We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in their Gold club rooms if you can. An enjoyable stay but housekeeping didn't always deliver to a 5 star standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #22 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stay in their Gold club rooms if you can. An enjoyable stay but housekeeping didn't always deliver to a 5 star standard”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

FIRST IMPRESSIONS: huge entrance, impressive building but only one person on check-in so had to wait 15 mins. No one greeted you at the door to assist you. The hotel is a typical American hotel chain and full of Americans. It's missing some charm to make your stay special but they do deliver. I would definitely go again but would make sure that I was specific about room location.

MANAGEMENT: we stayed on the gold floor and the management here was excellent. Very helpful, accommodating and constantly offering drinks and food.

INS & OUTS: it has a good pool, beach, plenty of sun beds and a great view of the grand mosque. Pool attendants will sort out your sun beds, bring free bottled water and come round with fruit sticks. It's about 20 mins outside of the town centre but for us this was perfect. We did go into town one evening and promptly came back to the hotel.

ACCOMMODATION: we had a gold view room which was huge. All the amenities, comfy bed, coffee machine etc. the gold floor is smoking and therefore the corridors and room had smoke musty smells about them. We had an air purifier in the room on constantly. Unfortunately the room was not adequately cleaned one day and when informed they were very apologetic. I would however expected housekeeping to make sure thy we're doing a 5 star job all the times.

FOOD: now this is where they excelled! With the gold room you have breakfast from 7 to 10, afternoon tea from 2 to 5 and then evening canapés from 6 to 8. You will not need evening canapés and dinner! The evening canapés are the best I have experienced as part of his club room option. Champagne is on tap as are all others drinks. Make sure that you make the most of this as alcohol elsewhere is expensive. Jenny needs a special mention. She was excellent.

TIPS: the hotel is long and narrow so make sure you ask to be away from the lifts. Rooms from 715 to 727 would be good options. Away from lifts and bars.

Room Tip: he hotel is long and narrow so make sure you ask to be away from the lifts. Rooms from 715 to 727 wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPRazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,646
    459
    139
    49
    49
See reviews for
616
866
88
398
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

My first experience at the restaurant was x.mas dinner.the service was bad and food didn't have any taste at all.
Theh we went for lunch 3 days ago.same thing.
I think the problem is that the chef doesn't know Arabic or European cooking.sorry to say that.but that's the truth.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zoubida o o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I flew overnight from Mumbai to Abu Dhabi, arriving at 7am. In order to have immediate access to my room upon arrival, I reserved (and guaranteed) the previous night, in addition to the next night of my stay. When I arrived the reception lady started with the perplexed stares at the computer screen so I knew something was wrong. After 10 minutes or so she said that my reservation had been cancelled since I was a "no show." I told her that surely I was not the first customer to book the night before in order to get to sleep ASAP upon arrival. Then I was told that I could have a room but would have to wait for it to be cleaned. Huh? So it became clear that they had given my room away to another guest. I began to get testy ( a lot of time had gone by at this point) and lo and behold there was another larger room available, that they would give me. They had this room all along......why torture me? Especially since it was their screw up that caused the problem.
Then, when I got to my room and I called for laundry pick up.....nobody answered any of my calls. Laundry, Operator, Reception. Maybe I was blacklisted for being "difficult" like Elaine on Seinfeld. To be fair, I just ordered a Salad Nicoise from room service. It came fast and was excellent.

Room Tip: Creek view. Nice view of the water, beach and the huge mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooklyn-Jared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry to learn that your check-in experience did not live up to your expectations this time. We do appreciate your feedback and have shared your comments with the relevant departments.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

one of most luxury hotel I had visited ,Price was reasonable, the view of sheikh zayed mosque was great ,also the room was big and very clean ,valet parking was free. i will recommend my friends to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayman_S_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

excellant location,new hotel with ultra modern lobby and modern style interiors ,spacious, helpful staff,very good gem and nice 50 meter pool over looking sandy beach but no spa in hotel yet , slow internet.

Room Tip: ask for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdullah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

The room is quite spacious, beach and pool facilities are amazing - perfect for a gateway. But far from the city... Close by you will find a souq called qaryat al berri; you can have dinner there overlooking the marina.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Salwa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My husband, two year old son and I stayed at this wonderful hotel in November 2012.
This is the second time that we were staying at the Fairmont. However I never got around to writing a review.
We absolutely love this hotel and it's brilliant team of staff. I have never stayed at a hotel where the staff are so friendly, professional and dedicated. When we asked our little son where he would like to go on holiday , without thinking he said" I want to go to my Abu Dhabi hotel!"
I would like to say a big thank you to Coco ( breakfast buffet and restaurant), Tendai from housekeeping and the pool team. You guys have made our stay memorable.
We hope that we can come back soon! And please open up a Fairmont in Doha! They are in need of a fabulous hotel like yours.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
10.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
8.1 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Property: Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Address: | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Expedia, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing