We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous team”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #23 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a fabulous team”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stay in Fairmont Gold - fab rooms, brilliant staff......love it. The personal check in, the food , the helpfulness of the staff. Marychu is the Fairmont Gold manager and she is so thoughtful, professional and is obviously backed by an excellent team.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the beach and the Grand Mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroTraveller1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,666
    464
    140
    50
    51
See reviews for
629
873
91
400
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This hotel certainly lives up to its service award. We opted for a gold room and from the moment we arrived every request for a restaurant booking, local information etc was met by the excellent concierge team on the 7th floor. The upgrade was well worth paying extra as this included complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and early evening drinks and canapés amongst other things. Our room had a lovely outlook over the mosque and the views towards Abu Dhabi island are spectacular. Having stayed before at the Emirates Palace we found the staff here more animated and genuinely interested in making our stay as good as it could be. I didn't fancy swimming in the creek but the large pool was inviting, the beach area very clean and the staff there very obliging, supplying iced water on request-necessary with rising temperatures. Overall the hotel bridges the leisure/business clientele well and the staff make this a place to which I would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I spent almost 9 months at the Fairmont Bab Al Bahr in 2011; and it has been one of my favorite hotel stays. The Fairmont is one of the most luxurious and modern hotels in Abu Dhabi, and rivals many of the fancier hotels in nearby Dubai.

The Fairmont is located is twenty minutes from the city center, but has a beautiful view of the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque and has a small beachfront facing a river/creek that is great for a cool swim/ watersports.

Key highlights:
F&B : The quality of the food was great, especially at the Frankie’s Italian Restaurant and at the Marco Pierre White Steakhouse & Grill. For long stay guests, like me it was our favorite place to get some simple and authentic Italian food. Marco Pierre was great for celebrating at key milestones.
SERVICE: Being a 5 star, good service is expected. However, most of staff made a special effort to provide individualised service and recognition.

I would definitely choose Fairmont Bab Al Bahr for my next trip to Abu Dhabi.

Room Tip: Creek facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Greetings from Fairmont Bab Al Bahr!

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at our hotel. It is my pleasure to pass your compliments to our entire team that made your stay a memorable one.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont for five nights for business. This was my second stay at the Fairmont and it was just as lovely as the first time. From the moment you walk into the hotel from the time you leave the staff are welcoming, friendly, helpful, and are truly a gift to the hotel. In a twist of fate, I happened to be given the same room as my previous stay and I was delighted. The room is spacious, clean, and has all the amenities one would expect from a five star hotel.
I ate at two restaurants, CuiScene and Frankie’s, and both were superb. Room service one evening was efficient, fast and the food arrived hot. I had a pedicure at the ladies nail shop that was relaxing and held to the same high standards that I expect from the US. The only thing that is different is that they do not have the whirlpool jets pushing the water around when your feet are soaking.
I also used the city shuttle to go to the Marina mall. Convenient, on-time, friendly drivers and the fact that it is complimentary make this service the main reason to stay on the outskirts of the Abu Dhabi City. You can experience the city life and allure and retreat to a quiet, less congested place afterwards. There is a souk and other dining options at the neighboring hotels that is within walking distance of the hotel and is connected by a beautiful walkway along the river.
I was picked up each morning by a car from the client that I am working for. A big shout out and thank you to the bellman and front door men for their organization and alerting me to when my ride was ready. They truly are the first and last impression that you get of the hotel and the gentlemen project a professional, approachable, friendly atmosphere and are so reassuring when a hotel guest (me!) starts to panic when my ride is late!!
Looking forward to a return sometime in the next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quilting4Cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Although new, and staff doing thier best, but not at the level it should be, nice pool and beach but front windows needs urgent and regular cleaning from dust, specialy those showing the view from the rooms and from the lift, a bit far from the city too

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

FIRST IMPRESSIONS: huge entrance, impressive building but only one person on check-in so had to wait 15 mins. No one greeted you at the door to assist you. The hotel is a typical American hotel chain and full of Americans. It's missing some charm to make your stay special but they do deliver. I would definitely go again but would make sure that I was specific about room location.

MANAGEMENT: we stayed on the gold floor and the management here was excellent. Very helpful, accommodating and constantly offering drinks and food.

INS & OUTS: it has a good pool, beach, plenty of sun beds and a great view of the grand mosque. Pool attendants will sort out your sun beds, bring free bottled water and come round with fruit sticks. It's about 20 mins outside of the town centre but for us this was perfect. We did go into town one evening and promptly came back to the hotel.

ACCOMMODATION: we had a gold view room which was huge. All the amenities, comfy bed, coffee machine etc. the gold floor is smoking and therefore the corridors and room had smoke musty smells about them. We had an air purifier in the room on constantly. Unfortunately the room was not adequately cleaned one day and when informed they were very apologetic. I would however expected housekeeping to make sure thy we're doing a 5 star job all the times.

FOOD: now this is where they excelled! With the gold room you have breakfast from 7 to 10, afternoon tea from 2 to 5 and then evening canapés from 6 to 8. You will not need evening canapés and dinner! The evening canapés are the best I have experienced as part of his club room option. Champagne is on tap as are all others drinks. Make sure that you make the most of this as alcohol elsewhere is expensive. Jenny needs a special mention. She was excellent.

TIPS: the hotel is long and narrow so make sure you ask to be away from the lifts. Rooms from 715 to 727 would be good options. Away from lifts and bars.

Room Tip: he hotel is long and narrow so make sure you ask to be away from the lifts. Rooms from 715 to 727 wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPRazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

My first experience at the restaurant was x.mas dinner.the service was bad and food didn't have any taste at all.
Theh we went for lunch 3 days ago.same thing.
I think the problem is that the chef doesn't know Arabic or European cooking.sorry to say that.but that's the truth.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zoubida o o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
10.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
4.0 mi away
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Property: Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Address: | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#23 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing