We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #21 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Voru, Estonia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

I had the scenic view room and although it wasn't cheap ca 256 EUR for the room per night plus another 100 for food and drink per night or so, but it was worth it as the view from the room was spectacular and the service didnt lack anything. Mind, that getting to the city/corniche would mean 30 min drive, but Sheikh Zayed Mosque is close. Airport as well. Liked poolside bar. Nice sunsets. Class

Room Tip: get the creek view room. Dear, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zolotoy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,594
    448
    135
    49
    46
See reviews for
596
841
86
389
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Fairmont celebrating my birthday. I booked through expedia and then checked via email that they had my reservation, which they promptly replied that they did. I did book a gold club suite but didn't know that there was a view option. I was disappointed to find out that we did not have a view of the beautiful mosque, but instead a view of the rather drab car park. I would have hoped that as I was there for four nights and they knew it was my birthday that they could have arranged this. I did ask if i could move but was told that it was only possible for one night and then I would have to move back again, so I didn't bother. To there credit they did send up a mini birthday cake which was a nice touch. On a plus point, as I arrived at 4am, they gave me a room at 50% of the standard rate so we could check straight in and not wait until 2pm.
We didn't have a chance to eat at the hotel, apart from breakfast in the club lounge, This was nice enough but not anything really special and choice was a bit limited There was a chef however that could cook eggs to order which was nice, and we were able to get a table with a lovely view of the mosque (see the theme here). i did eat at a Frankies restaurant in Dubai which was great.
The room itself was a good size and nicely furnished. Location wise it was midway between the airport and the Corniche and was fine - taxis are very reasonable for wherever you need to go.
I would not mind staying at the Fairmont again, although there are so many nice hotels to choose from I may want to test out a couple more. As I said, it was a great hotel but somehow it just misses the "It was fantastic and we must go again" badge.
.

Room Tip: ask for a mosque view, i think it makes all the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Greetings from Fairmont Bab Al Bahr!

Thank you for staying with us on your birthday and taking time to share your feedback. We are sorry to learn that your room did not meet your expectation. We do appreciate all your comments and have shared your review with the relevant departments.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

The hotel is new and modern with good services. However, it doesn't quite make it yet. While the staff are friendly and willing to oblige they forget to follow through and take too long to serve breakfast. Little things let the hotel down as well, eg the bathroom door that would shut properly, and the automatic taps which couldn't dispense anything other tan luke warm water into the basin. Location wise it's in a dead area of Abu Dhabi ( though that might describe the whole city....) being a good 15 to 20 minute can ride from the down town area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerryPattetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We do appreciate your feedback and have shared your comments with the relevant departments. We are sorry to learn that your experience did not live up to your expectations this time.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

A truly quality hotel, with pleasant staff and great food!

We had a gold club suite with views of the grand mosque and water, it was stunning.

Frankies, and marco Pierre white restaurants were fantastic, and there was an excellent seafood buffet which offered great value one evening.

The pool and creek area was lovely and pool staff attentive, the pool bar food was delicious.

Club level food was great with enerous pours on the drink side every night.

By far the nicest creekside property in the area, others are too large and busier.

Room Tip: Choose gold level rooms, try the hotels restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilllytravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Thank you very much taking the time to share this review. Your positive feedback regarding our hotel restaurants, room & staff is greatly appreciated.

I, along with the entire Fairmont Bab Al Bahr team, are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Have just had 6 fabulous days staying at this wonderful hotel.

We had a Gold View Room which was superb. Extremely well put together with every little detail covered.

The staff on the Gold level were outstanding and couldn't have been more helpful and polite. We particularly liked the nibbles and drinks in the evenings. The drinks were always served promptly and by smiling friendly staff. The breakfasts were excellent.

The pool area is fabulous again with wonderful service. The lunches served around the pool were also great with a good choice on the menu.

Beds were very comfortable with excellent quality sheets and pillows. The bathroom amenities were also a good quality.

Everything about this hotel was wonderful from the moment we arrived until the moment we left.

This hotel ticked all our boxes and would have no hesitation in returning.

If only all hotels were like this!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have a Gold Level Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayparton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
On behalf of the entire Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post this great review. We are delighted that enjoyed your stay on Fairmont Gold. It is a pleasure to pass on your compliments to our entire team that made your recent visit perfect in every way.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed at the Fairmont for two nights on our honeymoon as a layover between Nairobi to Sydney. The hotel and service was truly impeccable. We had a view of the mosque which was beautiful. The bed was supremely comfortable. The food was fantastic but expensive and you really have to eat there unless you want at 40+ dirham taxi ride. All in all - a five star experience for 3-4 star prices in sydney). Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarebarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Stayed at the Fairmont in Abu Dhabi for the first time. The Italian and Steak House restaurants are excellent. Faultless, Attentive serrvice and superb food. Booked into their Gold Executive Club Floor. This is what happened during our stay. Desk lamp not working, had to be replaced. Wash basin plug was broken on arrival and had to be fixed. Porter delivers two suit cases to your room, places one on luggage rack and dumps the other on the floor. No offer for a portable rack unless asked. Requested firm pillows as feather ones look great, but no substance. Took 2 days to recieve. Fruit bowl and snacks in room on arrival, but not once in 5 days refreshed / replenished. Nice bathroom with rain shower. One problem, the glass partition between the shower and adjoining toliet leaked. My wife got wet feet! Front doorman never smiled, said good morning, good evening etc. Even did not help a Lady with pram and baby into the hotel courtessy bus. Courtessy bus driver however very polite, helpful and a very good Ambassador. Disco very loud noise at pool party until1'30am. Had to call the Duty Manager to reduce this. The staff on the Club Floor lounge and reception team were very good. Full compliments to them. Internet every second day had Wifi connection problems and had to reset each time. Frustrating.

Room Tip: River view rooms are recomended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We do appreciate your feedback and have shared your comments with the relevant departments. It was a pleasure to pass on your compliments to our Marco Pierre White, Frankie’s and Fairmont Gold Team. We are sorry to learn that your experience did not live up to your expectations this time. Would you please be able to get in touch with us directly by emailing babalbahr@fairmont.com so that we can welcome you back and ensure that your next stay with us is seamless?

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.0 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
10.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#5 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
11.1 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
10.6 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#19 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Property: Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Address: Fairmont Bab al Bahr Rashid Bin Saeed Al Maktoum Rd, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing