the amenities and the accommodation at the Fairmont BAB. When setting the standard of excellence for customer service, this hotel has done a wonderful job exceeding all expectations.

The location is a perfect 12-15 ride from the Airport, and 15-20 to the Corniche. Everything is very accessible and easy to get to from the Fairmont. I would rather be at the Fairmont than at other properties in Yas or in downtown because of the central location and the quality of the property and its surrounding environment.

The staff at the Fairmont are some of the best I have run across in the corporate travel business. Anything that I could have wanted, they were able and eager to accommodate with class.

Any room will be a perfect experience, and unless you need the services of the Gold level, you could save some money and opt for the standard Fairmont accommodations and everything will be to your liking. Although the rooms with the view of the creek and the Mosque are preferable (because of the view only), there is nothing wrong with the city view.

The food at the hotel is exceptional, from the Lebanese food at Cedar Lounge (great for a shisha too!), to the breakfast buffet in CuiScene. The Pool service was very attentive and first class.

Really, I could go on-and-on about the wonderful attributes of this hotel in Abu Dhabi compared to others, but I think you get the point. Just try it, and you WILL NOT be disappointed.

From corporate meetings to leisure getaways, the Fairmont is an ideal choice while in Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meetjimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.0 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
10.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#5 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
11.1 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
10.6 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#19 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Property: Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Address: Fairmont Bab al Bahr Rashid Bin Saeed Al Maktoum Rd, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing